Chachic's Book Nook

Fate’s Edge by Ilona Andrews

10 Comments

I’m an Ilona Andrews fan girl. I used to think I wasn’t a fan of urban fantasy until I discovered the Kate Daniels series and then the Edge series. Now, I have two urban fantasy installments to look forward to every year. Fate’s Edge is the third book in the Edge series, the first is On the Edge and the second is Bayou Moon. I enjoyed reading both and I’ve been eagerly anticipating the release of Fate’s Edge throughout the months of 2011.

Here’s the summary from Ilona Andrews’ website:

Born to a family of conmen, Audrey Callahan left behind her life in the Edge for an unmagical existence in the Broken. Audrey is determined to stay on the straight and narrow, but when her brother gets into hot water, the former thief takes on one last heist and finds herself matching wits with a jack of all trades.

Kaldar Mar is a gambler, a lawyer, a thief, and a spy with some unusual talents that guarantee him lucrative work. When his latest assignment has him tracking down a stolen item, Kaldar doesn’t expect much of a challenge — until Audrey turns up to give him a run for his money. But when the missing item falls into the hands of a lethal criminal, Kaldar realizes that in order to finish the job and survive, he’s going to need Audrey’s help.

I think it’s great that each of the Edge books focuses on a different romantic pair. That makes it different from the Kate Daniels series and allows readers to get to know more characters. I really liked Kaldar in Bayou Moon and I was thrilled to discover that the next Edge book would be about him. A scoundrel, thief and conman for a leading man? Definitely my kind of character! As I keep saying here on my blog, I love thieves in fiction. In Fate’s Edge, Kaldar is out for revenge – he works for the Mirror, the secret service of Andrianglia because he wants to crush its rival organization, the Hand. Can I just say that the agents of the Hand are really creepy? But they make great enemies and I loved the fight scenes in this book just as much as the ones in the previous installments. Also, yay for secret agents – another type of character that I enjoy in my fiction reads! Kaldar is one smooth operator but he finally meets his match when he encounters Audrey. I thought their first meeting was hilarious. They both recognized each other’s skills right from the start and were trying to outsmart each other. This is how Audrey first describes Kaldar:

“This man was a rogue, not because circumstances forced him to be a criminal but because he was born that way. He was probably conning his mother out of her milk the moment he could grin. He’d charm the clothes off a virgin in twenty minutes. And if the poor fool took him home, he’d drink her dad under the table, beguile her mother, charm her grandparents, and treat the girl to a night she’d never forget. In the morning, her dad would be sick with alcohol poisoning, the good silver would be missing together with the family car, and in a month, both the former virgin and her mother would be expecting.”

It was a lot of fun seeing both of these characters fight their attraction for each other (well, it was mostly Audrey who was fighting it) while working on the case and while supervising their sidekicks: Gaston, George and Jack (younger characters from the other books in the series). I enjoyed all the scenes with George and Jack in them and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that we’ll see more of them in the fourth (and last?) book or I’m hoping they’d get their own book. Fate’s Edge shows a deeper side to Kaldar’s character – he’s very loyal to his family and everything that he works for is to improve the lives of the Mars. What I like about Audrey is that she’s also different from the other two Edge heroines, Rose and Cerise, who are both fighters. Audrey’s skills lie in stealth and her magic reflects that. Another interesting aspect of the worldbuilding is how the authors keep on adding details to the world that they started – like how each person’s magic is tied to his or her personality so we get different kinds of magic for each character. I feel like I keep saying this whenever I review an Ilona Andrews but it’s the truth: I will read everything that they write. All of their books are fast-paced, entertaining and full of the kind of banter that I love. If you’re an Ilona Andrews fan, you probably don’t need any encouragement to pick this up. So I’m recommending this to fans of urban fantasy although I suggest that you read the first two books before this – why miss out on the fun?

Other reviews:
Lurv ala Mode
Dear Author
The Book Pushers
Bookyurt

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “Fate’s Edge by Ilona Andrews

  1. I still haven’t read Bayou Moon. Oops. I should get to that soon.

  2. This series just rocketed to the top of my TBR since I have decided Ilona Andrews is awesomesauce after Magic Gifts appeared!

    • Magic Gifts was awesome, wasn’t it? Ilona and Gordon were so generous in giving their fans that Christmas gift. I really can’t wait to read Andrea’s book. Hope you get to read the Edge series soon!

  3. I love Kate Daniels, so I really need to pick up some of Ilona Andrews’ other books sometime! I kind of like the series that focus on different couples for each book, too–no dragging out of the romantic drama. ;)

    • Yay, another Kate Daniels fan! Oh I hope you get to read the Edge books soon, Wendy. They’re urban fantasy as well but different from the Kate Daniels novels. Have you tried their romantic sci-fi novellas – Silent Blade and Silver Shark? Really liked those as well.

  4. I agree with Wendy. I do love Kate Daniels but I find The Edge books refreshing. I like how they focus on different characters in each book. Unfortunately this book didn’t completely work for me, but I did enjoy the parts with the boys and I will read the next book.

    • I was wondering why you didn’t review it, Holly. I’m sorry to hear that it didn’t work for you. Hmm I think the first two books in the series are better than this one but I still enjoyed reading it. Don’t worry, we can look forward to Gunmetal Magic this year! :) And keeping my fingers crossed for another romantic sci-fi novella.

  5. Pingback: Fate’s Edge by Ilona Andrews | Janicu's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Book Haul: Ebooks Galore | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,387 other followers