Chachic's Book Nook

Have you seen The Hobbit?

17 Comments

Just a quick post to let you guys know what I’ve been up to this weekend. I watched the film adaptation of The Hobbit and loved it! It’s my first time to watch IMAX 3D (and 48fps too) here in Singapore and I think it’s definitely worth the 22 SGD that I had to pay for the ticket. Both Martin Freeman and Richard Armitage were amazing – all of the actors were but I just wanted to highlight those two because I loved both of them in BBC’s shows (Sherlock for the former and North and South for the latter). It was funny when the preview for Star Trek Into Darkness was being shown, all of us were wondering if we were in the right cinema. I just realized what the preview was about when Benedict Cumberbatch appeared – obviously, that’s another movie I’m excited about.

I wore my All Seeing Eye shirt from Threadless as well as my LOTR stamp pendant yesterday:

All Seeing Eye shirt

My flatmates also gave me this postcard set based on the film:

The Hobbit postcard set

Isn’t it pretty? Sorry pen pals, I will definitely be keeping these postcards instead of sending them to friends. :P I had a friend who asked me to tell her if the movie is worth watching in cinemas or if she should just wait for it to come out in DVD. I told her she’s asking the wrong person. So what about you, have you seen the movie? If yes, what did you think of it? :) If no, what are you waiting for? Here’s the trailer to remind you of what you’re missing:

It’s been years since I last read the book. Maybe I should reread it soon to refresh my memory?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

17 thoughts on “Have you seen The Hobbit?

  1. I don’t know when I will get to see it. My husband went on Friday and said it was really good but a little too long. (I didn’t go with him because he could only go on Friday night because he was on call yesterday and today-and a 3 hour Friday movie is too late for our babysitter. I didn’t begrudge him going by himself at all though. He is a journalist and Friday was a rough day for journalists here. He needed the escape. Plus he’s a bigger fan than I am.)

    • I’m glad your husband got to see it since he’s a big fan and Friday was a bad day for him. It was Saturday over here when I heard the news, it really is sad. I hope you still get to see The Hobbit though, I didn’t realize it would be so long. I should have gone to the bathroom before it started so I didn’t have to go and miss some bits near the end. So make sure you go to the bathroom before watching the movie.

  2. Happy to hear that you approve. I love shirt and pendant. You are awesome.

  3. I just saw the movie today. It was great. I can’t wait for the next movie.

  4. I loved the movie! I think seeing it on the big screen would be worth it. New Zealand is breathtaking, and the cinematography of course. I kept saying “it was so good” all the way from the cinema’s bathroom until the moment we sat down for pizza. Haha! :)

    • I really am the wrong person to ask if The Hobbit is worth seeing on the big screen. I would have watched it on the day it was released if I didn’t have to worry about waking up for work the next day. Yep, we also kept saying it was a great movie after we’ve seen. I’m tempted to watch it again.

  5. I just went to see it tonight, and I saw the same version as you but it gave me a huge headache. The image was a lot less dark when with regular 3D though, and well, it was good, butI felt slowish at time – and to be fair, that’s pretty much what It hink of The Fellowship of the Ring, so I guess it’s a set up deal?.

    I do love Richard Armitage, he makes me drool. :D

    • Really? I didn’t even notice the difference. That’s why I had to ask after if we saw the 48fps version. I heard that some people got a little dizzy while watching. I also didn’t find it slow, maybe a little long? But I was fine with the pacing, didn’t get bored or anythying like that.

      Yep. I ♥ Richard Armitage as well. Although he’s more drool-worthy in North and South than in The Hobbit. I think the hottest dwarf is Kili (and I’m probably not the only one who thinks that). :P

  6. I am excited to see this soon. I’m so happy to hear it’s good! I love all your literary clothes, C. So adorable. I love Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman. I can’t wait to see BC is Star Trek. I’m positive he will be as badass as usual.

    • Flann, I may be biased so don’t take my word for it! I had a feeling I’d enjoy watching this on the big screen and I did. I love my Threadless shirts as well, it’s so funny how I already have several pieces. I hope they put up new designs related to books.

      I’m not a Star Trek fan but I saw the first movie and thought it was pretty good. I’m definitely looking forward to the sequel because Benedict Cumberbatch will be in it! Same with The Hobbit, I hope Smaug has some screen time in the second movie.

  7. I really enjoyed The Hobbit, and I like what they’ve done with it. I’m looking forward to seeing the next two installments :)

    Watching the movie made me want to reread the book, and I may just do that next year!

    • Me too, I really enjoyed watching the movie. I didn’t feel like it was too long – so many people are complaining about the length.

      I know, I can’t remember a lot of the details shown in the movie so I think it would be a good idea to reread the book. :)

  8. That t-shirt is THE bomb! :D

  9. I love the Hobbit! It’s an eye-candy movie.

    And BTW, I’m selling shirts that you might want :)

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,385 other followers