Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: An ARC, Ebooks and Postcards

11 Comments

Time for another Book Haul post! It’s been raining the past couple of days here in Manila so the weather’s perfect for curling up in bed with a good book. I was pretty bummed when I requested Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass over at NetGalley and got denied because I kept hearing good things about it. Luckily, my good friend Janice volunteered to send her extra review copy:

I was pleasantly surprised that the package arrived after only two weeks. Thank you so much for sending it, Janice! And for the pretty For Darkness Shows the Stars bookmark – that’s another book that I’m planning to read soon. I’m also looking forward to reading these ebooks:

My Life Next DoorSecond Chance Summer

Easy by Tammara Webber
My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Adorkable by Sarra Manning
Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

I also received a couple of postcards this week so I thought I might as well include them here instead of coming up with another post. Here’s the first stash:

postcards

The grumpy kid in the upper left is from fellow Filipino book blogger Chris of Ficsation, she sent it from Japan. The Miss Saigon postcard is from Vietnam, a friend sent it while on vacation. The one at the bottom is from my postcard pen pal Steph from Korea. These postcards are making me want to visit the countries where they came from! Would love to go to Japan, Vietnam and Korea someday.

These two are from author Elizabeth Fama and they’re related to her upcoming novel, Monstrous Beauty:

postcards from Elizabeth Fama

Thank you for the lovely postcards, ladies! What about you, got any books or postcards recently?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

11 thoughts on “Book Haul: An ARC, Ebooks and Postcards

  1. HOORAY FOR THRONE OF GLASS! I really loved that book (and wrote a gushing review straight away, which is awesome) and I hope you enjoy it.

    Plus, the postcards are ADORABLE.

    • I’ve seen a lot of positive reviews about Throne of Glass so I’m really curious about. I’m only at page 8 so far and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll enjoy reading it. :D

  2. I’m glad you were able to get a copy of Throne of Glass! I plan to start reading it today or tomorrow. I’m a little nervous because of all they hype surrounding it.

    • I feel the same way. I usually don’t end up loving hyped books but we’ll see. Like I said on Goodreads, at least we’re reading this at the same time so we can share our thoughts. It’s like an unofficial readalong. :P

  3. How awesome is Janice! And you got one of the pretty FDStS bookmarks. :) I’m interested to see what you think of ToG. I’ve heard mixed things.

    • Janice is pretty awesome! :P The bookmark is really pretty, the camera didn’t catch how nice it looks in person. I finished Throne of Glass last night, I’ll try to put up a review soon.

  4. So sweet of Janice to send you Throne of Glass! Interested to hear your thoughts on that, and also Second Chance Summer which I think I really want to read, but am nervous about for some reason (maybe just think it’ll be too emotional?). Thanks SO much for the postcard, Chachic! It was such a lovely surprise in my mailbox today, made me super happy. =D

    • Finished reading it the other day, will try to review it within the week. Yeah, I get the feeling Second Chance Summer will be an emotional read but I’m really interested in it. Glad you got the postcard, it was the least I could do after you sent Nightshifted. :D

  5. Yay! I love when bloggers share books. And I want to read all four ebooks you mentioned. For sure. I was just reading about Easy this week on another blog. Is that mermaid drinking champagne?

    • I just noticed that all four ebooks in this haul are YA contemps, they’ve been getting good reviews from bloggers I follow. Hope you get to read them soon, Flann.

      The mermaid is drinking bottled water. :P It’s an ad postcard for Evian.

  6. Pingback: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,352 other followers