Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: For Darkness Shows the Stars

10 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I’ve been seeing positive reviews of For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund, a post-apocalyptic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion. I can’t even remember when was the last time I read Persuasion but I’m really curious about this book. I also haven’t read any of Diana Peterfreund’s books and I’m thinking this one is a good place to start since it’s a standalone novel.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

For Darkness Shows the StarsIt’s been several generations since a genetic experiment gone wrong caused the Reduction, decimating humanity and giving rise to a Luddite nobility who outlawed most technology.

Elliot North has always known her place in this world. Four years ago Elliot refused to run away with her childhood sweetheart, the servant Kai, choosing duty to her family’s estate over love. Since then the world has changed: a new class of Post-Reductionists is jump starting the wheel of progress, and Elliot’s estate is foundering, forcing her to rent land to the mysterious Cloud Fleet, a group of shipbuilders that includes renowned explorer Captain Malakai Wentforth–an almost unrecognizable Kai. And while Elliot wonders if this could be their second chance, Kai seems determined to show Elliot exactly what she gave up when she let him go.

But Elliot soon discovers her old friend carries a secret–one that could change their society . . . or bring it to its knees. And again, she’s faced with a choice: cling to what she’s been raised to believe, or cast her lot with the only boy she’s ever loved, even if she’s lost him forever.

Looks pretty interesting, right? I also think the cover is pretty. What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

10 thoughts on “Want Books: For Darkness Shows the Stars

  1. I just got this book a little while ago and I’m so excited to read it! :D

  2. I loved this book. Soooo much fun! I loved Elliott’s character especially. I suggest you read it soon. :)

  3. I want to read it! 8 out of 10 I end up liking Fantasy or SF remakes of beloved Classics.

    • Hey Michelle, nice to see you over here! I saw the hardcover of this book in Fully Booked a few days ago so you can probably grab a copy from one of their stores. :D

  4. This cover is GORGEOUS. I want to read it too!

  5. I think the cover is very pretty but misleading. I thought it would be about SPPPACE. I am a total sucker for a great nebula picture:) I remember Catie reviewed it for us and she wasn’t a huge lover. I hope you get it soon, though! I like when you find the books on this feature.

    • Yeah, it’s more dystopian than sci-fi, right? I remember Catie’s review. I think she felt the same way as Holly did about this book and I think that’s because they’re HUGE fans of Persuasion. I can’t even remember the details of that book so maybe I’d have a better chance of liking this one?

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,337 other followers