Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Garden Spells and Nail Polish

12 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

This is another Shoot That Book nail polish post because I was bored while waiting to meet up with friends for dinner last Friday so I decided to have my nails done. I wanted a color that’s bright and happy so it would be perfect for summer. I chose this frosted light green polish and was delighted when I found out that it matches the cover for one of my favorite books: Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen:

I think Sarah Addison Allen’s books are comfort reads and I love going through them. Garden Spells is my favorite, which is funny because I have a used paperback copy of it while I have hardcovers for the rest of her books. Hopefully, I can find a hardcover edition to match the rest. I think the Garden Spells cover is lovely, especially with the gold trim near the title:

I promise this will be the last nail polish post for a while! I need to think of more creative Shoot That Book pictures to show you guys. In the meantime, feel free to let me know what’s your favorite Sarah Addison Allen title and if you have any recommendations similar to her writing.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

12 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Garden Spells and Nail Polish

  1. I’m perfectly happy to keep admiring the nail polish/ book cover combos!

    • Charlotte, thanks for being a loyal supporter of my nail polish posts! I try to put up discussion posts before posting nail polish pictures to balance the silliness. :P

  2. Very pretty, Chachic! I’m painting my nails this morning too but unfortunately they don’t match the book I’m reading!

    • Oh I’m not reading Garden Spells. Whenever I have a new nail polish on, I try to look for a book cover to match it and then I take pictures. :)

  3. What a great nail color! It’s totally metallic:) You’re right that it totally coordinates with the color of the Garden Spells cover. I know I tell you every time you do it, but I love this feature.

    • It really is bright and sparkly! I don’t usually go for colors like this but it’s perfect for the summer. LOL I like hearing about how you like this feature, at least I know people enjoy looking at the posts. Flann, have you read Sarah Addison Allen’s books?

  4. I’m also looking for books similar to SAA’s style!

    Love the polish — is that what I’ll be seeing on Wednesday? :P

    • Chris, it’s starting to chip around the edges and I was thinking of removing it but I’ll keep it until Wednesday. :P Really looking forward to meeting up with you!

  5. Don’t stop shooting nails! I love the polish photos. Unless you want to do a feature called “Polish for Capillya” or something. ;) I love the gold detailing on the book cover, too. Haven’t read any of Allen’s work before…

    • “Polish for Capillya” is a great name for these posts! :P I’ll keep that in mind the next time I do another one. Well, if you ever decide to read a Sarah Addison Allen, I hope you start with Garden Spells because that’s my favorite.

  6. I am very curious to read that book, my friend just read “The girl who chased the moon” and told me it was amazing! So, I am planning to get it soon :) It’s funny that I like the paperback cover best, not the Garden Spells because seems like it’s the same. But The Girl Who Chased the Moon and The Sugar Queen, which is kinda sad because I prefer hardcover books. So, I am still thinking which one should I get.
    Love your blog btw :)

    • Good to know that you and your friend are enjoying Sarah Addison Allen’s books! I think that she’s been lucky in the cover department because all of them are pretty in their own way.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,387 other followers