Chachic's Book Nook

On Doing What You Love

14 Comments

Books page in 2013 planner

A good friend of mine sent me a link to a Zen Habits article this morning. I liked it so much that I clicked on other posts and chanced upon Crazy Talk: The Do-What-You-Love Guide, which resonated with me. So many of the points that he raised can be applied to book blogging but what stood out for me was this:

It’s the doing and loving that matters. Many people focus on growing, or hitting goals, or making money, but they forget what matters. What matters most is loving what you do. If you love it, and you’re doing it, you’ve already succeeded. Don’t worry so much about achieving certain levels of success — people push themselves so hard to reach those things that they forget to enjoy what they’re doing, and in the process they lose the reason they’re doing it in the first place.

I love how it makes things simple: do what you love and you’ve already succeeded. I love reading, I love blogging and I’m doing both so that makes me a winner! No need to base success on other factors such as the number of posts I put up, the number of followers I have or the number of comments I get. Lately, I keep saying that I don’t spend as much time as I’d like on both reading and blogging. I’ve learned not to let that bother me because there really isn’t any reason to pressure myself. I’ve been reading for most of my life and I still get excited by the idea of discovering amazing books. I’ve been blogging for almost three years and it’s still as fun as when I first started. I should start seeing that as an accomplishment, we all should. So, so, so. Fellow readers and bloggers, give yourself a pat on the back for doing what you do! Let’s keep on spreading our love for the written word and consider ourselves champs while we’re at it.

balloons

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

14 thoughts on “On Doing What You Love

  1. This post is totally uplifting! I think it’s important that bloggers remember that they started blogging because they LOVE to read and they wanted to share that love with others. It’s nice to be relaxed about blogging and to enjoy it and reading ;)

    • Exactly! We’re doing this because we love to read and we want to share the love with people who can relate. It’s all about being enthusiastic about the books we read and having discussions. No need to get stressed over it. :)

  2. That was a really sweet post! Thanks for sharing.

  3. This was a wonderful post. I’ve been having similar thoughts lately because I put a lot of pressure on myself to read and review a certain number of books this year and it sort of made it more stressful. This is supposed to be fun and a part of my life that isn’t stressful. So yeah. Everything you said.

    • Hey, no need to pressure yourself! You don’t want to get frustrated because then you won’t have the energy to blog or review. Sometimes, I get tired of blogging just because the pressure is there when I want my blog to be my happy place – a way to unwind and relax.

  4. I’ve been struggling with something similar lately. As an author, there is SO MUCH TO DO all the time and it often feels more like “work” than “doing what you love”. But when I sit down and remember why I’m doing what I’m doing…everything calms down in my mind and I can find joy in it again. Thanks for posting this!

    • Yep, just remind yourself why you’re writing and that it’s something that you love doing. This post reminded me that I love blogging because it lets me communicate with fellow book lovers (and even authors!) all over the world. That’s something that I wouldn’t be able to do if I didn’t have this platform.

  5. I am in love with that quote! I need it on my mirror. Thanks so much for sharing.

  6. So glad that you still find joy in blogging. Yep, you are a champ! I find it much less stressful now than when I first started out and felt the pressure to post every day!

    • Thanks for checking out my blog all the time, C! I really appreciate your comments. :) Yes, we really shouldn’t let our blogs stress us out. Let’s just have fun with them.

  7. I really like getting comfortable with your own blog. At some point, you stop worrying as much about followers, traffic, etc. and just go with it. It’s no fun to be stressing all the time. You’ve built an awesome blog and it makes me happy that you’re still loving it after a few years:)

    • Flann, I’m amazed at where you’ve gone with your blog! I can still remember when you first started with it and you, Catie and Tatiana have done so much with The Readventurer. Yes, I do agree that we shouldn’t let blog stuff stress us out. I keep wishing I had more time to focus on my blog but since I can’t have that, then I just have fun with it.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,341 other followers