Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: November 18 Library Stash

25 Comments

Chores kept me busy this Sunday afternoon but I managed to drop by the library when I had to go to the mall for some errands. It’s not obvious in this picture but I like how the library is full during weekends, lots of kids running around, carrying books.

Library November 18

I managed to borrow three books even though I’m still not done reading the ones that I previously borrowed. Here’s hoping that I will manage to read these before the due date rolls around. Like I keep saying, I still find it fun to borrow library books even if I don’t get to read them. Kind of like a bookish security blanket.

Library Stash November 18

Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway
Firebird by Mercedes Lackey
House of Shadows by Rachel Neumeier

One musically themed contemporary YA and two fantasy novels, all of which are on my wishlist. I will probably end up renewing these because I’ve been a pretty slow reader lately (Goodreads keeps reminding me that I’m behind on my reading challenge).

I also bought these sets of postcards – they’re based on pictures taken by a Singapore photographer. Since I liked it so much, I bought a set that I’d keep for myself and another one that I could send to friends:

6 Beauties of Singapore postcard set

Speaking of postcards, I got this from a friend in Manila. Check out the girl reading on the steps of an old building:

Polaroid Postcard from Evert

Pretty good weekend in terms of what I was able to borrow and buy. What about you, any good books or postcards in your stash? Hope you all had a lovely weekend. :)

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

25 thoughts on “Book Haul: November 18 Library Stash

  1. House of Shadows is looking good. Never heard of it before :D Your library is simply awesome!

    Enjoy! :D
    My new books: Newbies

    • Yiota, I’ve only read The City in the Lake by Rachel Neumeier and while I didn’t love it, it seems like House of Shadows will be better. I’ve heard positive feedback about it.

  2. Glad to see you got a copy of House of Shadows! I loved that one, and I hope you enjoy it, too.

  3. House of Shadows is AMAZING! You’re going to love it for sure, Chacic! :)

  4. I’m still so excited that you get to use a library now. Let me know when you’d like to read Audrey, Wait! I’d love to do a read along, and I own my copy so I don’t have to worry about due dates. I hope that you enjoy House of Shadow, it’s been one of my favorite fantasy reads this year. I’ve never actually read Firebird by Mercedes Lackey, which is kind of crazy since I read little besides Mercedes Lackey in Middle School and High School. =)

    • Heidi, I still get excited that I get to use a library now! I’m flattered you share the feeling. :P I don’t buy books for myself over here because they’re super expensive, similar to prices of books in Australia. I’ve only bought books which I’ve given as gifts. The rest of the time, I just borrow. I have a feeling I’ll end up buying several titles when I fly back to Manila in December.

      I’ve read a couple of Mercedes Lackey novels but I didn’t love them. Firebired looks lovely though, it’s been on my wishlist for a while now so I was pleasantly surprised when I saw it in the library.

  5. Yay for music themed books. Audrey, Wait is one of the best! Your other books look intriguing as well. Libraries are awesome, and I’m glad yours is such a good one. Happy reading :)

    • I know, I’ve heard such good things about Audrey, Wait and I figured it would be a good introduction to Robin Benway’s writing. Plus the cover looks bright and happy. I’m glad the library here has a good selection as well, I haven’t even been to the other branches. :P

  6. I hope you like the books! I have heard really good things about Audrey Wait! though I don’t think I have heard much of the other two, good luck with them!

    And the postcards are lovely :

    • Alex, will definitely keep you posted if I get to read all of these. :) I’ve heard good things about both Audrey, Wait and House of Shadows. I just took a chance on Firebird because it’s Russian-inspired fantasy and it’s been on my wishlist for years.

  7. I’m ashamed to admit that I spent waaaay too much in food and books this week! XD I bought “Matilda” by Roald Dahl. Such an adorable kid’s book! I can’t help but wonder why I never read it before!!

    Also bought a beautifully illustrated Nutcracker story book :)) Which…cost way too much. hehe :))

    • I always spend way too much on food. :P Books, not as much as I’d like since I still can’t make myself buy books here. They’re too expensive for me! I will allow myself to go crazy in the bookstore when I go home to Manila for Christmas. Or I can always just order from the Book Depository.

      Roald Dahl’s books are so much fun. Have you read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The BFG and Witches? :) Also, have you seen my Matilda stamp pendant?

  8. Audrey Wait is fantastic, prepare to laugh and smile and have a great time reading.

    I haven’t read Firebird yet, but I do have a copy. I love Russian-inspired sort of books so that one just kind of shot up the TBR.

    Happy reading, Chachic! :-)

    • Now I’m really looking forward to reading Audrey, Wait! How did I miss it when so many of you loved it?

      Firebird looks pretty interesting but out of the three in this pile, I think that one might get bumped down since I’m pretty excited to read the other two based on everyone’s feedback.

      Thank you so much, April. Hope you have a great reading week as well. :)

  9. The books you picked up at the library look really good! I hope you enjoy them :)

    • Alexa, I have a feeling I’ll enjoy reading them! I think it’s awesome that I get to borrow books from the library here because I don’t get to do that back home.

  10. I’m behind on my challenge, too. Sometimes that’s how the cookie crumbles ^^ – and of course Goodreads doesn’t count re-reads in the same year, heh. Those Singapore postcards are especially atmospheric.

    • Estara, I’m not even sure if I’ve reread any books this year. I’m not letting Goodreads get to me. I don’t want to pressure myself when there’s really no need for it. :P I haven’t even touched those postcards, I’ve been planning to send them since I got them!

  11. I like that postcard your friend from Manila sent. I always like the ones where people look really peaceful or contemplative. I like your library choices as well! I haven’t read any of those yet but I’ve wanted to try Neumeier since Heidi reviewed a book of hers.

    • It’s from a postcard set that she got from there, I think it’s a picture taken somewhere in Europe though? :P I’ll let you know what I think when I get to read House of Shadows.

  12. Those books look awesome and I might have to pick one up! I’m finishing up a pretty great book now called “Three Fugitives” by Nat Howler, it’s part of the Six Stones Trilogy. You can check out him and the book on the website http://nathowler.com/. Thanks for the post and suggestions!

  13. How’d you find Firebird? I have a copy of the original hardcover release, I’m predisposed to like it just because there’s not enough Russian-themed fantasy out there. Of course, Mercedes Lackey is one of those authors I have a love-hate relationship with…

    • Haven’t read it yet! I’ve only read Audrey, Wait from this stash. I’m not even sure if I can read the other two before the due date. Might have to just borrow them again next time because I’m going home for Christmas.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers