Chachic's Book Nook

In My Mailbox: The Mary Edition

21 Comments

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

For the past two weeks, I was able to acquire five actual books, four of which were written by someone named Mary.

The King Must Die by Mary Renault
The Bull from the Sea by Mary Renault
My Brother Michael by Mary Stewart
The Gabriel Hounds by Mary Stewart
Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John

Not included in the picture because it’s an ebook, Interim Goddess of Love by Mina V. Esguerra:

All of them have such pretty covers, don’t they? The Mary Renault books were recommended by one of my favorite authors, Elizabeth Wein, and I’m really excited to read them. I bought the two Mary Stewart books because I want to collect all of her romantic suspense novels. Five Flavors of Dumb is a gift from a good friend of mine, fellow Filipino book blogger Tina of One More Page. Thank you, Tina, for the belated Christmas gift! :) Here’s another bookish gift that I received from Celina:

It’s a leather bracelet that says “READ” and I love it. Thank you, Celina! I’ve already used it. I know it’s not book-related but I also received this postcard from a friend who’s visiting Paris, I think it’s the first postcard that I’ve gotten from France:

Sigh, it’s only the first month of the year and I’ve managed to buy several books. Note to self: read these books before buying new ones. Let’s see if I can read the books in my TBR pile instead of steadily increasing its number. What about the rest of you, what books did you get this week?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

21 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: The Mary Edition

  1. Nice haul Chachic! I’ve had Five Flavors of Dumb on my TBR for a while now, I should get around to reading it (TBR intervention ALERT!)
    Enjoy all your books!
    Lisa O. @ The Nocturnal Library

    • TBR intervention alert indeed! I wonder how many books do you have in your own TBR pile? I need to organize mine and maybe get rid of the ones I’m no longer interested in reading.

  2. You’re welcome! Like I told you back then, I figured you’d like this one more than Feed, and it’s a good thing because you got the Feed from Charles already. :)

    Haha, you seemed to have added a lot of books on your TBR just this month! I hope you get to work on that. :P I have books I received from last Christmas that I haven’t posted about, and I’m still too lazy to post them. Maybe this weekend. :D

    • I know! I think I’m making up for the slow Ber months last year. I think I only bought a total of four books in the last quarter of 2011. Here I thought I was doing so well when it comes to NOT buying books but then 2012 started and I don’t know why but I couldn’t resist buying these books. Sigh. Will read these before I buy more! Yes, you should do a post of the books that you received for Christmas. :P

  3. I really love you’re new bracelet!!! and I do love those covers!
    Here Is my IMM
    If you’re interested, come check out my 100 Follower Giveaway

  4. It’s always nice and fun to receive bookish gifts from friends.

    I recently bought The Fault in Our Stars (John Green), Down the Mysterly River (Bill Willingham), and The Book Thief (Markus Zusak). I’m also planning to buy Mina Esguerra’s books someday.

    Oh, and congrats, by the way, for the success of your Queen’s Thief Week.

    • Thanks Rhin! I hope you enjoy reading The Fault in Our Stars, I still need to write my review for that. I’ve had The Book Thief in my TBR pile since 2007, I hope I’d get to read it this year. Yes to Mina’s books! Hope you can get copies soon. :)

  5. That bracelet is adorable, and yay for Five Flavors of Dumb! You’ve got some good friends to present up gifts like that. =)

    • You’ve read Five Flavors of Dumb? What did you think of it? I met both Tina and Celina through the blog so I guess it’s not surprising that they gave bookish gifts. :)

  6. i have five flavours fo dumb too. it has such an awesome cover. i really should prioritise getting to it, as everyone raves :)

    i love how you always have photos of things on your blog

    x enjoy your books! and let us know how culling your TBR goes!

    • Nomes, you know I love taking pictures of books. My point and shoot camera is filled with book pictures. I don’t even bring it with me when I go out with friends. I will keep you posted on the trimming down the TBR project!

  7. I’m so bad for buying more books before I finish reading the ones I have…. That TBR pile sure doesn’t go down that way, lol. But yay for new books — I hope you enjoy them! And, cool bracelet! :)

    • It’s always nice to get new books but it’s a constant struggle to manage the TBR pile, I feel like I’m being pressured to read the books that I have and yet I still keep buying more. LOL I never had this problem before I started the blog.

  8. Hi Chachic, thanks so much for dropping by our blog :)

    I haven’t heard or the authors or the books in your IMM post this week so I’m going to look them up :)

    Mands

  9. Oh, I love the yellow of My Brother Michael! I’m curious too of what you’ll think of Five Flavors of Dumb. I’ve shown a casual interest in reading it ever since i saw it move up in the Nerds Heart YA (Maybe it won? I can’t remember.)

    • I love how bright and happy My Brother Michael looks. I like the color of The Gabriel Hounds as well. All of the Mary Stewarts look good lined up in my bookshelf because of the colors. I can’t even remember how I found out about Five Flavors of Dumb but I know I’ve seen good reviews for it.

  10. That’s a cute bracelet! Hope you enjoy your books.

  11. Pingback: Want Books: Mary Stewart’s Books | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,339 other followers