Chachic's Book Nook

The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

1 Comment

Thanks to my friend Giya for giving me The Summoning for my birthday! I’ve been curious about this book for some time because I’ve seen lots of copies of it in the local bookstores. I moved it up in my reading list when one of my groups in Goodreads decided to pick this for our monthly read.

Here’s a summary from Kelley Armstrong’s website:
Chloe Saunders sees dead people. Yes, like in the films. The problem is, in real life saying you see ghosts gets you a one-way ticket to the psych ward. And at 15, all Chloe wants to do is fit in at school and maybe get a boy to notice her. But when a particularly violent ghost haunts her, she gets noticed for all the wrong reasons. Her seemingly crazed behaviour earns her a trip to Lyle House, a centre for ‘disturbed teens’. At first Chloe is determined to keep her head down. But then her room mate disappears after confessing she has a poltergeist, and some of the other patients also seem to be manifesting paranormal behaviour. Could that be a coincidence? Or is Lyle House not quite what it seems…? Chloe realizes that if she doesn’t uncover the truth, she could be destined for a lifetime in a psychiatric hospital. Or could her fate be even worse…? Can she trust her fellow students, and does she dare reveal her dark secret?

Oh and according to the website, there are excerpts available online so you can check it out before deciding if you want to buy it or not.

I must say that this line “Chloe Saunders sees dead people.” strongly reminded me of the movie Sixth Sense. I’m a huge baby when it comes to horror movies (or horror stories for that matter) and I don’t watch/read them as much as possible. I was actually a bit scared when I read the prologue and the first few chapters of this book because it talked about ghosts but I got over it. I was really interested in the premise because I haven’t read a book with a main protagonist who can see ghosts but I didn’t really get into this book. I got put off by Chloe’s narration and the way she kept asking questions in her mind. I get that she’s confused by everything that’s happening but I felt like it felt too long for her to figure things out and I had to wait before things could be revealed. That said, the latter part of the book was faster-paced that the earlier part. When I got near the end, I stayed up reading because I wanted to finish the book.

Again, this is probably just a case of “this book wasn’t meant for me” because I’ve heard good things about it. I am curious as to what will happen next to Chloe because the book ended on a cliffhanger but it’s not like I want to rush out and buy The Awakening. *sigh* I’ve yet to find an urban fantasy series to love. Lament, I have high hopes for you!

______________________________________________________________________________________
This book is one of my entries in the Once Upon a Time challenge.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

One thought on “The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

  1. Really, your finals was about The Summoning?

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

