Chachic's Book Nook

Historical Romance Recommendation: Joanna Bourne

18 Comments

Historical romance, say what? Regular readers of this blog are probably wondering why I’ve decided to feature a historical romance author when I barely read books from that genre. Most of the romance that I read are contemporary novels but when certain books come highly recommended by those I trust, I’m willing to give them a chance. I remember hearing about Joanna Bourne through Sounis, the LiveJournal community for fans of Megan Whalen Turner’s books. That was before I started this little bloggy. I can’t even remember who first mentioned The Spymaster’s Lady but I do recall that it was said that it’s a good read if one can stomach the naked manly chest on the cover. When I saw a copy in a local bookstore, I decided to give it a try. I’m so glad I did! I enjoyed The Spymaster’s Lady enough to read the rest of Joanna Bourne’s novels when they came out. I like her novels because of all the spying, clever plot twists and witty dialogue. Oh and all the tension leading up to the sexytimes. Joanna Bourne made me realize that spying is pretty similar to thieving and you all know how fond I am of thieves in fiction. If this sounds like your cup of tea, then go ahead and pick up her novels and feel free to let me know what you think of them.

Joanna Bourne's novels

Joanna Bourne's other novels: My Lord and Spymaster, The Forbidden Rose, The Black Hawk

I always think it’s a good thing when an author surprises you with how unexpectedly good his or her writing is. More so when the novel is from a genre you normally wouldn’t read. It’s good to step away from your comfort zone from time to time, right? I’m in the middle of The Black Hawk, Joanna Bourne’s latest, which reminded me of how much I enjoy reading her novels so I decided to talk about them here. Have you ever given an unfamiliar genre a try? What was your experience like?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “Historical Romance Recommendation: Joanna Bourne

  1. My comment was eaten! But what I said was: I am a shameless romance book junkie. I no longer try to hide it. I love the naughty bits.

    And I had to wait until BOOK FOUR for NAUGHTY BITS with the BEAST LORD. Why didn’t you tell me!? You and Angie TORTURED ME SO.

    It was good though- I read it twice :)

    • Boo WordPress for eating your comment! LOL I am aware that you’re a fan of the romance genre – I’ve seen the reviews on your blog. Like I said, I mostly read contemporary romance but maybe I should try other subgenres.

      Sorry! There were some naughty bits in book three, remember the hot tub scene? And there’s a Curran POV of that scene. I’m pretty sure you’ll love reading the scenes from Curran’s point of view. :D

  2. I’ve been very slowly and warily trying some romance (Jennifer Crusie, mostly, because she makes me giggle) but haven’t had good luck with historicals. I tend to get too caught up in “This NEVER would have happened!”

  3. I am totally doing a major disservice to this blog post by saying, “I’m sorry I’m sure there are other words here but I can’t get past that man-chest-y cover.”

  4. To be honest, I don’t think I could get beyond the cover. My Mom and sister joked on me about one of the Miles Vorkosigan books because its cover almost had a cheesy romance vibe (it was Cordelia’s Honor; idk, I guess it was Aral in the background all sussed up in ruffles?) I thought I’d never live it down, and it wasn’t even romance. XD

    • But the Miles Vorkosigan covers aren’t even very romance-y! They just don’t look good. :P You can always start reading romance novels on an e-reader if you have one. That’s what I’d do if I want to avoid getting teased by friends and family about reading romances.

  5. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Reading in Coffee Shops | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Want Books: Butterfly Swords | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,383 other followers