Chachic's Book Nook

Postcard Love: FSCC Postal Heritage Walking Tour

13 Comments

Every third Sunday of the month, Filipinas Stamp Collectors’ Club hosts a free Postal Heritage Walking Tour. My friend and I decided to check it out today because we’re both interested in collecting postcards.

FSCC Postal Heritage Walking Tour

Tour guide is Mr. Lawrence Chan:

Mr Lawrence Chan

The tour started in Liwasang Bonifacio, across from the Manila Post Office.

Liwasang Bonifacio

Here are pictures of one of the most beautiful buildings in Manila – the Manila Post Office (no, this isn’t where I pick up the packages that I receive):

Manila Post Office

Philpost Mailman Statue

Manila Post Office_Inside

Manila Post Office_Hallway

What is a Stamp

Some old Philippine stamps that I picked up:

Old Philippine Stamps

I have no idea why I ended up buying these when I’m not even really a stamp collector. I got sucked in by how pretty they looked. I used to have a small collection when I was a kid but I’m not even sure where my old stamp album is right now. Snippets of the lecture, vintage Philippine stamps and postcards:

Vintage Manila Postcard

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

13 thoughts on “Postcard Love: FSCC Postal Heritage Walking Tour

  1. OMG! The post office looks also beautiful inside! Would you believe that I’ve never been inside it? I’ve always admired its wonderful facade though. This building really reminds of the Fullerton Hotel in Singapore, which was also once a post office building!

    I’ve heard rumors that the Fullerton Group bought this building also, so that they can convert it into a hotel.

    • Peter, I think the post office looks much better outside than inside. :P But you should check it out sometime. I wish we went there on a weekday so I could have bought stamps for postcards.

      I’ve heard the same thing! Friends have mentioned that they’re converting the post office into something like the Fullerton Hotel in Singapore, they’ll retain the facade though. It makes me sad that they’re doing that because we have so few buildings in Metro Manila that we can be proud of.

  2. Wow! That post office is stunning. Too bad it isn’t yours. :/

  3. Those are really pretty! I hope I get to go on that tour someday :)

  4. What a cool tour! And a gorgeous building, too. I totally would’ve nerded out and went along with you, too.

  5. Stamps are kind of a cool thing to collect, I think. I am not a very good collector, though. Except for collecting books. In college, one of my roommates got me addicted to Nora Roberts and I scoured ebay and used bookstores until I had every book she’d written up to then, so I have a lot of random books from the 1980s. And I’m never letting them go. MYYYY PREEEECIOUS. Other collections I just start and forget about:) So, I try not to do that anymore. I just hoard my postcards in a shoebox as you do. Especially the ones I get from this loser I know who lives in the Philippines. Psht.

    • I forgot about the stamps that I got in this tour as soon as I got home, LOL. I’m like you – I’m only good when it comes to collecting books (speaking of, I’m trying to organize my bookshelf now!) I’ve seen your Nora Roberts collection, I think you have a dedicated bookshelf for that?

      Ha, as if you’re not a postcard addict too! :P I don’t know what to do with my postcards. Store them in an album or have some of them framed? For now, they’ll remain in that box that I have.

  6. Hey there! I also joined this tour way back April 2012. You can check out my posts :)

    My first set of stamps also came from this tour. Sir Rence also conduct tours in different parts of the metro and/or another field of interest :)

  7. hi.. i have a rare stamp, and i am planning to sell it it’s a scott #466, its a very rare stamp from commonwealth victory..

  8. hi.. i have a rare stamp, and i am planning to sell it it’s a scott #466, its a very rare stamp from commonwealth victory..

    interested Pls. email me at carmina_guerra@yahoo.com

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,389 other followers