Chachic's Book Nook

Marchetta Madness: Guest Post from Joy of 132 Minutes

9 Comments

Joy is one of the ladies behind 132 Minutes, a blog dedicated to Melina Marchetta fans. If you’re a true Marchetta fan, you’d get the name of the blog. :P Go check it out and follow them on Twitter. They’re currently having an awesome giveaway of six Melina Marchetta novels. Today is all about Marchetta’s fantasy novels as Joy talks about Evanjalin from Finnikin of the Rock. Heads up, this post contains spoilers so avert your eyes if you haven’t read the book yet (go grab a copy and read that instead).

_______________________________________________
Evanjalin of the Monts

“Do not underestimate this girl,” the priest-king said quietly.

Finnikin gave a humorless laugh. “I am with the King’s First Man, the captain of the King’s Guard, and the priest-king of Lumatere. The most powerful men in our kingdom, apart from the King himself. All brought together by her. At what point have I led you to believe that I have underestimated her?”

Chapter 10, Finnikin of the Rock, exiles and fever camp in Sorel.

Evanjalin was a woman with a purpose. Driven by an incredible desire to save her people, the ways and means with which she achieved what she’d set out to do was rife with well-meaning deceit and hardhearted determination. She was a conniving, lying, thieving and in some instances, vindictive heroine who used her smarts and courage to free her people. She wasn’t the type who wilted under the patronizing opinions of the men that surrounded her and the type who’d never hesitate to maim or even kill to exact justice. She’s a superhero(ine) in every sense of the word; a woman possessed and obsessed with seeing Lumaterans back where they belong. And for every lie, every scheme, every single act of calculated bravery, this woman imparted a piece of her soul and heart that truly embodied a strong female lead who would remain my standard of measure for every book that graces my bookshelves.

Without giving too much of the story away, here are some of Evanjalin’s gambits of trickeries that eventually led to her people’s freedom and secured Lumaterans of their rightful royals. These are only the ones that in my opinion were catalysts to the story and to the series.

1. Evanjalin convinced the Sorel authorities to arrest Finnikin, imprisoning him in the mines where he would be in the mercy of a savage prisoner, named Trevanion.
2. When Finnikin escaped, she then tricked him into saving the thief of Sarnak from the hands of the Sorel traders who bought and sold humans as slaves. The same thief who stole from her, spat at their faces every chance he got, and tried to rape her.
3. She convinced everyone that she only walk the sleep when she bled. They didn’t know that more often than not, she “made” herself bleed.

I have read Finnikin of the Rock at least half a dozen times; and each time, I’m left feeling too much and breathless by the beautiful, visceral writing. The heart-wrenching stories of the people of Lumatere never fail to bring on bouts of choked sobs and seemingly ceaseless tears. But trust me when I say the bliss at the end of the story was well worth it.

I’m glad I got to be a part of Marchetta Madness here at Chachic’s blog. For lack of a better word, I’ve been pimping Ms. Marchetta’s books any chance I get. Her books are something that needed to be shared – for the incredible writing, for the soul-searching stories and the wonderful characters that everyone should know.

_______________________________________________

Thank you, Joy! Me too, I’ve been pimping MM’s books, trying to encourage everyone to read them. I’d be thrilled of Marchetta Madness manages to convince more readers to pick up MM’s novels.

Check out these Marchetta Madness posts in other blogs:
Aaron wrote about The Duality of a Narrative (with Jellicoe Road as a jump off point) over at Guy Gone Geek
Alex wrote a review for Looking for Alibrandi, the movie over at A Girl, a Book and Other Things

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

9 thoughts on “Marchetta Madness: Guest Post from Joy of 132 Minutes

  1. Thanks for having us! I’m always happy to find fellow Marchetta lovers in the book loving community ;)

    • Thanks again for your guest post, Joy! Me too, it’s always nice to find someone who loves Melina Marchetta’s books as much as I do. Just out of curiosity, why do you have three copies of Finnikin? I have two copies each of Jellicoe and Piper so I can let my friends borrow them (my US Piper is currently with someone else). :P

  2. Love your post, Joy! You’re making me want to reread Finnikin again!
    I freaking adore Evanjalin. I loved how she basically was the one in charge from the beginning, even if the others didn’t realize it. And all the secrets she had led to some pretty mind-blowing revelations, at least for me. She’s probably my favorite female character by MM! :)

    • Go ahead and reread, Alexa! :P I reread Jelliecoe last week, just finished Francesca last night and I’m starting on Piper soon.

      Hmm you’ve made me realize that I don’t have a favorite Marchetta heroine probably because I love how they’re all strong in different ways. I end up liking them all over again when I reread (like I recently did with Taylor and Francesca).

      • Since Jonah is my fave male character, it makes me feel so guilty when I don’t also say that Taylor is my fave female character. I gotta admit, it is really hard for me to choose between Evanjalin and Taylor. So, I’ll just say that there are times where they’re tied. lol

        Hopefully I’ll reread Finnikin & Froi before Quintana’s release! But before that I do want to reread The Piper’s Son. I’ve only read it once and that was back in Dec. 2010. :o

  3. Pingback: Marchetta Madness: Guest Post from Alexa of 132 Minutes | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Wow! You got three Finnikins?
    I admit the only reason I read Finn was because it was written by Melina, as I’m not a fantasy girl, but I fell in love with the characters. Evanjalin drove me crazy though, sometimes, she was just so… kind of manipulative.

    All for the greater good, but still. It’s one of my most disliked qualities – being manipulative. On the plus side, she did get things done. And I do appreciate that.

    • Alex, it’s funny because I was more of a fantasy reader before I discovered Melina Marchetta. So it’s good for both of us that we got to read her novels huh? :P We got introduced to new-to-us genres.

  5. Pingback: Marchetta Madness: Random Facts | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,387 other followers