Chachic's Book Nook

Marchetta Madness: Guest Post from Kirsty Eagar

17 Comments

Kirsty Eagar is the author of Raw Blue, Saltwater Vampires and the upcoming Night Beach. I’ve only read Raw Blue but it has cemented my belief that there’s probably something in the water in Australia that makes authors write such excellent novels. Kirsty is not just a brilliant author, she’s also super nice. She made a video for Marchetta Madness! How cool is that? No one has ever recorded a video for my blog before. Go ahead and watch it and be amazed by the Aussie awesomeness.


_______________________________________________

Kirsty Eagar

Hello! When Chachic invited me to take part in Marchetta Madness I thought I’d do a post on the Lumatere chronicles (which were my introduction to Melina’s work). But then I remembered I was due to meet Melina for a coffee in Surry Hills (an inner-city suburb of Sydney), and I figured you guys would much prefer the chance to hang out with her. We tried to keep things literate and writerly, but as you’ll see it quickly degenerated into a discussion about toenail polish. Enjoy!


_______________________________________________

I have curly hair and I have several red tops (although I don’t have a George Orwell shirt)! Can I please join you? :) Thank you so much for this video, Kirsty. I can’t seem to stop watching it. I’ve noticed the friendly dog outside the cafe, the rack of postcards near the door, the graffiti around the streets and now have an urge to paint my toenails a pretty color.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

17 thoughts on “Marchetta Madness: Guest Post from Kirsty Eagar

  1. Word cannot express how much I adore this video! I love BOTH of these ladies so much.
    Lovelovelove.
    :-D

    [FYI: My toenails are purple at the moment]

  2. Love it! And the incidental music too :)

  3. Such a cute video. And it fits in nicely with the discussion Megan Whalen Turner and Elizabeth Wein had during The Queen’s Thief Week about the degree of “visibility” each author chooses for his/her public persona. There are just teases of Melina in this!

    • I remember that discussion and yes, I agree, we only see glimpses of Melina in this video but I think it’s enough for fans like us. :) I’m just thankful she was willing to share some thoughts for Marchetta Madness (and also really grateful to Kirsty Eagar for coming up with this brilliant idea).

  4. Love the video!!
    And may I point out I have curly hair too? LOL
    Well… like bushy is more like.
    And I used to have a jean-backpack just like that. :)

    This was so much fun to see and while my toe-nails are colorless at the moment, my hand-nails are Ireland Green in honor of St. Paddy’s. Still because, hey, what else is there to celebrate in the middle of March?

    Anyway, I did a Romance Spotlightt for my post of today. It’s all about those swoony moments in Melina’s books. :D

    • Alex, I only have curly hair because I had it permed so mine’s not natural. I just want to join the video. :P

      Hmm maybe I really should pain my toenails a cute color? I haven’t worn nail polish in a while (if the Hunger Games colors were available over here, I’d totally get those).

  5. Oh, I absolutely adore the video :)

    My nails are painted a bright coral right now, to honor the warm, blissful weather where I live (Toronto, surprisingly.)

    I was just reminded that I must read Raw Blue very, very soon. I’ve been hearing such good things about it! Sooo excited :)

    • Leanne, we always have warm weather over here in the Philippines, just in case you want to visit. :P

      Oh yes, please read Raw Blue as soon as you can because it’s a lovely older YA novel. I can’t wait to read Night Beach, just need to find a way to get it.

  6. Two great Aussie authors in one video, thanks for sharing this! And I’m always comparing and checking out what nail polish people are wearing <3

    • Thanks for checking it out! Yep, me too. I like checking out other people’s nail polish and I like matching up the ones that I have on with some of my book covers. :P

  7. This video makes me so happy. Kirsty and Melina! Chachic, you weren’t kidding when you said you had surprises in store. Love this so much!

    • Maggie, love this video too! I even played it several times before I replied to Kirsty to tell her thanks for coming up with such a brilliant post. :P

  8. oh! i loved the video! so arty and funky

    and that is so trippy about you guys living in the same street! LOVE IT

    x Nomes

  9. Pingback: Marchetta Madness: Random Facts | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,339 other followers