Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: 2012 Favorites So Far

15 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

Somewhat in relation to yesterday’s topic, I thought I’d take a picture of my favorite reads in 2012 so far, and feature them in this week’s Shoot That Book post:

 2012 Favorites So Far

In no particular order (although the three titles above are 2012 releases):
Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Trese: Mass Murders by Budjette Tan and KaJo Baldisimo
Northlander by Meg Burden

That’s two fantasy novels, one historical fiction, one contemporary romance and one graphic novel. Quite a mix, right? Let’s see what will be included in my round-up at the end of the year. I noticed that I had twenty favorites in 2010 and fifteen favorites in 2011 so maybe I’ll have only ten favorites this year? So I know I already asked about this in yesterday’s post but I just wanted to bring it up again – what are the books that have blown you away in 2012? :) They don’t have to be 2012 releases, just books that you’ve read and discovered this year.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

15 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: 2012 Favorites So Far

  1. Love the variety! I am so hoping that the new Fables will blow me away, I’d love to have a graphic novel on my own list come years end. My absolute favorites so far are probably Daughter of the Forest and Scarlet, but you already know that. :P

    I’m GOING to read Seraphina next week! Just wanted to get Graceling and Jellicoe Road read first.

    • I’d love to have more graphic novels in my list but they’re just too expensive! And I feel like I have to be careful when reading them because I don’t want to damage the pages. Yay, I love that you loved Daughter of the Forest, I can’t remember if you’ve read the sequel? It’s just as good!

      Looking forward to hearing what you think of Graceling, Jellicoe Road and Seraphina. :D

  2. Seeing Northlander up there makes my heart happy.

    Seraphina huh? I’ve been meaning to pick that one up after Janice & your reviews. Looks like I need to bump it a bit higher now eh?

    Wonderful list all around. I actually just did a post like this today too and I’m happy to say CODE NAME VERITY made it to the top of mine too :) Thanks again for pointing that one out to me. Still need to get around to FAULT IN OUR STARS tho…

    • I really enjoyed our Meg Burden readalong and I wish there was a third book in the series – I think the second book wouldn’t have felt so rushed if that was the case.

      Would love to hear what you think of Seraphina! I have a feeling you’ll like it, Michelle. But I can never really predict what a blogger friend will think of a book.

      Yay, glad Code Name Verity is in your list as well! I hope you’re planning to read the rest of EWein’s novels? Maybe you can bump The Fault in Our Stars when you’re in the mood for a YA contemp. I think I need to add an adult contemp to my list.

  3. I was just about to ask you this question before I commented on your last post. I think you should try the Guernsey Literary Potato Peel Pie Society (so much charm!) or The Book Thief (moving and beautiful), since they are in the WWII/CNV vein. Hopefully you will at least like them.

    I’m happy to see Seraphina and TFioS on your list. I’m about halfway through Seraphina right now. I’m dying for a chunk of time to finish it.

    Also, I’m bumping Northlander up the TBR, and will see if the library has Trese. :)

    • All right, will bump up both the Potato Peel Pie book and The Book Thief. It’s funny that people are surprised that I still haven’t read the latter. I really should since I’ve heard such good things about Markus Zusak.

      I felt the same way while I was reading Seraphina! I’m glad I was able to grab the hardcover because of the beautiful design, it made the reading experience more fun. Looking forward to hearing what you think of that book. :) And yes, please read Northlander if you ca. :D

      It makes me happy that you’re interested in Trese but I don’t think it’s internationally available? So your library might not have it. But keep me posted on that.

  4. So I really need to read Northlander I guess.

    I’m so happy that you liked Seraphina enough to include it in this!

    • Yes, to Northlander, Brandy! You probably know this already but I picked up that book based on Charlotte’s recommendation – so that’s two recs from fellow Sounisians. :P

      Seraphina was lovely! I’ll try to work on my review next week.

  5. I’ve only read CNV (and you know I LOVED it) but I still need to read TFiOS and Seraphina sounds excellent too!

  6. More love for Seraphina! I now regret not buying it when I saw it at the bookstore last weekend.

  7. I think you need to find a bright red favorite! Lovely books, but, apart from The Fault…rather uncolorful….not worthy of your nail polish :)

    • Hmm Charlotte, I didn’t even notice that until you pointed it out! But I do love the covers for both Seraphina and Code Name Verity even if they don’t have bright colors.

  8. Pingback: Want Books: A Girl Like You | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,350 other followers