Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Book Godmother Part 2

14 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

My godson’s birthday is coming up so it’s time for another Book Godmother post. I only have one inaanak (godchild) so far, and I’m thankful that he enjoys reading because that makes it a lot easier for me to choose birthday and Christmas gifts. Here’s a little surprise text message a few months ago:

Isn’t he adorable? I heard from his mom that he’s a fan of Dr. Seuss’ books so I’ve picked up these two to add to his growing collection:

I remember having my own collection of Dr. Seuss books while growing up, which I shared with my brother. Wonder where those books are? I think my mom is setting them aside for her future grandkids (yeah, like that’s going to happen anytime soon :P). What were some of your favorite children’s books when you were younger?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

14 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Book Godmother Part 2

  1. He is very adorable! And isn’t it amazing how quickly they pick up on how to use technology? My 3 yo daughter is better at using my nook than I am! And Dr. Seuss is a no-fail buy for any kids I think. My favorite books as a kid were Corduroy, Caps for Sale, Little Bear, and A Bargain for Frances. :)

    • I know, I’m amazed at how tech-savvy kids are nowadays. My godson even has an iPad and I don’t have one. :P It’s good that he still enjoys reading actual books though. I haven’t heard of any of those titles! I should look them up.

  2. I love his texts to you…all those spaces and periods. I can see him composing it in his head as he typed. SO SWEET. My favorite picture books as a kid were HARRY THE DIRTY DOG, THE SNOWY DAY, FERDINAND THE BULL, and BLUEBERRIES FOR SAL. What can I say? I’m old.

    • I know, I love how quirky his way of texting is. :P And so funny that he spells words according to how he pronounces them. I’m not familiar with those books! Hmm I should take note of the recommendations that I get from these comments, I could give them as future gifts. For now, I think I’ll stick with Dr. Seuss.

  3. The texts are great! Does he have his own phone? He is adorable. How fun.

    • He doesn’t have his own phone but he has his own iPad. :P One time, he asked me if he could borrow my iPhone and I told him I don’t have one.

  4. My nephew loves Dr.Seuss too. In fact, I just gave him Green Eggs and Ham last Christmas. :)

    I think I mostly read fairy tales when I was little, so my favorites would be the ladybird books of fairy tale classics. :)

    • Green Eggs and Ham is a great gift for kids! I hope my inaanak enjoys reading it. :)

      I collected Ladybird books when I was younger as well and I’ve already given several of those to my inaanak so now I’m moving on to Dr. Seuss.

  5. Is he still too young for The Little Prince? Your brother loves that book. One of my all-time favorites too!

    • He’s a little too young for The Little Prince, he’s turning six next week. :) I gave him Matilda last Christmas and he didn’t like it because it doesn’t have enough colored pictures.

  6. Yay! I love that you get to be a Book Godmother. I’m totally that aunt that only ever wants to buy my nieces and nephews books. Dr. Seuss is one of the best options out there imho! My cat is named Wocket after There’s a Wocket in My Pocket. :P

    I also really loved If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, and Brown Bear, Brown Bear.

    • Heidi, have you seen Kate Coombs’ blog? It’s called Book Aunt. :P I should have named mine Book Godmother but I don’t think it would be a good fit since I only have one godson. Oooh, I need to find out if he already has There’s a Wocket in My Pocket.

  7. I used to love my dad reading Roald Dahls Revolting Rythms and Dirty Beasts to me every single night. I still love them.

    • Aww that’s a great memory. I don’t think I read those books? I wonder why I missed those because I loved reading Roald Dahl when I was younger.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,244 other followers