Chachic's Book Nook

Leaving on a jet plane…

61 Comments

Whenever something major in real life occurs, my blogging life is also affected. I’ve been waiting to announce this for a while now but I didn’t want to do it until I was sure it was really going to happen. I’m moving to Singapore! I got a job offer over there and decided to accept it. I’m serving my notice at my current job until Friday. I’m flying to Singapore next week to finalize the paperwork and to look for a place to stay. Then I’m starting work officially on August 1.

It’s all very exciting but also a bit scary. I’ve never even lived outside the Philippines (not including vacations) and this is the first time I’ll be moving out of the family home. The good thing is that Singapore is just three and a half hours away from Manila so it’s not like I’m going halfway around the world. Also, for the first time in my life, I will be living in a place that has good public libraries. The bad news? I’m not sure what my work load will be like and whether I’ll have a hard time adjusting to a new country. So that means I have no idea if I’ll still be able to keep up with reading and blogging. I will be bringing my Kindle Touch with me so I can definitely say that I’ll continue reading – just not sure how often I’ll get to review books. And I have no idea how many physical books I can bring with me! My luggage limit is only 25kg. But maybe I can pick up some books the next time I go home.

So, so, so. This is why I haven’t been as blogging as much recently and it looks like things will slow down even more once I start working in Singapore. I hope you guys will still enjoy dropping by my blog from time to time, whenever I have a new post. I’m going to miss the local blogging scene, I feel bad that I haven’t been active in helping out with the Kwentillion Young Adult Carnival, the Filipino Readers’ Choice Awards and the Filipino ReaderCon – so many exciting bookish events coming up in the next couple of weeks! But maybe I can participate in other bookish events once I’ve settled down in Singapore? We’ll see.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

61 thoughts on “Leaving on a jet plane…

  1. Oh, congratulations and good luck, Chachic…the beginning of a new chapter in your life story! I’ll be looking forward to updates whenever you have time to post them.

  2. Congratulations, I’m very excited for you! I hope you won’t have a hard time adjusting. Don’t worry, there are lots reasonably priced flights to and from Singapore, so it will be easy to come home when you feel like it. :)

    Anyway, good luck, I’ll miss all our meet-ups, but there’s still Twitter anyway. And of course I’ll still drop by here whenever you’ve got new posts. :)

    • I know, I’m really hoping I won’t have a hard time adjusting to the whole situation. I won’t have vacation leaves while on probation so I have no idea when I’ll be able to go home – definitely planning to spend Christmas here. :) Maybe we can have a Filipino Book Bloggers Christmas get together or something?

  3. Congrats about your new job!
    That is terrific! I hope you new job is all you hope it will be.

  4. Wow!! Congratulations and good luck!! ;o)

  5. That’s fabulous news, Chachic! The job and new adventure. Not so much the scarcer blogging. But we’ll be here, of course. Looking forward to hearing about it all. :)

    • I really want to keep reading and blogging. I’d miss the blogosphere if I stop. I’m giving myself a few months to settle down and then maybe I can go back to actively posting on the blog. :)

  6. Congratulations!!! I’m happy that you have a new adventure to look forward to.

  7. Congrats on the new job! I hope you are very happy in Singapore — the hubby and I have wanted to travel there for ages now so maybe we’ll cross paths one of these days :)

    Good luck with your grand adventure!

    • Michelle, let me know if you’re ever in Singapore! I would be more than happy to meet up with you. :) It would be great to finally meet in person.

  8. Congratulations on the new job and good luck! Singapore is absolutely lovely; I went there early this year, and fell in love. Good luck with the home hunting!

    • I really liked Singapore when I came there to visit. It’s different from Manila and I hope I have fun exploring the country (which isn’t very big). :P

  9. Congrats! Good luck with your move and hope you have the time to get some reading in and enjoy those libraries :)

    • melissa, I hope so too! I don’t think I’ll be able to explore the libraries until after I’ve settled down though. I still need to ask around about them.

  10. Congratulations on the new job and good luck with both that and the move!

  11. How exciting for you! I hope it all goes well!

  12. Good luck, Chachic! We will miss you. Can you find me a job there too? Haha.

  13. Congratulations and Good Luck Chachic! (Can I come with? :D) 25 kg only? Yiii! You can always get more books in Singapore. Brash Basah Complex has lots. :)

    • LOL Tin, are you planning to look for a job in Singapore? Let me know if you decide to go there! I’ll try to check out the libraries first before I decide to buy more books. I still have so many over here. :P

  14. Congrats and have fun! Enjoy the library!

    On the Kindle front though, my SG friends have not been able to download any books I’ve gifted to them. Gift na ha! Not available in SG lagi. :(

    • Boo Kindle geographic restrictions! I hate it when that happens. I should probably stock ebooks on my Kindle before I leave so I wouldn’t have to worry about that. I’ve already downloaded some of the titles that were in my old device (was pleasantly surprised to find out that you can do re-download titles to a new device).

  15. Again, congratulations! :) We will miss our “queen” terribly, but it’s not like you’re too far away. I do hope you’ll find time to blog there, once you get settled because we will miss it! I wasn’t able to finish bookshops when I went there (years ago, ack!), but I’m sure you’ll find some. And yes,I heard the library there is quite awesome. :)

    Best of luck with everything! :)

    • I was able to drop by Borders and Kinokuniya when I was there but didn’t buy anything because their books are more expensive than what we have here. I’d like to check out how well-stocked the libraries are before I start purchasing books. :) I really hope I can continue blogging after I’ve adjusted to the move.

  16. Congratulations! We will definitely miss you! :(

    Good luck! Say hi to Jam for us when you happen to meet her there. :))

  17. Prez! We’ll miss you during the monthly #chachorgies, but it’s great that you got the job! I’ll send you the contact info of my cousin when she moves in around August :)

  18. You will be our Filipino book blogger ambassador for the whole of Southeast Asia!:)

    I’ll miss you, Chachic! But I still hope to see you around the blogosphere. Or, if not as much here, then on Twitter. I’m sure wherever you are, you’ll keep reading and sharing your love for books.:)

    • LOL I don’t even know any Singaporean book bloggers! Tarie is the Filipino ambassador for Southeast Asia.

      Will definitely update Twitter and maybe the blog’s Facebook page. I will do my best to keep reading but I have a feeling I’ll be focused on working and sleeping during my first few weeks (months?) there. :P

  19. Oh wow! I’m so happy for you Chachic! Cogratulations on your new job! It’s a whole new world but remember you are just a click away! Good luck!

  20. Chachic! What an amazing opportunity for you. But I’ll miss you! Flying to Manila next week; I hope there’s a chance we can have coffee one last time before you move. :) Or the next one will be at Orchard Road! Haha.

    • Chris, thanks for all the DMs! Looking forward to meeting up with you in Singapore. :) We can hang out in a cafe and check out bookstores when you’re there.

  21. Pingback: Bookish Event: The 1st Kwentillion Young Adult Reader Carnival | Chachic's Book Nook

  22. So excited for you and your next step! It’s going to be an adventure, for sure. Lots of transition going on for the two of us. =)

  23. Wow, that sounds AMAZING. Congrats, lady. Hope you love your new job and location. I will certainly miss your blogging and hope you update us on twitter every so often. <3

    • Thanks April! Singapore’s pretty nice so I have a feeling I’ll enjoy living there. I just hope I won’t have a hard time adjusting to the new job. Yep, will still go online on Twitter – maybe I can tweet more once I have a smartphone. :P

  24. Good luck and congrats, Chachic! I’m so excited that you’ll have access to libraries now! :)

  25. Congratulations, Chachic! This is amazing. Honestly, I’m SO proud of you/impressed at you taking this leap in your life, and I wish you only the best and hope that the transition goes well. 3.5 hours by flight isn’t bad at all! I live further than that from my own family. =)

    It’s hard to be away from home (especially for the first time), but with so much technology and wonderful ways to keep in contact these days, the transition can be a bit smoother. I hope you LOVE the new job and Singapore! And it’ll be all sorts of fun exploring a new city. Do you know anyone there?

    I hope that you’ll be checking in regularly on Twitter even if you don’t have the chance to blog much!

    • Thank you so much, Heidi! It really is a HUGE step and I really hope I won’t have a hard time adjusting to living in a new place. Really, how many hours away is your family? Well, the US is pretty big so that’s not surprising. :)

      I know, I’m already planning to get a smartphone (first time!) so it would be easier to keep in touch with everyone through social networks and apps. I have a few friends over there but I haven’t seen them in a while – maybe we can meet up and reconnect.

      Yes to checking Twitter! I’ll try to go online everyday. It would be easier with a smartphone and a data plan. :)

      • Oh I’m glad you’re getting a smart phone and already have a few potential connections! That should really help. =)

        I can’t fly strait home, so it’s usually like 2 flights totaling 5 hours (not counting layovers) and then a 3 hour drive. Becomes a pretty epic venture! My sister lives in the city with the airport though, so I usually crash there between the drive and the flights.

      • I’m really excited to get a smartphone! My officemates keep making fun of me because I’m the only one in the office who doesn’t have one. I’m thinking of getting an iPhone.

        Wow, that’s a lot of effort! I have no idea if I’m ready to move away that far. I like the idea of being only a couple of hours away from Manila – and there are budget flights from various airlines. My ticket next week is actually from a budget flight. :P

  26. Step 1: Find a place to live; Step 2: GIVE ME YOUR ADDRESS!! :) You won’t be alone if you keep getting mail from around the world. Congratulations! (even thought I told you this already;-))

    • Step 1 has been keeping me busy the past few days! It takes a lot of work to find a decent place to live that isn’t too expensive or too far from the office. Would love to send you my address as soon as I’m settled. :D

  27. Congrats! This sounds like a great chance for you and I hope that everything will work out the way you want it to.

  28. NOOOOOOOOOO!! Jokezzz, I’m happy for you! And jealz. You’ll be waking up to kaya toast every day… plus no TRAFFIC JAMS!! Best of luck, Chachic!

    • LOL yes to no traffic jams! Although there would be a lot of walking involved because cabs are expensive over there. And I’m not really a fan of kaya toast. :P I like floss though.

  29. Yay, it’s happening! I think it will be a grand adventure and I hope you enjoy it. :)

  30. Congrats on your new job! Hope you’ll enjoy your stay in Singapore!

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers