Chachic's Book Nook

Favorite Literary Couples

11 Comments

It’s Valentine’s Day on Sunday so I thought I’d write about my favorite literary couples to celebrate the holiday dedicated to love.♥ Here goes:

Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice – this is a classic pair! Who doesn’t love Mr. Darcy? Every girl who’s read Pride and Prejudice probably has a crush on Mr. Darcy. I have a guy friend who has a crush on Elizabeth. It’s funny because Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy try to stay away from each other but they just can’t help falling in love.

Jessica Darling and Marcus Flutie from Megan McCafferty’s books Sloppy Firsts, Second Helpings, Charmed Thirds, Fourth Comings and Perfect Fifths – I remember when my friends and I first read this series back in college. We all wanted our own Marcus Flutie – the proverbial bad boy who turned out to be a genius, acting out because he was bored with school.

Gen and Irene from Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief series – No surprise here, I talk about these books often enough

Meliara and Vidanric from Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith – Yay for subtle romance and an unreliable narrator! Mel didn’t even suspect a thing until the last minute, she was even confused about her own feelings.

Keturah and Lord Death from Keturah and Lord Death by Martine Leavitt – An immortal or a god falling in love with a human is a usual formula but what can I say, I loved the movie Meet Joe Black so I was intrigued with the premise of this one. Here’s a nice quote from the book:

“… the girl longed for a love that could not be ended by death. From the time she was young, she knew that her true love was there, somewhere, living a life that would one day intersect her own. Knowing this made every day full of sweet possibility. Knowing that her true love lived and breathed and went about his day under her same sun made her fears vanish, her sorrows small, and her hopes high. Though she did not yet know his face, the color of his eyes, still she knew him better than anyone else knew him, knew his hopes and dreams, what made him laugh and cry.”

I would also like to throw in my favorite quote from Meet Joe Black. I’m not sure if this is an exact quote because search results in Google vary but you get the drift.

“I want you to find someone who makes you deliriously happy, someone who will sweep you away, someone who will levitate you and make you sing with rapture. Love is passion, obsession. someone you can’t live without, fall head over heels and vice versa. Find someone you can live like crazy. How do you find them? Well forget your head and listen to your heart. There is no sense living without this… to make the journey and not fall deeply in love, you haven’t lived at all. And who knows, one day, out of nowhere, lightning could strike.”

I will cut my list short before it gets too long, but I would just like to list down other favorites:

Harry and Corlath from The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley
Ella and Char from Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Isi and Geric from The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale
Howl and Sophie from Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
Katsa and Po from Graceling by Kristin Cashore

So, who are your favorite literary couples? 🙂

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

11 thoughts on “Favorite Literary Couples

  1. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples II « Chachic's Book Nook

  2. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples III | Chachic's Book Nook

  3. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples IV | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples V | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples VII | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

