Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Reading in Coffee Shops

15 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

I’ve read in coffee shops plenty of times. It’s usually where I hang out while waiting to meet up with friends for lunch or dinner because I only need to order a drink or a snack and I could stay for hours. But now that we’re in the middle of summer, I choose to go to coffee shops to take advantage of the free wi-fi and air conditioning. I mentioned in my previous Shoot That Book post that the temp here can get as high as 35 degrees (95 in Fahrenheit) – and it’s a humid kind of heat, feels very sticky. So here’s a snapshot of the books that I brought with me in Starbucks yesterday:

Joanna Bourne’s The Black Hawk, which I mentioned in yesterday’s post and Meg Burden’s Northlander. My friend Michelle of See Michelle Read and I are going to do a readalong for Northlander and we’re both pretty excited for it. Included in the picture is my Venti Basic Black iced tea (all gone) and a cup of water. Also, check out the bookmark that I’m using because I think it’s perfect for the weather that we’re having:

Pretty cute ice cream bookmark, huh? So do you read in coffee shops and do you have a favorite place? While we’re at it, I’d like to know what your usual drink is. I don’t have a usual because I like mixing things up so I won’t get bored. In Starbucks, it can be an iced tea, a caramel macchiato, soy green tea latte or a dark mocha frappucino. In Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf, it’s usually a Southern Blend iced tea (I’m a fan of iced tea when it’s brewed and not made from a powder mix) or a Chai or Tropical Passion tea latte.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

15 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Reading in Coffee Shops

  1. So much love for Northlander. Wonderful traditional fantasy. Sometimes you just need to go back to the basics. I would have loved this book as a youngin’ back when all I read was fantasy.

    • Laura, I saw your Northlander review on Goodreads. I’m only two chapters in but I have a feeling I’ll really enjoy reading this – good thing I also ordered the sequel. I need to remind myself that I need to pace my reading so I can discuss it with Michelle. I’m kind of worried I’ll finish it in one go.

  2. I normally don’t read in public spaces where there are a lot of people. There are way too many distractions for me, and I like to read when it’s quiet – no music or TV going on in the background.

    I don’t drink a ton of caffeine, but when I do it’s a chai latte for me! So I’d definitely order that at a coffee shop. Or just a black tea with creme and sugar. Sometimes during the winter I’ll get a salted caramel mocha from Starbucks as a treat!

    And YES, that is a super cute bookmark! =)

    • I don’t know why but I don’t mind working or reading in coffee shops as long as the place isn’t too noisy. But I don’t listen to music while reading because I can’t concentrate when I do that.

      I love chai lattes but I like Coffee Bean’s more than Starbucks’ because it has more flavor. I don’t put cream or sugar in my tea though, I take that plain. Although milk tea is a huge thing in Manila right now – milk tea places are different from coffee shops though. Salted caramel mocha sounds delicious, wish we had that here! Christmas drinks in Starbucks last year were toffee nut, peppermint mocha and white cranberry mocha.

      • I wish we had milk tea places here. They have bubble tea places but I’m like…meh.

        I went to a Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf when I was in San Francisco a few years ago, don’t remember what I had but it was yummy!

      • Bubble tea places have milk tea too, right? There are bubble tea places here and I believe they usually serve iced tea and milk tea.

        Aww too bad you don’t have Coffee Bean branches where you live! I love Coffee Bean, I think they have better drinks than Starbucks.

  3. Yay for read-a-longs! So happy to hear you’ve started (I am a slacker and did not get started last night) But I am so excited!! I’ll let you know when I get going :)

    And yes, I love to read in bookstores, libraries, cafes, etc. Just don’t get to do it much anymore with the kidlets following me around all day!

    • Michelle, glad you’ve also started Northlander – it feels promising so far. I really hope you both enjoy reading it. Even if we don’t end up liking the book, doing a readalong is always fun. :P

      Wish we had more bookstores here that encouraged readers to stay by making comfy chairs available. I wonder if your boys like going to bookstores and libraries? :) My friend tells me that my godson calls bookstores here “libraries” and always wants to buy something whenever they go inside.

  4. I usually carry a book with me so I can read during those downtimes while waiting for my number to be called at the bank or waiting for a friend at a cafe. I’ve got so many photos of my books at cafes! :D

  5. You know… I covet that ice-cream bookmark! It’s lovely!
    and I usually carry my books everywhere, :) read anywhere I can and that often means Starbucks while waiting for my sister – we have worked a system, particularly when my Cousin visits, that I sit at Starbucks or the food court while they shop ’cause I don’t enjoy going from store to store, trying on 50 different things and buying none. So I wait and read.

    Usually my drinks of choice are: Coke (lots of ice, small chips of ice is the best), orange juice if it’s early. At Starbucks it’s usually a Latte if it’s cold, and a raspberry-red currant (gooseberry) frapp (though I think they only sell that here in my country, haven’t seen it in the US when I visit).

    • That ice cream bookmark is just a lucky find, I got it really cheap from a stall in a mall. Aww you don’t like shopping? I enjoy looking around clothing stores and trying on pretty clothes but I have to be in the mood for it. I usually do that when stores are on sale so I can get bargain items. It’s a bit frustrating when you try on so many clothes and you don’t end up getting anything but I guess that’s better than spending money on something you don’t really want.

      I’m not a fan of coke but I do like rootbeer. Yep, I get iced caramel macchiato (which is kind of like a caramel latte anyway) when it’s hot. Oooh we don’t have the gooseberry frapp here – I think Starbucks frapps differ from one country to another (kind of like McDonald’s menus).

  6. That’s a cute bookmark! I almost never go into coffe shops. The one that’s convenient for me is always way too crowded. I usually do most of my reading at home, or if I’m in an office waiting.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,342 other followers