Chachic's Book Nook

Marchetta Madness: Random Facts

24 Comments

While doing research for Marchetta Madness (also known as Googling), I came across some pieces of information that I thought fellow Marchetta fans would like to know. I’ve compiled all of them in this post.
_______________________________________________

The Italian Che and Chi is a K sound so Melina Marchetta’s surname is pronounced Marketta. (This is something that I asked the author herself to clarify – I’ve been pronouncing her name wrong all along!)
_______________________________________________

Did you know that Australian edition The Piper’s Son beautiful cover design has something in common with Australian singer-songwriter Pete Murray’s album Feeler?

Australian cover for The Piper's Son

I think it’s fitting for Tom to share a cover design with another musician. :P
_______________________________________________

I want to share this one because my current favorite song is Samson, which I discovered while organizing Marchetta Madness. From Penguin Australia’s Q And A With Melina Marchetta:

The soundtrack to accompany The Piper’s Son would include…
Solsbury Hill by Peter Gabriel, How to Make Gravy by Paul Kelly, Samson by Regina Spektor, Your Ex-Lover is Dead by Stars, Smokers Outside the Hospital Door by Editors, Crazy Train by The Waifs, Union City Blues by Blondie, Like a Rolling Stone by Bob Dylan, The Blower’s Daughter by Damien Rice and This Year’s Love by David Gray.
_______________________________________________

The cover for the Australian edition of Froi of the Exiles is based on a self-portrait taken by photographer Zack Ahern. You can learn more about the process through an interview that Jo of Wear the Old Coat posted a few months ago.


______________________________________________

Couldn’t resist sharing this because it’s about Jonah Griggs. From an interview over at watchYAreading:

Can you tell us something about Jonah Griggs no one else (or at least, not too many people) knows?
Okay, firstly it will be a chore and a half to cast him. The actor will have to be between 18-21 and for me, he is a very very young Russell Crowe. Secondly, in The Piper’s Son, Ben the violinist (from OTJR) lives in Waterloo so I think he’s living with Jonah who tells Taylor in OTJR that he lives in Waterloo. Thirdly, Jonah’s had a few different names in the history of this novel. The first being Jasper (my dog) and then Sebastian Griggs. Fourthly, he appears in The Gorgon in the Gully which is about his little brother, Danny. Finally, he is similar to a hawke and a wolf and Will Trombal – He mates for life.

_______________________________________________

Did you know that The Gorgon in the Gully is a children’s book about Jonah Griggs’ little brother Danny? I wasn’t able to write a review for this week but trust me, it’s a charming little novel with snippets that include a certain swoon-worthy Cadet, even though he’s out in the bush.

Here’s the summary from Melina Marchetta’s website:

Beyond the basketball courts and classrooms of St. Raph’s is a gully where things disappear forever. Danny Griggs has heard stories about a Gorgon that lies down there. So why does Danny volunteer to face the Gorgon when he’s been petrified of everything all his life?

______________________________________________

Have you all seen this mini-documentary made by Penguin about Melina Marchetta?


_______________________________________________

Interviews with Melina Marchetta all over the blogosphere:
March 16, 2012 – watchYAreading
December 13, 2011 – Lorraine Marwood
December 7, 2011 – because writing is my vice
Noevmber 25, 2011 – Books from Bleh to Basically Amazing
March 15, 2011 – The Happy Nappy Bookseller
March 8, 2011 – I Read Banned Books
March 7, 2011 – YA bibliophile
March 5, 2011 – Zoe’s Book Reviews
March 3, 2011 – books4yourkids, Not Enough Bookshelves
January 11, 2011 – post-teen trauma
June 23, 2010 – The Story Siren
March 9, 2010 – YA reads
March 2, 2010 – Persnickety Snark
October 11, 2009 – YA Highway
May 17, 2009 – Literary Life
May 30, 2008 – Chicklish

_______________________________________________

List of Marchetta Madness posts:
Discussion post about what was your first Marchetta
Elizabeth Fama, “Melina Marchetta, From the Perspective of a New Fan”
Jo of Wear the Old Coat, “An Ode to Marchetta’s Men”
Trish Doller shares how Jonah Griggs inspired her own characters
Brandy of Random Musings of a Bibliophile, “How Saving Francesca Often Saves My Day”
Flannery of The Readventurer tells us why she loves The Piper’s Son
Megan Whalen Turner shares her favorite aspect of Melina Marchetta’s novels
Nomes of Inkcrush discusses both the book and movie for Looking for Alibrandi
Lisa and Maja of The Nocturnal library talk about Finnikin of the Rock and Froi of the Exiles
Joy of 132 Minutes, “Evanjalin of the Monts”
Alexa of 132 Minutes, “Before I Read a Melina Marchetta Novel”
Kirsty Eagar made a video of her chatting with Melina Marchetta
Melina Marchetta, “The sequel, the companion novel, the audience and me.”

