Chachic's Book Nook

Queen’s Thief Week: Guest Post by Sarah Rees Brennan

23 Comments

Sarah Rees Brennan is the author of the Demon’s Lexicon trilogy, which is an urban fantasy series about demons, magic and two brothers – Nick and Alan. She has two books due to be released this year – Team Human (co-authored with Justine Larbalestier) and Unspoken – and I’m really looking forward to reading both. I follow Sarah on her blog, Twitter and Tumblr and she’s hilarious in all of those venues. She’s been very vocal about her love of the Queen’s Thief series and I was delighted when she graciously agreed to do a guest post, in spite of her busy schedule.

_______________________________________________
THE QUEEN’S THIEF, SARAH AND BOOKPUSHING

I found the Queen’s Thief series the same way I know a lot of us find the best books: a friend recommended them to me. Specifically, my friend Holly Black.

I was twenty-three and an Irish chickadee living in England, doing a Master’s and working as a library assistant. The year before that, I’d been living in New York and working as a publishing intern, and Holly was one of many kind Americans who snatched me out of traffic and explained things like ‘We call spaghetti hoops spaghetti-Os here.’

Naturally my faith in her is implicit! So she said to me ‘You love a twisty book. You love The Murder of Roger Ackroyd. You will love Megan Whalen Turner’s The Thief.’

Well, it was easy to get it! It was in the library where I worked. I picked it up off the shelf, put it in my bag, walked home and sat down on my little blue sofa, where I opened it.

A couple of hours later, I looked up from the last page of the book.

My tea was very cold. Outside the windows it was dark. Neither of those things seemed to matter very much. I gave some deep thought to what I wanted from life.

What I wanted from life was immediately to read the book again, checking from the start and at every turn that Megan Whalen Turner really had laid it out there carefully and cleverly, that I had not been cheated but had been wonderfully surprised.

So I switched on the light, and did not move from the sofa until I had read the whole thing again. It was a lovely evening. I promptly asked my loving parents for Queen of Attolia and King of Attolia for Christmas.

My love has been true ever since that day: it has only grown, since my favourite of the series (so far) is The King of Attolia. (Love, baby! And tricks with narrators. AND LOVE, ONE OF THE GREATEST FICTIONAL ROMANCES OF OUR TIME.)

I was actually on tour with Holly Black for her White Cat and my Demon’s Covenant where at a school appearance we were doing, we met a lovely girl who was a huge Megan Whalen Turner fan… we’d both acquired an advance copy of Conspiracy of Kings via nefarious means. (Okay, maybe Holly’s means weren’t nefarious, I don’t know. MINE WERE.)

LOVELY LADY: And of course the end of Conspiracy of Kings is different than in the advance copy…
HOLLY & SARAH: What! Where! WHAT! IS IT? WHERE’S THE NEAREST BOOKSHOP?

My roommate in Ireland has read chiefly what I gave her since we met in college, and one day she unwisely mentioned she wished there were more books like Harry Potter. I listened to her with a blank expression that I was later informed was slightly terrifying, and the next day brought in a pile of books by Diana Wynne Jones and murmured ‘These are better.’ ‘What, what are you doing?’ she asked. ‘Read them,’ I said, my voice still low and fervent and scary. ‘Read them…’

She resisted the Queen’s Thief series. ‘These look like high fantasy,’ she said, rebelliously. ‘Oh, they are,’ I said. ‘Gods and so forth. Greek mythology rather than English folklore stuff. Read them…’

It took me a few years to bring her around. Then she read The Thief. I was away for the weekend.

When I came back, she owned her own copies of Queen of Attolia and King of Attolia. ‘You weren’t here,’ she said. ‘I couldn’t find them! I had to do something! They’re SO GOOD!’

So we have two sets of Megan Whalen Turner books at our house. I feel this is for the best.

The moral of my story? Friends don’t let friends not read Megan Whalen Turner books.
_______________________________________________

Thank you, Sarah! Love the moral of your story. I’m sure you’ve managed to convince more readers to read the books. Queen’s Thief Week’s Thursday is all about spreading the word about the series – first with Angie’s bibliovangelizing and now Sarah with this post. Feel free to share your own book pushing stories related to Megan Whalen Turner’s books.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

23 thoughts on “Queen’s Thief Week: Guest Post by Sarah Rees Brennan

  1. Oh, Sarah Rees Brennan, some day we will meet in person and it will be EPIC.

  2. We’ll have Holly take pictures!

  3. This post has me grinning to no end. I love your roommate’s reaction!!
    And this bit:

    “LOVELY LADY: And of course the end of Conspiracy of Kings is different than in the advance copy…
    HOLLY & SARAH: What! Where! WHAT! IS IT? WHERE’S THE NEAREST BOOKSHOP?”

    YES. Seriously! I read and reviewed the ARC and someone commented that the ending was different in the final copy. There was a mad dash.

    • Wonder what was the ending in the ARC of A Conspiracy of Kings? Is it very different from the final copy? I’m going to ask you this on Twitter so you can DM me and we can avoid spoilers here. :P But lucky you, you have a copy with an alternate ending.

  4. “Friends don’t let friends not read Megan Whalen Turner books.” Best. Line. Ever. Now I’m off to force some reading on my friends :)

  5. *happysigh* Oh, well done.

    And well done, Holly!

  6. Yay! Can I embarrassingly admit I’ve never read Diana Wynne Jones either? But having her mentioned in this context has her books on my list to read once I finish The Queen’s Thief series!

  7. Pingback: Smugglers’ Stash and News | The Book Smugglers

  8. Brilliant! This is how it works – and how your books are handsold across the seas, too ^^.

    • Exactly, we keep recommending the books to family and friends, even going so far as to buying copies for them. That’s the mark of a fantastic series, fans can’t stop bibliovangelizing the series.

  9. Pingback: Queen’s Thief Week: Giveaway Winner and Wrap-Up | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. “YES. Seriously! I read and reviewed the ARC and someone commented that the ending was different in the final copy. There was a mad dash.”

    It’s different? AAHHHghgh! I’ve only read the ARC. Amazon, amazon, amazon. ..

    • Yep, I’ve heard it’s different but still not sure what the differences are. From what I’ve heard, it looks like the final copy has a couple more pages than the ARC.

  11. OMG….I WAS THE LOVELY LADY aljsdfljasldjflsjl except for the fact that I don’t remember being lovely-I hadn’t even read Sarah’s books then, I’m so glad I went and met both Holly and Sarah! They were awesome, and I finally got my friend to read the demon books-and mwt she loves them!

    • And I’m the friend!!! this is so crazy…..I was totally resisting reading the thief too….and then elle somehow got me a SIGNED copy from megan whalen turner with the intention of making me read it lol and I crumpled under the pressure. I totally loved the series though, and got many “I told you so’s” for it lol. I also just recently finished sarah’s demon trilogy, which I obviously love love LOVED, and now i’m super jealous that you got to meet her elle, and she REMEMBERED you lol.

    • Thanks for dropping by, Elle and Rose! This is another example of “Friends don’t let friends not read Megan Whalen Turner books.” :P I’m super jealous that Elle has signed copies of both MWT and SRB’s books. Isn’t it awesome that they’re fans of each other’s novels? I recently read and enjoyed Unspoken but I haven’t had a chance to review it yet.

  12. Pingback: Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers