Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Hallowed

8 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

I did a Shoot That Book nail polish post for Unearthly a few months ago so I thought it would be a good idea to do the same thing for its sequel, Hallowed. Once again, thanks to my friend Celina for letting me borrow her copy.

Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

It’s not an exact match but I think the dark blue of the nail polish goes well with the color scheme of the Hallowed cover. I’ve finished reading this and I don’t think I’ll write a review for it because I’ll probably just end up saying the same things that I mentioned in my Unearthly review – it was easy to fall into but I didn’t really love it. I’m glad people warned me that the love triangle is more obvious in this installment so I was prepared for that.

blue nail polish on Hallowed cover

Still not sure if I’ll read the last book in the trilogy but maybe I will just to find out how everything ends. And also so I can feature it again on a Shoot That Book post. I wonder what color the cover for Boundless will be?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

8 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Hallowed

  1. Love love hard bounds! :) A friend has been encouraging me to read paranormal YA by letting me borrow some of her books. So I am currently under some sort of paranormal YA exploration, up until my friend’s supply lasts that is. And I don’t think I can stay away from fantasy that long you know. :D

    • Tin, hope you enjoy your paranormal YA exploration! I kind of feel like most paranormal YA books are similar to each other so I rarely give it a try nowadays, only when a title comes highly recommended. And yep, I agree, hardcovers are great. I try to only grab hardcovers for books that I really want to read because they’re still more expensive than paperbacks.

  2. Those books are so pretty underneath! And your nails look fabulous!

  3. I like the look the girl on the cover is giving your fingers!

  4. Ah, I have this hover zoom extension implemented on Google Chrome so I got to see your nails up close and personal and I lovelovelove that color and how metallic it looks. Also, it looks like you are in some sort of beautiful garden with a pond and waterfall in the first shot? Cute!

    • It’s a great color, isn’t it? I want to have my own bottle of this nail polish, I only got a manicure done in a nail salon near our house. That’s the pond in our house, it’s small but it has koi. :D

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers