Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: Guys, Girls and Postcards

12 Comments

Remember my post about Mina V. Esguerra’s latest book? I won a copy of it! Got the package from Mina last Friday:

Mina V. Esguerra's books

That Kind of Guy by Mina V. Esguerra
Lucas ♥ shirt (Lucas is the swoon-worthy main character in Fairy Tale Fail)

signed copy of That Kind of Guy

Thank you so much for this, Mina! I already finished reading That Kind of Guy this weekend and I hope to review it soon. I had lunch and dinner with friends in Fort last Saturday so I was able to squeeze in a visit to Fully Booked’s branch there:

Fully Booked bookstore purchases

I used the last of the gift certificates (GCs) that I received for my birthday and I’m kind of sad that I don’t have bookstore GCs anymore but yay, new books:

Fully Booked purchases

Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairly in a Ship of Her Own Making by Cat Valente
Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines
Will Barnet book of postcards

All three of these books were the last pieces left so I felt like I was meant to get them! I’m sure I’m not the only one who rationalizes book purchases that way. I’ve been wanting a copy of Girl in the Arena for a while now so I decided to grab it while it’s still available. I’ve also heard good things about Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland and I love that it has chapter illustrations:

Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland illustration

So I’m not even familiar with Will Barnet’s work but I decided to buy the postcard book because I went through the artwork and I liked what I saw. It contains 30 postcards but I don’t think I’ll be sending them out anytime soon.

Will Barnet postcards

It was a pretty good weekend, book-wise. Also went out for dinner last night with the family – our Mother’s Day treat for my mom. Belated Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there! :) How was your weekend? Were you able to buy any books?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

12 thoughts on “Book Haul: Guys, Girls and Postcards

  1. Hooray for winning a book and tee, that is awesome!

  2. Cute shirt! Lucky girl. Can’t wait to hear what you think of the new book.

  3. Ohh, it’s so awesome to get a personalized book from an author you care so much about. I’m happy for you, Chachic.

    About The Scorpio Races, you can get a signed copy from the Fountain bookstore, which is where I preordered The Raven Boys, but the shipping charges are sky high.

    • Maja, yes, love that I have signed copies of Mina’s books! It’s just sad because I can’t find my copy of one of her books and I can’t remember if someone borrowed it.

      Thanks for the heads up! As much as I’d love a signed copy, I’m not sure if I’m willing to shell out the money for expensive shipping costs though. :(

  4. Oh, Chachic. I am looking forward to your thoughts on GIRL IN THE ARENA. Such an underrated book, IMO.

    • Angie, you know I bought a copy of Girl in the Arena because of your recommendation, right? :P Will definitely let you know what I think of it.

  5. Girl in the Arena has always been a book that I’ve been interested in, but I’ve never taken the time to read it. I look forward to your thoughts!

    • I’ve been really curious about it and was pleasantly surprised when I saw that a copy was available. I’ll try to bump it up the TBR pile!

  6. Sounds like a fantastic weekend, Chachic! My Mina V. Esguerra is on my list of books I own and need to read before I let myself go back to the library. I hope you love Girl Who Circumnavigated! The illustrations are amazing, and I am getting so excited for the sequel (she also sold three other installments of the series already!). I haven’t even heard of Girl in the Arena, but I’m certainly intrigued. Looking forward to your thoughts when you get to it!

    • Heidi, I really hope you enjoy reading Mina’s book! So funny that you have a list of books that you need to read before you go back to the library. Oh I didn’t know that there will be several novels in Cat Valente’s series! I’ve seen the cover of the sequel pop up around the blogosphere and it looks just as pretty as the first book. Looking forward to reading it because I’ve heard good things about it. :)

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers