Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: Kinokuniya

14 Comments

I wasn’t having such a great work week so I thought it would be a good idea to drop by the bookstore to cheer myself up. Also, I still have gift vouchers I received last Christmas and I wanted to use them. I saw four books that I was interested in but since they’re a lot more expensive here, I decided to just get these two lovelies:

Kinokuniya Book Haul

Just One Day by Gayle Forman (SGD 14.87)
A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge (SGD 25.89)

Kinokuniya Book Haul

As you all know, I’ve been wanting to get a copy of Just One Day since it was released so I’m really looking forward to reading this. I’m trying to decide if I should start it already or wait until the weekend so I can read it in one day. I read and loved The Lost Conspiracy and I’ve been meaning to read more of Frances Hardinge’s books but I just haven’t gotten the chance. A Face Like Glass has an intriguing premise and I’ve seen it pop up in other bloggers’ best of 2012 lists.

Looking forward to reading these two books! I’m not planning to borrow any books from the library until after we’ve moved to the new flat so I’m sticking with books that I own for now. I also got this cellphone cover that has a bookish design:

S3 Bookish Case

What about you, have you bought any interesting books or other bookish items lately?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

14 thoughts on “Book Haul: Kinokuniya

  1. I’m glad you got Just One Day! Can’t wait to see what you think. (And that cell phone cover is absolutely adorable.) I HATE when circumstances take away your opportunity to go to the library. I so desperately want something new to read, but hate spending hard-earned dollars on something that I may not ever read again, you know the drill! Our local library is currently closed for renovation — awesome that it will be so much bigger and better when they are done, but it has been MONTHS since it closed, and they keep having snafus with the construction, and I really need it to be open again!

    • Will probably read Just One Day soon! I’m still in the middle of another book but I’ll try to finish it in the next few days. Sorry to hear that your library is under renovation and that it’s been months since you’ve visited. There’s only one branch near your place? I’m not sure how often I’d get to go to the library after we move because the flat is farther from the branch that I visit. Maybe I should try to see if there’s a branch near the office. Anyway, I hope your library opens soon!

  2. I just bought Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare and Torment by Lauren Kate. Once I start a series, I must own every single book in the series. It’s an addiction that can get pretty costly. But books to me are a necessity, not a luxury. I need them like I need air to breathe, and I’m not saying that to be drammatic :) I am looking for an iPad cover and a iPhone cover that looks like an old book. I seen a case like it for a laptop and I was so in love, I couldn’t stop staring at it. However, my laptop is a gigantic dinosaur so the case wouldn’t work for my laptop. Hopefully I’ll come across a similar thing for my phone or iPad :) Love the phone case you picked out!

    • Have fun reading those books! I used to be the same – I’d have to have copies of all the books in the series. But nowadays, I usually give the first book a try and then decide after reading that whether I want to continue withe the series or not. I agree, books are more of a necessity than a luxury. :P

      I’ve seen those cases around here. My flatmates and I bought one for a friend’s iPad. Too bad they don’t make it for my phone’s model. Hope you can find one for your iPad soon.

  3. I was tempted into the childrens section the other day. It wasn’t planned, but… I came out with 4 new picture books. But, I really needed them talaga! Really really. :-} Its so nice to get a book you’ve been wanting for awhile, isn’t it?

    • Rosie, it feels great to get a book that you’ve been wanting for some time! Even if it means spending money you’d rather not spend. :P Hope you enjoy reading those kiddie books that you got. Do you need them for something specific?

  4. Just One Day was so, so beautifully written. I really enjoyed it and could not put it down when I had started it! It made me want to go to Paris though…

  5. I’m rather looking forward to both of these myself–I hope they don’t disappoint!

  6. Oooh, you got Just One Day already. I want that book too! I recently bought a copy of Days of Blood and Starlight – Fully Booked was on sale, so I finally gave in.:)

    I hope your work week has gotten better!:)

    • Yep, di na nakatiis! I was so glad they already had copies of Just One Day. I think both of these two are UK editions because they’re paperbacks instead of hardcovers. I included the prices to show how expensive they are compared to books in Manila. :P Oooh I have a copy of Days of Blood and Starlight but I haven’t read it yet. Let me know what you think when you get to it.

  7. Okay 1) that cell phone cover is adorable. 2) I am SO excited that you picked up A Face Like Glass!! I love love loved it, it’s just as good as The Lost Conspiracy, and maybe even slightly better because there is explosive cheese. I think this was a WONDERFUL way to employ retail therapy–hope it worked! :)

    • Exploding cheese? Nice! One of the reasons why I wanted to get a copy of A Face Like Glass was because I knew you loved it. Yep, the retail therapy worked for the rest of the week. It’s good that it’s Friday now though. And that I got to see a new Lizzie Bennett Diaries episode this morning. :P

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,385 other followers