Chachic's Book Nook

The First Time I Saw Your Face by Hazel Osmond

18 Comments

Hazel Osmond was kind enough to send a copy of her second novel, The First Time I Saw Your Face (quite a mouthful) after she found out that I enjoyed reading her debut, Who’s Afraid of Mr. Wolfe. I really appreciate receiving a copy of this book from her not only because it’s a signed copy, but also because it’s not locally available. I’m always up for contemporary romance with more depth than usual and I feel like Hazel Osmond’s books fit that description.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

The First Time I Saw Your FaceJennifer had it all. But a terrible accident has taken almost everything. Moving back home, her future isn’t looking too bright. Until she meets Mack.

Sexy, dishevelled and just a little clumsy, he starts to make her believe that she can move on from the past and embrace life all over again. But he has a secret he’d do anything to protect and he’ll have to betray her to keep it…

Let me take a moment to comment on the cover, I’m usually not a fan of real people in book covers but I think they did a great job in choosing the model who posed as Jennifer. I like how stylish she looks – from her French manicure to her classy black top (or is that a dress?) – reminds me a bit of Unsticky’s cover. Only half of her face is shown and that’s in keeping with the book’s plot. Also, check out the hot pink spine, I think it looks good on my contemporary romance shelf:

The book’s summary is pretty vague, isn’t it? I don’t think it would be too spoilery if I flesh it out. Skip ahead if you’d rather not know details about the book though. Jennifer was planning to be a successful stage actress when a horrible car accident leaves her face scarred. After the accident, she decides to come back to her family’s farm, live a quiet life as an assistant librarian and forget her dreams of pursuing an acting career. Enter Mack Stone, former tabloid journalist who is being blackmailed to work undercover. His mission? Get as close to Jen as possible so she can dish out the details of her celebrity cousin’s love life. Their story is told from alternating points of view, which I think is a good idea because readers will see how Mack was reluctant to take advantage of Jen right from the start.

The First Time I Saw Your Face is all about the slow burn – it’s a quiet kind of romance filled with scenes that are all about the characters getting to know each other. I know I keep saying this but I’m a fan of romance that takes time to form. Jen feels like there’s no way someone good-looking like Mack will ever be interested in her. And Mack has conflicting emotions, he genuinely likes Jen but he can’t find a way to get out of the situation he’s in. I was worried about these two and how the problems would get resolved once Mack’s secret is out in the open. Overall, I found their love story sweet. I also liked how well-developed the secondary characters are – from their family members to the rest of the townspeople. Both of their families play significant roles in the story. I also found it interesting that the setting is Northumberland instead of London. Northumberland sounds beautiful based on the book’s descriptions but I’m not sure if I could ever stand how cold it is over there. I had fun reading this one, very easy to get into so I recommend it to fans of Hazel Osmond’s first novel as well as readers interested in British contemporary romance. The ebook has already been released and the paperback is coming out on August 16.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

18 thoughts on “The First Time I Saw Your Face by Hazel Osmond

  1. Great review! I love hearing about new UKYA, especially the contemporary stuff. Will try and track this one down soon :)

  2. Oh I want to read this one. I think I’ll be buying. I’m looking forward to seeing the POV of the hero here, and the bit about it being set in Northumberland sounds lovely.

    • Janice, I remember you enjoyed reading Mr. Wolfe so I have a feeling you’ll like this one too. It has a different feel from that book and I look forward to hearing what you think of it.

  3. Wow, the book sounds way awesome!
    And I actually love the title, even if it’s mouthful.
    I think I’m going to try to get it in my side of the pond.

    Thanks for sharing :)

    • Alex, I also like the title since it has something to do with the story. You can order it from, Book Depository. :) Let me know what you think when you get to read it.

  4. Nice. The story seems promising. Now I’m more excited. I just finished reading Who’s Afraid of Mr. Wolfe and I really enjoyed that book. I’m sure I’ll enjoy this one, too! I just have to wait for its release, though.

    • Rhin, it’s actually better if you pre-order a book from Book Depository because you get 25% off. And sometimes the book is shipped even before its release date.

  5. This one sounds really good! I actually just bought Who’s Afraid of Mr. Wolfe and am waiting for my copy in the mail. Had it on my wishlist for so long I finally took the plunge and bought it after your review last week or so. :)

    • Bonnie, hope you enjoy reading Mr. Wolfe! You can decide whether you’ll get a copy of Hazel Osmond’s next novel when you finish reading that.

  6. The cover made me instantly think of Unsticky’s as well! I think it’s interesting that this is your second romance this year involving a professional related to tabloids (Whiskey Road’s paparazzi protagonist). I love the idea of a Northumberland setting, but I think I want to read Who’s Afraid of Mr. Wolfe first.

    • Heidi, so funny that you made that connection! I was thinking about Whiskey Road while reading this one – the protagonists in both books have similar jobs in relation to hounding celebrities. Mr. Wolfe is different because the protagonists are working in an ad agency in that one – let me know when you get around to reading it!

  7. Ooh, yay! I’m always looking for good adult contemps and I can’t wait to check this one out.

  8. I love seeing a picture of your contemporary romance shelf. Looks lovely. :) So do I read this first or WAoMW?

    • LOL that’s the only section of my bookshelf that I’ve managed to arrange properly. Well, both of Hazel Osmond’s books are standalones so it doesn’t matter what you read first. :P

  9. So she was an aspiring actress but her cousin is also famous?

    Librarian love! I love bookish romance. One of my favorites is one of the MacGregor Grooms stories from a Nora Roberts book. This book sounds pretty sweet:)

    • Yep, Jen wanted to be a stage actress while her cousin is a popular TV/film celebrity.

      I like reading librarian romances as well. Or love stories with protagonists who love to read. :P What’s the title of that Nora Roberts book? I should probably check it out.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,338 other followers