Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: In Honor by Jessi Kirby

10 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I really want to read Jessi Kirby’s In Honor. I’ve been looking for it in local bookstores but they don’t have stocks of it here. I should have been more aware of its release date so I could have pre-ordered it from the Book Depository. I haven’t even read Moonglass but I’m really curious about this one. I think it’s because the premise gives off a Saving June plus Something Like Normal vibe and I loved reading those two contemporary YA novels. Also check out this review by Maggie of Young Adult Anonymous – I’ve never even seen a single episode of Friday Night Lights but she managed to convince me that I’d enjoy reading In Honor.

Here’s the summary from Jessi Kirby’s website:

Honor receives her brother’s last letter from Iraq thee days after learning that he died, and opens it the day his fellow Marines lay the flag over his casket. Its contents are a complete shock: concert tickets to see Kyra Kelly, her favorite pop star and Finn’s celebrity crush. In his letter, he jokingly charged Honor with the task of telling Kyra Kelly that he was in love with her.

Grief-stricken and determined to grant Finn’s last request, she rushes to leave immediately. But she only gets as far as the driveway before running into Rusty, Finn’s best friend since third grade and his polar opposite. She hasn’t seen him in ages, thanks to a falling out between the two guys, but Rusty is much the same as Honor remembers him: arrogant, stubborn… and ruggedly good-looking. Neither one is what the other would ever look for in a road trip partner, but the two of them set off together, on a voyage that makes sense only because it doesn’t. Along the way, they find small and sometimes surprising ways to ease their shared loss and honor Finn – but when shocking truths are revealed at the end of the road, will either of them be able to cope with the consequences?

Isn’t that cover pretty? Love the blue polka dot dress. What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

Want Books roundup:
Tin of Rabbitin – PostSecret Books by Frank Warren

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “Want Books: In Honor by Jessi Kirby

  1. I’m a fan of Friday Night Lights. (although I wish I could be able to catch it on tv more often) So, I think this could be something I might like. :)

    I also have a want book post up. http://rabbitin.blogspot.com/2012/05/want-books-postsecret-books-by-frank.html

    • How many seasons are there in Friday Night Lights? Maybe I should check it out. But I’m behind on the TV shows that I follow as it is. :P I included your Want Books post in the roundup, thanks for making one.

  2. I really want this one too, C. It’s always the pits to want a book that you can’t get your paws on easily. I didn’t ever put two and two together that this book was written by the same person as Moonglass. The two books I want that I can’t currently get are Love-Shy by Lili Wilkinson and Holier Than Thou by Laura Buzo:) Darn Australians!

    • Flann, I think it sucks when I can’t get a book that I want. If there had been a copy of In Honor in the bookstore that I visited last Saturday, I would have bought it. I really want to read the two Aussie titles that you mentioned as well. Sigh, still haven’t given Fishpond a try.

  3. I do like the sound of this book, It’s on y list too!
    I hope you can read it soon ;)

  4. I want this one, too, Chachic :)

    I think the covers gorgeous as well, plus I am sucker for contemporary YA that sounds like a strong romance storyline

    I *just* got Moonglass in the mail the other day ~ waited a whole year for the paperback. I think I’ll be doing the same with this one. Taking it easy with my hard cover splurges :)

    I’ve missed actually coming to your blog. nice to be back

    xxx

    • Nomes, yep that’s why I’m interested in this one as well. :P Maybe I’ll do the same and just wait for the paperback to be released – I still have several books in my TBR pile after all. I’ve been trying to hold off on the hardcover purchases as well.

      Aww thanks! Love that you have updates on your blog as well. :)

  5. I really, really want In Honor too, Chachic!!

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,389 other followers