Lament by Maggie Stiefvater

So the full title is Lament: The Faerie Queen’s Deception but I think it’s also widely known as Lament. I was looking forward to reading this because there’s a lot of buzz for Maggie Stiefvater’s books and I’m always ready to read more about faeries. But at the same time, I was also hesitant because this book was likened to Holly Black and Melissa Marr’s books and I wasn’t really enthralled by those books. When I saw that there was only one copy left in National Bookstore’s Trinoma branch, I thought I should just go ahead and grab it as well as the sequel, Ballad: A Gathering of Faerie.

Here’s the summary from Maggie Stiefvater’s website:

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She’s about to find out she’s also a cloverhandโ€”one who can see faeries. When a mysterious boy enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of nowhere, Deirdre finds herself infatuated. Trouble is, the enigmatic and conflicted Luke turns out to be a gallowglassโ€”a soulless faerie assassinโ€”and Deirdre is meant to be his next mark. Deirdre has to decide if Luke’s feelings towards her are real, or only a way to lure her deeper into the world of Faerie.

Isn’t the cover pretty? I love the simple black and green theme and of course the four-leaf clovers raining on the cover is entirely appropriate to the story. Oh Maggie Stiefvater (I saw on her website FAQs that it’s pronounced as Steve-otter), you’ve given me hope! I was starting to think that maybe I was lacking the gene that would enable me to appreciate urban fantasy novels. Stephenie Meyer, Cassandra Clare, Holly Black, Melissa Marr. I’ve given them all a try and I wanted to love their books but for some reason, they were just okay for me. But I really really liked Lament. I’m not sure though if I should list it in my Favorite Books, I’ll probably read Ballad first before I decide. I’m sorely tempted to buy Shiver now. I don’t know if I should wait for it to come out in paperback. The cover for the hardcover is so nice though plus the print is in dark blue! I haven’t heard of any other book with blue print.

Anyway, on to the review! I really liked Deirdre even though she’s an introvert and I’m definitely not. Deirdre, nicknamed Dee, is an amazing harp player. I know there aren’t a lot of harp players around so I’d love to hear the kind of music that she makes. The book is fast-paced. Dee meets Luke in the first few scenes of the book and she starts to notice strange happenings around her right after that. She clues in her best friend, James, on what’s going on and they puzzle over the meaning of these things together. Even at the start, she knows that Luke is more than what he seems and she accepts that fact. She knows it might not be good for her to pursue a relationship with Luke but she chooses to do so. It was easy to immerse myself in the world created by Maggie Stiefvater. I now understand why her work is being compared to Melissa Marr and Holly Black’s works. All of them portrayed faeries as capricious and playful but in a dark and cruel way. Not the typical happy-go-lucky, we’ll-grant-your-wishes, pink-and-glitters faeries of other stories. In Lament, people who are aware of faeries are warned to beware and stay away from them. Yes, faeries are out-of-this-world beautiful but they are scary and they can harm you. I think I like these dark faeries better than their brighter counterparts. I also liked how Dee and Luke’s relationship developed. It was done in just the right pace for me. I have a minor quibble about Luke because he doesn’t speak like his age although I can argue that away by saying that maybe he changed with the times.

If you’re an urban fantasy fan and you haven’t given any of Maggie Stiefvater books a try, I suggest that you check this out. I highly recommend it. I really enjoyed this book – beautiful writing, great characters and of course, amazing love story. I’m hoping to see more of Dee and Luke in the sequel, Ballad but from what I can see, it’s mostly about Dee’s quirky best friend James. I guess I’m fine with that because I liked the glimpses of James that I saw in this book. To those who’ve read Shiver, do you think I should go ahead and but it as well?

______________________________________________________________________________________
This book is one of my entries in the Once Upon a Time challenge.

9 thoughts on “Lament by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Thank you for your review, I’ve been waiting for it before deciding whether to get this book or not.

    I guess the first thing I’ll do when I get out of the house is look for this book!

    • I convinced you to get another book! I remember I justified this purchase to you, now it’s even more justified because I liked it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck with looking for your own copy! If you can’t find one, you can borrow mine.

  2. I am still in the middle of the story, but I have this feeling that the faeries somewhat remind me of our Filipino mythology. Better not cross their paths or something bad will happen to you :p

    • Haha like nuno sa punso and you have to say “tabi tabi po” when you pass by? Haven’t read any of the other dark faerie stories out there (i.e. Holly Black and Melissa Marr’s books)?

      • Not really, I don’t really dig urban fantasy but this one’s good ๐Ÿ™‚

        Yes, I kept on thinking “tabi tabi po!” while reading!

      • I thought urban fantasy wasn’t my thing too because I didn’t like the other books I’ve read but Maggie Stiefvater’s books changed my mind.

  3. Pingback: Ballad by Maggie Stiefvater « Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: Want Books: The Scorpio Races « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

