Chachic's Book Nook

What gets you out of bed in the morning?

19 Comments

Every person has his or her own reason to look forward to the day ahead, a reason to get out of bed in the morning. I’m not much of a morning person and it’s always a struggle for me to get up in the mornings because I love sleeping in. I could sleep the whole day if I didn’t have to go to work, that’s how lazy I can be. I would only get up to eat something and then I’ll go back to lying down. That’s how I spend some of my weekends.

Ikea letter sheets

My motivation to get out of bed varies from day-to-day – it’s usually easier when I’m excited about something that will happen during the day. What I want to talk about is how reading a good book sometimes makes it a lot less difficult for me to start my day. When I’m in the middle of a book that I’m enjoying, I don’t mind waking up to go to work because at least I can read a few chapters while on the train. I guess it’s kind of like how coffee or eating a delicious breakfast can jumpstart your day, it gives you the boost that you need. (Okay, so this post is just making it more and more obvious that my top three favorite things to do are sleeping, eating and reading.) I’ve also noticed that I’m in a better mood when I’m reading an amazing novel – you know, the type of books that you can’t stop thinking about even while you’re busy during the work day. So it’s always a good thing whenever I’m reading something that I’m really into. I wonder if the same thing goes for the rest of you? Does reading a good book help you get out of bed in the morning? Also, feel free to share any tips that you have on making it easier get out of bed!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

19 thoughts on “What gets you out of bed in the morning?

  1. Well, reading a good book usually makes it more difficult for me to get up because if it’s a really good book, I will read into the wee hours of the morning :) I have a hard time putting a book down if I really love it. And I’m not a morning person even if I get a full 9 hours of sleep in, ha! So mornings after a good book…well, nothing really motivatese to get up! I associate mornings with work and a busy schedule…yuck. Though, If I was able to wake up, roll over and grab that book I didn’t get to finish the night before, then I might actually enjoy getting up early :)

    • I thought of that as well – about staying up to finish reading a good book. Usually I tell myself that it’s my own fault that I didn’t get enough sleep because I wanted to read more. But that doesn’t really help me get up. :P Like you, I also associate mornings with work and non-fun stuff. Squeezing in a few pages of a good book makes it a little better.

  2. Mmm… I don’t know, I guess I get up because I have to or because I’m hungry, or because my dog wants out and mister dog likes to wake me up so I open the door for him. :P he’s very spoiler my dog.

    • Aww so cute that you have a dog like that. I would love to have a dog here but it would involve too much work and I wouldn’t have the time to take care of a pet. I really think the key to getting out of bed is to think of something to look forward to, even if it’s a small thing like reading a great book.

  3. YES! I bribe myself with books all the time. If there’s something I don’t particularly want to do but have to, I reward myself with a good book afterwards ;)

  4. Yes! In fact, last week, I got up at 6:00 in the morning on my DAY OFF because I just had to finish the great book I was reading. (I then took an awesome nap). I use audiobooks to help motivate me to go to the gym too–because that’s where I get the bulk of them listened to. This week has been rough motivation wise…I like both the book I’m reading and the one I’m listening to, but it’s not enough to keep me going, and it’s so miserably cold here I can’t make myself leave the house if I don’t have to. Gotta push past this and onto the next great read!

    • Wow, you were willing to get up at 6am on a day where you don’t have to work? LOL not sure if I’m willing to do that. I’d rather stay up late reading and then sleep in the next day. That’s what I do on most Friday nights. I usually wake up around lunchtime during weekends, that’s how lazy I am. I haven’t really tried audiobooks yet, I kind of feel like I won’t be able to pay attention to a book if I’m listening to it instead of reading.

      Sorry to hear that it’s so cold over there! I don’t think I can take that kind of weather, either. I’ve always lived in tropical countries so I haven’t really experienced winter. And I haven’t seen snow in person. *sending you some warmth from Singapore*

  5. For me, I only ever sleep in like an hour later on my days off — so instead of getting up at 6:15, I get up at 7ish.

    Anyways.

    I really only get out of bed for coffee, because I am a morning person and to check all my emails. I’m obsessed with checking email. I know, that’s super weird.

    OH and I like showering and listening to my audiobook du jour in the shower.

    • Oh wow, April, you’re super efficient! I’m jealous that you don’t have a hard time getting out of bed in the morning. I wish I was a morning person too but I love sleep too much for that to happen. In college, I picked mostly afternoon classes so I wouldn’t have to wake up early.

      Don’t worry, you’re not the only one who loves checking email. One of the perks of having a smartphone is I get to see right away if I have any new emails.

    • How the heck do you listen to audiobooks in the shower, April?! I feel like I’d try to pay attention and then realize I’d been standing under the water for ten minutes, enthralled in a book:)

  6. I hate getting up in the morning. Being able to schedule late classes in college was such a revelation. I’m more the stay up all night to finish a book and hate myself in the morning type of person.

    • Maggie, I loved choosing afternoon classes when I was in college too! And yes, that happens to me a lot as well. I keep telling myself that it’s my fault it’s harder than usual to get up whenever I stay up to read.

  7. OMG, this is totally me. I would stay all day in bed if I could. Maybe only get up to eat and read a good book. hehe :D

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers