Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Storage Boxes

16 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

When there isn’t enough space in your bookshelf for all of your books, it’s nice to have alternative storage solutions. Like this nifty plastic box that can slide under the bed:

This is what it looks like filled with books:

Oops, looks like I need another one! I need more bookshelf space. Or maybe I should clean up my bookshelf and pass on the books that I’m no longer interested in. Anyway, I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who has problems when it comes to book storage. Care to share your own methods? Do you keep them in boxes too or just leave them lying around the house? Do you have book towers all over your place?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

16 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Storage Boxes

  1. I have book towers all over the place.:) I also use plastic boxes, but the ones I use are a bit bigger. The big boxes are actually pretty useful for me because I can use them as tables (I just need to find a nice tablecloth).:)

    • Wow, how big are the ones that you have if you can use them as tables? I have a bigger one as well but I don’t want to use it anymore because it takes up so much space (I need a bigger room). At least this one goes right under the bed. I’m thinking of getting another one because there’s still room for it. :)

  2. Yep, I have two of such boxes under my bed already. From the container store.. I really need to make a dent in the TBR. Which is what I’m always telling myself.

    • Yep, always telling myself that I need to work on the TBR pile. I was so proud of myself the last few months of 2011 because I only bought of books. But looks like I’m making up for it by buying more this year! Tsk. I am passing on some of the books that I’m no longer interested in to friends though. Thinking of doing a local giveaway as well.

  3. I sell some my books, so that i’ll have space for new books i don’t have my own bookshelf :)

  4. I’m actually going to go through my home library when I get back to the Philippines! Good luck to us and sorting all our books :)

  5. I have a bunch of shelves, a bunch of boxes, and book towers. I really need to cut back.

    • I have a big shelf in my room and there are a couple of small ones around the house, where I squeeze in some of the books. But there’s still not enough space!

  6. This is why – when I had enough money to do so – I had a bed built customised to my specifications which has four huge drawers below the 140×200 cm mattress ^^. I can sprawl however I want and have lots of books below me AND the height is nicer to get out of.

    • A custom made bed! If I’m going to have a bed built, it will probably come with bookshelves as the headboard and then huge drawers underneath, like yours. I have to make do with plastic boxes for now. :)

  7. I tend to use any flat horizontal surface I can find. Shelves, tables, the floor.. you name it. Sometimes I use bookends, and sometimes I just make book towers.

    I also use boxes (random boxes from appliances and such) and bags (plastic bags, paper bags). I used an old microwave to store them once, but it was too bulky.

    • There are times when there are book towers all over the house but I like putting them away because I feel like they get dirty when they’re not inside boxes or shelves. Also, they get in the way of people and I don’t like tripping over books. :P

      LOL first time I’ve heard of anyone using a microwave to store their books.

  8. lol. The hubby constantly gives me crap because the newest lovely bookshelf (that would make 4 now) we bought less than four months ago is almost already completely filled up. I’ve really been trying to read all those books I own but have never read — the ones I don’t want get posted on PBS (which I LOVE). But that in itself if problematic cause then I can order more from PBS….

    Like THE SUNBIRD. Which just came. Yipee!

    • Michelle, my bookshelf is all filled out as well! I think I need to buy another plastic box like this one. Although I am working on passing on some of the books that I’m not planning to read anytime soon (I have several bargain finds). If we had a local Paperbackswap, I’d probably sign up for that too. LOL even if I have a book space problem.

      Yay, you have The Sunbird! Please let me know what you think when you get to read it? :)

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,342 other followers