Marchetta Madness posts in other blogs:
Alex of A Girl, Books and Other Things, Favorite Secondary Characters
Alex of A Girl, Books and Other Things, “At the Movies: Looking for Alibrandi”
Aaron of Guy Gone Geek, “The Duality of a Narrative”
Alex of A Girl, Books and Other Things, “A Romantic Spotlight”
Lissa of The Real Book Critique, “Magic Writing by Melina Marchetta”

_______________________________________________

And that wraps up the amazing week that Marchetta Madness has been. Thank you to everyone who participated! Maraming salamat. :) Do you have other bits of Marchetta goodness that you’d like to share? Feel free to leave a comment.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

24 thoughts on “Marchetta Madness: Random Facts

  1. These random facts and the link wrap-up is very cool. Chachic – I’m super impressed by your Marchetta Madness week. You did an amazing job!

    • Aww Janice, thanks! I knew I had to put together a post with all of these links because it would be nice if the rest of you knew about it. Looking forward to you reading more of Marchetta’s books. :)

  2. I just realized I went a little nuts writing all those posts! :P
    I think I had something Marchetta themed all week. LOL

    Anyway, thanks for putting this together, it was awesome.

  3. Wow, look at you collecting all of this wonderful information in one place. This post looks like it was a lot of work:) I definitely appreciate it. Way to go on your entire week, Chachic–I think it was a total success!

    • Flann, thanks again for your guest post! And all your comments during Marchetta Madness. I had a lot of fun putting everything together and it’s always nice to hear fellow readers rave about one of my favorite authors. :P

  4. Thanks so much for this! Reading about how much other people love Marchetta’s work is almost as good as reading a new Marchetta book. How long do we have to wait for Quintana?

    • Exactly! It’s nice to know how much people love her books, right? Thanks again for spreading the word about the event on your blog. :D If you’re planning to read the Aussie Quintana, its release is only a couple of months away.

  5. Pingback: Marchetta Madness at Chachic’s Book Nook « A Chair, A Fireplace & A Tea Cozy

  6. Great week Chachic, you did an awesome job! I mean, if even Melina came to comment…

    Lisa O. @ The Nocturnal Library

  7. This has been amazing Chachic! I’ve enjoyed every single post. Thank you so much for putting this all together :)

    • Amy, I’m glad you’ve enjoyed reading all of the posts. Receiving one of the guest posts in my email felt just as fun as getting a book in the mail. :P

  8. Hi Chachic, I’ve been silent during the week but must say I have enjoyed it. You’ve done an amazing job. Melina Marchetta is such an extraordinary writer, and it’s been interesting to see everyone’s connection with her writing. I really think she needs to write an adult novel, because in all her books it’s the adult relationships that really stand out for me, particularly in Piper’s Son.

    • mo, nice of you to stop by and comment on this post. Oh hey, you do have a point there – it would be nice to see her write an adult novel. I loved that MWT chose to focus on the parents in her guest post because MM does have excellent adult characters in her books.

  9. This was absolutely fantastic, Chachic. I love the documentary about MM. It’s wonderful to see her outside of the literary goddess box that I’ve had her in for most of my book-loving life. She’s so down to earth.

    Thanks again for doing Marchetta Madness!

    • Joy, thanks again for the guest posts from you and Alexa! Loved that documentary as well. Not sure if Marchetta fans have seen it so I thought it would be a good idea to post it here.

  10. Wow, so many great posts to read! I better catch up. :)

  11. I’ve always thought the cover of The Piper’s Son was just like the cover of Feeler, it’s one of my fave Aussie albums!

  12. Take a bow, Chachic. You did an AMAZING job. I loved every part of Marchetta Madness. :)

  13. Pingback: Book Haul: Bitterblue, Borrowed Books and Snail Mail | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers