Chachic's Book Nook

Faves of TwentyEleven: The Random

16 Comments

Faves of TwentyEleven is a book awards event hosted by my friend Nomes of Inkcrush. Today’s topic includes random bookish moments.

Fave first sentence
Definitely the first sentence in Silent in Grave by Deanna Raybourn: “To say that I met Nicholas Brisbane over my husband’s dead body is not entirely accurate. Edward, it should be noted, was still twitching on the floor.”

Fave book title
I have a couple of picks for this category: Clockwork Heart by Dru Pagliassotti, And Both Were Young by Madeleine L’Engle, Emotional Geology by Linda Gillard and Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

Fave reading experience (ie: created a great reading memory)
I loved reading all of my 2011 favorites but I think I would have to go with A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness for this category. I remember I read a bit of it in a Starbucks branch while I was on my own and I had to blink back tears because people might think it was weird if they saw me crying over my Kindle.

Book with the best food in it (made you so crazy-envious-hungry)
The Kitchen Daughter by Jael McHenry because of all the recipes so make sure you have snacks on hand when you read this. Also The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater because I want to try those November cakes (and all the pastries too!)

Book with the most sensual weather (made you shiver/sweat)
I really liked the crazy weather in The Scorpio Races because like I mentioned in my review, it reminded me a bit of the weather here in the Philippines – Thisby is near the beach and it gets sudden typhoons/storms.

Most embarrassing book cover (feeling sheepish in public or just plain ugly)
I am not a fan of the cover of Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes by Chris Crutcher – they could definitely have chosen a better cover for this.

Can’t believe you waited this long to read the book (!)
I couldn’t believe I’ve had my copy of The Last Unicorn by Peter Beagle since 2007 and I only read it this year. It’s a fantasy classic and I should have picked it up earlier!

Book you’d give your mum/sister to read
I think my mom would enjoy reading Emotional Geology by Linda Gillard. I’ve already told her about it but she doesn’t have that much free time to read. I don’t have a sister but I think my girlfriends would like Love Your Frenemies by Mina V. Esguerra or A Lot Like Love by Julie James.

Book you’d give your dad/brother to read
I’m not even sure if my brother reads fiction books, I think he mostly reads business books.

Book you’d like to give your past-self to read (ie, me, when I was 15)
Oh so many! I would have loved my teenage self to read Saving June by Hannah Harrington, Good Oil by Laura Buzo and Raw Blue by Kirsty Eagar. I think my pre-teen self would have loved Knife by R.J. Anderson, The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick and the Dreamdark books – Blackbringer and Silksinger by Laini Taylor.

Book that lived up to (or superseded the hype)
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – this one got a lot of buzz in the blogosphere before it was released and I ended up loving the lyrical writing so for me, it lived up to all the hype.

Book you stayed the latest to finish (confess!!!)
LOL too many to mention? I can’t even remember all of the books that I stayed up late to finish because this happened a lot this year.

Book you were *dying* to get your hands on the most
All of the books that I feature on my Want Books meme are books that I want to get but I have to say that I really couldn’t wait to get my hands on Saving June by Hannah Harrington.

Fattest brick of a book you read (by page count)
Unsticky by Sarra Manning is a doorstopper with 562 pages. Good thing I loved it so I didn’t mind going through such a thick book. Its companion novel You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me is a runner-up with 560 pages.

Killer cliffhanger award
Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta, which really leaves readers hanging in the middle of a climactic event.
__________

I couldn’t resist making up my own categories like I did before so here they are:

Most embarrassing title
Seeing Me Naked by Liza Palmer and How to Flirt With a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper – mostly because of the word “naked” in both

Misleading cover (cover had nothing to do with the contents of the book
Past Perfect by Leila Sales – it has a rainy scene (girl with a green raincoat with chalk raindrops) when the book has a summer setting

Cover is a perfect fit for the story (opposite of the category right before this)
Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion, Unsticky by Sarra Manning, Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley and A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

16 thoughts on “Faves of TwentyEleven: The Random

  1. I know I haven’t commented on many of your faves posts but I’ve really enjoyed them, especially your own categories. Keep em comin!

    • Holly, my friend, you don’t have to comment on ALL of my posts! :P I’m just happy that you find the time to check them out knowing how crazy busy you probably are right now.

  2. I really love reading first sentences! Hubs and I went to the book store the other day to get his friend a gift, and we had 3 books in front of us (that April of GB&GW) recommended and we read the first sentence from each to help us determine which one we were going to buy!

    Great cover choices, too. =)

    AND OMG UNSTICKY IS FIVE HUNDRED *HOW MANY* PAGES?!?!?!

    • That’s a great way of deciding what to get for friends! I should probably do that as well when giving books that I haven’t read to other people. So what did you end up getting? :)

      Yes, it really is a doorstopper! Fret not, you won’t notice the length once you’re sucked into the story. I didn’t even have a hard time finishing the book because I was engrossed.

  3. I agree with Holly – I’ve been really enjoying your favorites posts and all the different categories! Love the one for most embarrassing title. Now I have to look through my books to see which ones I have! ;)

    • Kristen, I’m glad you’ve been enjoying the posts! I admit, I had a hard time coming up with answers for some of the categories so I didn’t fill up everything. Embarrassing titles are funny! I know I was a bit embarrassed when I asked the local bookstore if they had stocks of Seeing Me Naked and that’s not even a hardcore romance book.

  4. Haha, I think you are spot on with the embarrassing titles, but also with the most interesting titles. :) And I think I’m going to start SCORPIO RACES next, so I hope to find out about these November cakes.

    • I think we can come up with a meme just for book titles – most embarrassing, most appropriate, most intriguing, etc. Yay, I really hope you get to read The Scorpio Races soon because I’d love to know what you think of it. And I know this will convince you – I’m a big fan of the quiet romance in that book.

  5. Thanks for mentioning EMOTIONAL GEOLOGY, Chachic. :-) A lot of people have been intrigued by that title. Hope your mother gets to read it one day!

    I too loved the opening sentence of SILENT IN THE GRAVE and it made me buy the book.

    • Linda! Thank you so much for dropping by to comment on my post. :) Emotional Geology is a lovely and intriguing title. I really hope my mom gets to read it!

      Wasn’t that the best opening line ever? I was hooked when I read that first line and I felt bad that I didn’t have more time to read because of my crazy holiday schedule.

  6. OH! I want to read Raw Blue so bad!

  7. I love this post! Hahaha. I quite agree with Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes — when I had it with me in Manila, I kept on making sure no one could see the cover.

    • I really have no idea what was going on with that cover. I would never have picked it up based on that cover alone so I’m glad I found out about it through the blogosphere.

  8. That’s weird. Past Perfect being a summer setting and it’s raining. It didn’t have one rainy day in it?

    • Nope, there wasn’t a rainy day in there, from what I can remember. It’s really weird that the cover has a different feel from the content. But it is a cute cover.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,352 other followers