Chachic's Book Nook

#Bloggiesta: Getting Excited About Reading and Blogging

19 Comments

Bloggiesta has inspired me to write a post about how book bloggers always have to balance reading with blogging. I’ve said this before and I’ll probably end up saying it over and over again: my blog is my happy place. This is the place where I can talk about something that I’m passionate about – reading books. That’s a pretty big thing for me because there aren’t a lot of people in my life interested in hearing me go on and on about the books I read. So yes, I love my blog. But there are also times when I just feel like I want to read without having to worry about writing a review. There are times when I get tired of blogging and feel like my enthusiasm has gone. Since the blog is my happy place, I don’t want to feel this way – I don’t want to feel pressured to read, review and write posts. If I really think about it, there’s really no need to feel pressure anyway. Living here in the Philippines means I don’t get a ton of review copies (aside from galleys requested from sites like NetGalley). Even if I do have galleys lined up, I’m not exactly required to read and review them. So it seems like the pressure is coming from me. And the blog isn’t going anywhere, it will still be here even if I don’t post as much as I used to. Conclusion? There’s really no need to pressure myself – I have no idea why I even do it.

To keep reading fun, I make a point of choosing books that I feel like reading. Each time I’m about to start a new book, I think and consider whether I’m in the right mood for it because I don’t want to experience a reading slump. I also don’t post reviews for all of the books that I read because I don’t want to force myself when I can’t think of anything to say. I also participate in readalongs with blog friends because it’s always interesting to have more in-depth discussions. To keep blogging fun, I do my best to come up with posts that get me excited. Such as features that I’ve created focused on my other interests but still related reading and blogging: Postcard Love (because I love sending and receiving postcards and I’ve discovered that other book bloggers feel the same way) and Shoot That Book (because I enjoy looking at book pictures, why not take photos and post them?).

Another thing that I love to do? Talk about favorite authors, celebrate their books and promote their work. I tend to get enthusiastic when it comes to authors I love. Two blog events that I’ve organized this year so far: Queen’s Thief Week to celebrate Megan Whalen Turner’s books and Marchetta Madness to highlight Melina Marchetta’s novels. No, I’m not just promoting these events. :P My point is these blog events have made me excited to blog again. I was nervous when I sent out invites for guest posts and I was thrilled when people said yes! I couldn’t wait to check my mail because I was looking forward to reading what other readers had to say about my favorite authors. If I could do events like these for ALL of my favorite authors, I would. A week featuring Robin McKinley? Sherwood Smith? Elizabeth Wein? Ilona Andrews? Kristin Cashore? Laini Taylor? Give me enough free time and people willing to do guest posts and I’ll do it. :)

What are some of the things that you do to keep reading and blogging fun? Would love to hear your thoughts (even if you’re not participating in Bloggiesta).

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

19 thoughts on “#Bloggiesta: Getting Excited About Reading and Blogging

  1. I love this post. You have great ideas! Pictures are always great–covers and postcards. Awesome. And I think the author events are fantastic ideas. Keep up the great work :)

  2. Good stuff here! I have to think about this. I’ve currently got a huge pile of books waiting that I want to review. But why review them? You’re right that the person giving the pressure is me, not anyone else. When I started writing book reviews, I was working half-time. Now I’m working full-time. Then, I could review everything I read. Now I really should be a bit more choosy. I will have to think about this. Thanks!

    • Sondy, there’s really no need to pressure ourselves to read books that we don’t feel like reading or review books when we don’t have much to say about them. It’s hard to find a balance between reading and blogging but I think most of us worry about this kind of thing most of the time. Just find a pace you’re comfortable with and stick with it. :)

  3. I definitely struggle with how to do interesting things with my blog that aren’t just rip-offs or bland echoes of someone else. Still trying to work through that one. But I do love your author events!

  4. I have to be in the right mood for books as well! It’s hard sometimes especially with needed to read things to review

    • I try to be picky in requesting galleys so there’d be less pressure. It’s hard to resist requesting titles that look interesting though, even if I’m not sure when I can get to read them.

  5. Great ideas… makes me want to think of a fun new thing to do on my blog!

  6. Pingback: Sonderbooks » Blog Archive » Bloggiesta!

  7. I love this post, Chachic! You have such a good outlook on blogging, and as a relatively new blogger I really appreciate the sentiments. I started blogging because I wanted to be part of a community, and to promote reading and books. I wanted to talk to people who had the same interests I do, because as you said, that’s not always possible through people you know in real life. Honestly, I’ve already started to step back, and STOP requesting galleys from NetGally unless they’re books I know I really want to read. Not just books I’ve heard of and think I might like to read. I want to be able to read the books I want, when I want, and not feel like I have obligations hanging over my head. I love that you do this! Also I LOVE the theme weeks you’ve done this year. They’ve gotten me really excited to dig into authors and series that have just been languishing in my TBR pile. I would totally love to read anything of the sort you do in the future! Okay I’ll shhh now…(sorry I get excited and ramble).

    • Heidi, I started blogging for the same reasons – to become part of the community and to encourage others to read the books that I like. Me too, I only request books that I really want to read on NetGalley and I try to get to them as soon as I can but it doesn’t always happen.

      I love that I’ve convinced you to read books written by Megan Whalen Turner and Melina Marchetta. :) Looks like my theme weeks have been effective! Haha it’s okay that you get excited, I get like that as well when talking about something I love. We’ll see if I have the energy to plan more theme weeks this year.

  8. How is the Bloggiesta going?

  9. I think you do a good job showing your enthusiasm. Like, I love coming to your blog because I know there will be passion. There will be new interesting books to catch my eye. And because a few of my favorite authors will be featured.

    • Aww April, thank you for the kind words! I love your blog too because I can see how passionate you are about both blogging and reading. Also because I think we have similar tastes in books. :)

  10. Pingback: Sonderbooks » Blog Archive » Bloggiesta Sum-Up

  11. Pingback: #Bloggiesta Finish Line | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,389 other followers