Chachic's Book Nook

Postcard Love: Hong Kong Edition

20 Comments

I’m back from Hong Kong! I was so excited for this trip because it’s my first out of the country trip this year and the first stamps on my shiny new passport (I got it renewed late last year). Also, it’s my first time in Hong Kong. I haven’t done a Postcard Love post in a while and I thought it would be nice to do one about my trip. Let’s start with these free ad postcards from our hostel, I included a map of Hong Kong in the picture:

Here are a bunch of touristy postcards that I bought and sent while I was there:

We went to Hong Kong Disneyland and it was a lot of fun! Wish we got to spend more than a day there because we weren’t even able to explore the whole place. I wanted to get a lot of souvenirs but they were expensive so I only ended up getting a postcard set and some of those coin press souvenirs. Also, I thought it was great that visitors could send postcards inside Disneyland – too bad they didn’t have special edition Disney stamps to match the postcards.

Hong Kong Disneyland souvenirs

Here’s a closer look at the coins:

Hong Kong Disneyland coin presses

And the Disney postcards inside the set:

Hong Kong Disneyland postcards

When I got back from the trip, I found these lovely postcards waiting for me at home:

May 24 Postcards

One from my friend when she traveled to Cambodia, one from Australia care of my good friend Nomes of Inkcrush and two from Scotland! Here are the stamps:

May 24 Postcards Stamps

Guess who sent the Scottish postcards? They’re from one of my favorite authors ever, Elizabeth Wein! I think this is the first time that I’ve received a postcard from an author. Yay, I now have her signature:

EWein postcard

Maybe I should insert these postcards in my copies of her books? :D I also dropped by a bookstore on our last day in Hong Kong but I thought I’d come up with a separate post for that. Feel free to leave a comment and let me know if you’ve received any snail mail recently.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

20 thoughts on “Postcard Love: Hong Kong Edition

  1. How cool that you got a postcard from an author! :) I really love those colorful postcards at the top–I hope you add them to your hoard and don’t send them. I always want to send you lots of postcards so they can show up on these posts:) And I LOVE those penny press machines. I used to do that at every single tourist attraction. I wonder where they all are…

    • EWein is so nice and friendly, I was surprised when she offered to send a postcard and was delighted when I received two of them. :P Don’t worry, Flann, I grabbed more than one set of those colorful postcards. Since you like them, you’ll be getting one in my next batch. No idea when that will be since I just sent off Hong Kong postcards (let me know when you get them). I LOVE the coin press machines, I wanted to get ALL OF THE DESIGNS. But that would cost too much so I chose just three that I really liked. I couldn’t find the ones that I have from our Disneyland visit in LA back in 2002. :(

  2. Love this post, as all the others :D I didn’t know you went to Hong Kong! I’ll be going too this weekend, and it’s my first out of the country trip this year as well! This entry made me remember to look for awesome postcards while I’m there! You always get such nice and cool postcards. So pretty~

    • Have fun in Hong Kong! Go check out H&M, Cotton On and Maple if you want to shop for clothes. We don’t have those stores here although Cotton On will be opening soon. Also check out the bookstores because they have UK editions that aren’t available here. If you don’t find a bookstore near your area, there are tons of Page One and Relay branches in the airport, plenty of chances for you to shop for books. :) If you’re going to Disney, go get a postcard set as well.

      • Thank you! I shall write all this down! I’ll be staying for three days in Disneyland and another two somewhere in Tsim Sha Tsui before I fly directly to Cebu. POSTCARDS GALORE YAY I’M SO EXCITED! Thanks again Chachic! :)

      • Wow, three days in Disneyland, I’m jealous! Wish we spent more than a day there. Oh you’re staying in Tsim Sha Tsui as well, that’s where we stayed. You can visit Swindon Books, that’s the bookstore that I visited. Will post a book haul update in a bit to show what I got. :P

  3. you’re about to be overwhelmed with my signature cause a stack of bookplates are on their way, too. Now I have to send you ANOTHER postcard because I have THE PERFECT CNV STAMP FOR IT… only I need to find the perfect postcard to put it on.

    My kids collect those squashed pennies everywhere they go – they are really fun!

    • BOOKPLATES YAY! Looking forward to receiving those. I hope they get here soon. :D I’m excited to stick them to all my EWein titles, even my really old copy of The Winter Prince (got it from a used bookstore in the US). Oooh I’m really curious about that CNV stamp… Hmm maybe your publisher should make CNV postcards as promo materials? :) I think they do that for other books?

      Squashed pennies, LOL love the term. Wish we had those machines here. I think I like them because I’ve only seen them abroad.

  4. Pingback: Book Haul: Hong Kong Edition | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. wow! mail from E. Wein! I just finished CODE NAME VERITY (writing review as we speak) so dang amazing.

    And I just got a postcard in the mail from YOU today! Thanks ever so much – I love getting mail :)

    • Can’t wait to see your CNV review, Michelle! Glad you think it’s amazing because I feel the same way. :D

      Yay, I think that’s from the last batch that I sent from Manila, good to know that they’ve started to arrive.

  6. I love that Elizabeth Wein sent you postcards from Scotland! That’s awesome. Glad to hear you made it home safe and had a grand time in Hong Kong!

    Also, Nomes sure has it rough living in that gorgeous place. :P

    • Isn’t EWein awesome? :D I agree about Nomes! She’s going to move to a different part of Australia but it’s still near the coast. I just got my Hong Kong rolls of film and I’m trying to decide if I should post some of the pictures here. :P

  7. Pingback: Book Haul: End of May Edition | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. hello. i’m just wondering guys if do you have any idea how long does it take a postcard will arrive in bohol philippines? i was in hongkong last week and i sent a postcard for my mom, i have no clue at all when will it arrive. i still did not share it to her coz i want to surprise her. thanks!

  9. why no reply to my comment in here?

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,337 other followers