Chachic's Book Nook

Retro Friday: Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway

18 Comments

Retro Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Angie over at Angieville and focuses on reviewing books from the past. This can be an old favorite, an under-the-radar book you think deserves more attention, something woefully out of print, etc.

When I asked for music-themed contemporary YA books, Audrey, Wait! was one of the titles that people kept recommending. I decided to borrow it when I saw that a copy was available at the library. I thought it would be a good idea to read this along with my good friend Heidi of Bunbury in the Stacks because she mentioned that she hasn’t read this one either. I had so much fun reading this with Heidi – we divided the book into several sections and we’d email each other back and forth about our thoughts after we’re done reading certain parts. We managed to talk about so many other things during the course of our discussion – ice cream, bands, laundry, college and work. Feel free to check out what she has to say about the book.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Audrey, WaitCalifornia high school student Audrey Cuttler dumps self-involved Evan, the lead singer of a little band called The Do-Gooders. Evan writes, “Audrey, Wait!” a break-up song that’s so good it rockets up the billboard charts. And Audrey is suddenly famous!

Now rabid fans are invading her school. People is running articles about her arm-warmers. The lead singer of the Lolitas wants her as his muse. (And the Internet is documenting her every move!) Audrey can’t hang out with her best friend or get with her new crush without being mobbed by fans and paparazzi.

What I liked about this book is that it focuses on music but the main character isn’t a musician. Audrey is a music lover but she doesn’t play an instrument and she’s not part of a band. Most of the other music-themed books that I’ve read have musicians as main characters instead of just being music fans. I kind of thought it’s like being a book lover but not a writer. I felt like I could relate to Audrey more because of that. And I enjoy listening to music even if I don’t love it as much as she does. This book reminded me of what it was like to attend various gigs and campus concerts back in college. Like Audrey, I had friends back then who were members of bands. Although there was never a song written about me.

One thing I noticed right off the bat is that the story isn’t realistic in the sense that things got blown way out of proportion. I mean, how many songs out there are about girls who broke a guy’s heart (or vice versa) and how many times does the public go after the subject of the song? I was fine with the whole thing as long as I recognized that reading it would involve a fair amount of suspension of disbelief. The breakup didn’t even involve a lot of drama – Evan wasn’t really a bad guy, Audrey just decided that things weren’t that great between them. It was supposed to be a normal high school breakup until Evan wrote a song about Audrey that suddenly became popular.

I really enjoyed the first half of the book, the banter between the characters was fun to read. I liked Audrey’s friendship with her BFF, Victoria, and it was cool how reasonable her parents were. We rarely get to see great parents in YA novels so it’s always a good thing when they appear. However, I wasn’t such a fan of the second half. I really can’t put my finger on why that is but I just didn’t find it as engaging as the start of the novel. I guess it felt a bit rushed and I was waiting for a bigger, more complex climax to the story. Also probably because I felt like the romance could have been developed further. It really is a fun book to read but I think my expectations were pretty high because so many other blogger friends loved this. If you’re into music-themed contemporary YA, then I think you’d really enjoy this one. I wanted to make a playlist of all the songs featured as chapter headings – I think it would have been great if I could have listened to that while reading the book. I’m curious still curious about Robin Benway’s other books and will definitely check them out when I get the chance.

wpid-IMG_20121130_074229.jpg

Other reviews:
Angieville
One More Page
Good Books and Good Wine
See Michelle Read

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

18 thoughts on “Retro Friday: Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway

  1. Pingback: Retro Friday Review: Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway | Bunbury in the Stacks Retro Friday Review: Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway | One has the right to Bunbury anywhere one chooses. Every serious Bunburyist knows that. ~ Oscar Wilde

  2. I had so much fun reading this one with you, Chachic! I’m so glad we did, even if the second half kind of fizzled out for you. I loved all the music, I really wish you had access to Spotify there. I think we should read Nightshifted together soon! :D

    • Read alongs are so much fun for me, it doesn’t really matter how I end up feeling about the book just as long as I get to discuss it in detail with a friend. :P Yes, let’s read Nightshifted together. Maybe after we move to the new flat since I’ve already packed that inside a box?

  3. You and Heidi made this one sound so flipping adorable! I’m sold. Thanks for sharing your fun reading experience!

  4. This one sounds interesting, but I agree that I would have to go into it knowing it was an over the top non-realistic scenario and enjoying it from that point. I do think I will see if our library has it.

    • Yes, check if your library has a copy. As long as you’re aware of the non-realistic situation then I think you’ll enjoy it. I remember you liked both If I Stay and Where She Went, right? What about Amplified, have you read it?

      • My library has it and I put it on hold. I did like If I Stay and Where She Went. I haven’t read Amplified yet. Hmmm…while I’m thinking about it I’ll see if the library has that one too.

      • Oh good, I hope you enjoy reading it then. Yes, I think it would be a good idea for you to check if they also have Amplified, I liked that one more than Audrey, Wait.

  5. Thanks for such thoughtful review! I just never got around reading this book though I heard good things from it, and now that I read your review I realize it probably wouldn’t really work with me.

    • Alex, glad my review helped you make a decision on whether you should read this or not. I had fun with the read along and discussion so that made up for how I wasn’t such a fan of the latter half of the book.

  6. Agreed. The second half fell flat for me.

    I definitely think you two should read NIGHTSHIFTED next. *love*

  7. Awww, that sucks that you didn’t love the second half of Audrey, Wait. For me, I loved the whole entire book. But, I also read it before I think it really blew up in the book blogosphere. So, there’s that.

    • April, I think I might have liked it more if I didn’t have such high expectations based on everyone else’s feedback. It does make me a little sad that I wasn’t able to connect with the characters in the latter half of the book. Still, I’m glad I gave it a try.

  8. I know people really like this book but… it just sounds so implausible to me. Why would people be invading the school for her? Like, if One Direction revealed the muse behind one of their songs, would people focus on the girl? I don’t buy it. It sounds cute but it also sounds like the implausibility of it would just annoy me. I’ll wait for her next book. Great review, Chachic!

    • Exactly, it’s really not a realistic plot. I just didn’t let it bother me because so many other blogger friends enjoyed reading this. Sadly, it looks like I’m in the minority about not loving the book.

  9. Pingback: Chasing Dreams: Pursuing Your Passion, It Ain’t Easy by Heidi | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,337 other followers