Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Thorn

7 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Last week, I asked for recommendations for books that will wow me. One of the commenters, Mary Anne, mentioned a title that stood out to me: Thorn by Intisar Khanani. This is the first time I’ve heard of this title or this author but I was immediately curious because Thorn is a retelling of the Brothers Grimm Goose Girl fairy tale. It doesn’t hurt that the book has a pretty cover. I’m a big fan of fairy tales retold and the only Goose Girl retelling that I’ve read so far is Shannon Hale’s. Definitely planning to check this out. I’ve had a sample sent to my Kindle and if I end up liking it, I’ll probably grab the whole novel. I’m trying to be better about buying ebooks because I have so many unread titles in my TBR pile. I keep telling myself that I should only buy books that I’ll read right away (it doesn’t always work).

ThornHere’s the summary from Goodreads:

For Princess Alyrra, choice is a luxury she’s never had … until she’s betrayed.

Princess Alyrra has never enjoyed the security or power of her rank. Between her family’s cruelty and the court’s contempt, she has spent her life in the shadows. Forced to marry a powerful foreign prince, Alyrra embarks on a journey to meet her betrothed with little hope for a better future.

But powerful men have powerful enemies–and now, so does Alyrra. Betrayed during a magical attack, her identity is switched with another woman’s, giving Alyrra the first choice she’s ever had: to start a new life for herself or fight for a prince she’s never met. But Alyrra soon finds that Prince Kestrin is not at all what she expected. While walking away will cost Kestrin his life, returning to the court may cost Alyrra her own. As Alyrra is coming to realize, sometime the hardest choice means learning to trust herself.

Thanks to Mary Anne for this rec! As always, let me know what you think if you’ve read this book. Would be helpful to know more about it. Also, what book is at the top of your wishlist?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

7 thoughts on “Want Books: Thorn

  1. THIS IS SUCH A GORGEOUS COVER. Sorry, but it had to be said! I’m very intrigued because I LOVE a good fairytale retelling. I hope you wind up liking this one! :D

    • It’s very pretty, isn’t it? That was one of the reasons why it caught my eye. I’ve read the Kindle sample and I’m intrigued by the writing. I just can’t decide if I’m in the mood for it or not. I get the feeling it will be an emotionally difficult read.

  2. Great cover! and the book sounds pretty fantastic!!! I’m going to add it to muy to buy list

  3. Oh wow, a fairytale retelling… yeah since that’s a weak spot of mine, I’m eying this. Although.. I think I need to read something NOT YA next. But still.. eying. :)

    • Yeah, I’m a sucker for fairy tale retellings too. Which was why I was very curious about this one.

      I like mixing up genres as well so I get the feeling. I’m reading the first Downside Ghosts book but not really into it yet. I heard the next few books are a lot better.

  4. I really enjoyed Thorn and went on to Sunbolt, which I liked even better!

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,370 other followers