Chachic's Book Nook

11 Comments

So, I know I try to stay away from topics that are too personal but I want to talk about something important to me. Today marks the fifth year of my dad’s passing. He was diagnosed with lung cancer early 2007 and he passed away a few months after. My parents were the ones who encouraged me to read when I was younger so I think talking about this is still somewhat related to the blog. My mom likes to say that even though we didn’t have a lot of money at that time, she made sure that we had books to read. Also, whenever I talk about relating to the pain and grief that fictional characters experience when a loved one passes away? I’m talking about my dad. I’d like to quote Robin McKinley when she wrote about Diana Wynne Jones’ passing, “Everyone leaves a themselves-shaped hole when they go, and we all feel it, whether we know or recognise the individual holes or not. No one is an island, as John Donne almost said, each human death diminishes me.” I will always, always feel the Papa-shaped hole in this world.

I’ve only been confined to the hospital once my whole life – that was when my appendix had to be removed. I was only five at that time so I was really scared.

Chachic in the hospital

Here’s a picture that shows how my parents tried to distract me:

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

11 thoughts on “

  1. What a sweet picture of you and your Papa. Thanks for sharing. Thinking of you.

  2. It’s one of those things where everything I try to type sounds kind of trite. But I’m so sorry. You and your Papa (which is what I grew up calling my dad, by the way!) are definitely in my thoughts today.

  3. Oh Chachic, I’m so sorry! *hugs* What a precious picture of your dad reading to you in the hospital. You were adorable, and still are. :)

  4. Chachic, I bet if your dad saw you know he would be so freakin’ proud of you.

    Those pictures? So adorable and sweet. <3

    <333333

  5. *hug* That photo of you and your Dad reading is just absolutely perfect.:)

    p.s. I think I know that hospital!

  6. What an incredibly tender post Chachic. I’ll be thinking of you and your loss these next few weeks.

    Plus, you were a super adorable kid ;)

  7. I’m so sorry. Five years doesn’t feel that long in my mind. So many hugs. And wow, you as a kid in those glasses – super cute.

  8. lovely post, chachic

    very touching

    i always love coming to your blog <3

  9. I’m certain your father was an amazing man since he was such a huge influence on you and just look at how awesome you are. You never really get over the loss of the people who are most important to you but it becomes easier to remember the happy memories without the underlying sadness over time. I’m glad you had so much time to spend with your dad before he passed.

    And you were too adorable for words with your little glasses, Chachic:) <3

  10. I’m so sorry to hear about your father’s passing but I’m sure he’s looking down at you with lots of love and pride. He sounds like a wonderful person and it’s so heartwarming that he was a big influence for your love of reading; he gave you a lovely gift when he passed that on to you. :)

    I lost my own father a few years ago under different circumstances so in a way I can relate. But the good thing is that we have our happy memories with them and that’s something to be treasured. You’ll be in my thoughts today<3

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers