Chachic's Book Nook

In My Mailbox: Goodreads Meet Up Edition

22 Comments

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

I attended the Filipinos Goodreads group meet up yesterday and was surprised at the number of attendees. Want to know how many people were there? Check out this picture taken by Book Elf:

I was only able to talk to a handful of people but it’s always a good thing when I get to chat about books in person. :) There was table there with a huge pile of books because people brought stuff that they wanted to give away and there was a free-for-all grab after the games and program. I brought some books to get more space on my bookshelf but ended up taking home other books. Here’s the stash:

From the Goodreads people:
Goodreads key chain and book-related pencil
Before Ever After by Samantha Sotto (signed)
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
The Feast of Love by Charles Baxter
Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbit
Lovestruck Summer by Melissa Walker

From Celina, who also attended the meet up (the first is a gift while the rest are just borrowed):
The Ghosts of Ashbury High by Jaclyn Moriarty
Nightspell by Leah Cypess
North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley
Demon’s Surrender by Sarah Rees Brennan

Thank you so much to everyone who brought the books that I grabbed and thanks to Celina for being generous yet again by letting me borrow her copies. :) What about the rest of you, what did you get in your mailbox this week?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

22 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: Goodreads Meet Up Edition

  1. Oooh, you got a lot of good books this week! I hope you enjoy them all! Here’s my IMM if you want to check it out! Happy reading!

    -Jessica (Peace Love Books)

  2. Hey! Where did you get that key chain?!:)

    I wasn’t really planning to get any books from the pile, but saw a copy of Flipped, so I got that.:) Plus the books you lent me of course (thank you!).:)

    • Err I think from Kuya Doni? He just asked if I already have it and he also gave me the pencil from Jam.

      I wasn’t planning on getting any books too but when I saw some that I was interested in, I decided to go ahead and get them. So hard to say no to free books! :D

    • The key chain is from Jzhun. It was his christmas giveaway. :)

  3. I love your stash yesterday too — almost all of them are on my wish list. Haha. And I really hope you like North of Beautiful. That was one of my favorites last year. :)

    • Don’t worry, you can always borrow the books that I grabbed from the pile, just let me know if you want to read them. I’ve heard good things about the books that I borrowed from Celina so I’m excited to read those (and glad that I don’t have to buy my own copies).

  4. I can’t wait to see what you think of Nightspell. I think you had a lukewarm reaction to Mistwood similar to mine so I’m eager to see if you think it is better or not.

    • I remember liking Mistwood but I know that I didn’t love it as much as I was expecting. People should really stop saying that they recommend a book for MWT fans (or Kristin Cashore and Tamora Pierce) because my expectations go sky high when that happens. I looked back on my review and I gave it a positive one but I don’t really remember most of the details of the story now.

  5. I give away 6 books and got only 5 so I still had the space I wanted! :P You breaked your silence on goodreads because of this! So shameless self-advertising. haha

    • I gave away eight books and got only five so I still have space too. Dude, I replied on the thread before I even came up with this post. LOL the link to this post was my second message.

  6. I signed up for a goodreads account already. Hehe. But I didn’t know there was a group like that. I should join. ^_^ Oh, and is that El Pueblo Ortigas I see in the group pic?

    North of Beautiful was made a bit more relevant for me because I know two people who actually have port wine birthmarks. Hope you enjoy reading it as well!

    • Yes, that is indeed El Pueblo Ortigas. :P Oh hey, add me on Goodreads! And you should definitely check out the Filipinos group and see if you’re interested in participating in the discussions. I used to be active there but not anymore because the blog takes up so much of my free time. I enjoy attending meet ups though.

      No idea what port wine birthmarks are but you’ll know what I think of the book because I’m planning to post a review when I finish reading it.

  7. You have a nice list of books in your mailbox this week. The meet up looks like a lot of fun. You walked away with quite a bit of books.
    Happy Reading,
    Book Sniffers Anonymous

  8. Pingback: Before Ever After Book Launch « Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Ooh, Nightspell and Demon’s Surrender! I read both of these recently, and for the record I think I liked Nightspell more than Mistwood. I know what youth mean about Mistwood. I almost put it down and didn’t love it. I don’t regret reading it though if that makes sense. Sounds like I just need to read something by Tamora Pierce. :)

    • I remember you mentioned that you liked Nightspell more than Mistwood so that made me more curious. LOL don’t worry, I know what you mean because I felt the same way. Yeah, didn’t really love it and I feel like I would have enjoyed myself more if I read MWT, Tamora Pierce or Kristin Cashore. :P

  10. Pingback: The Filipino Group Fifth Meet Up! | Dark Chest of Wonders

  11. Pingback: GoodReads meet-up! « I WRITE, THEREFORE I AM ALIVE

  12. Ha, I just commented on Tina’s Goodreads meetup post! I was freaking out over her copy of Dairy Queen, now I must high five your Lovestruck Summer book! That was my first Melissa Walker book, and I’ve since ordered Violet on the Runway. Happy reading!

    • I actually offered to give Tina my copy of Dairy Queen since I’ve read it and didn’t really love it and I got it used for only 20 pesos (less than half a dollar). But yes, I initially didn’t want to get anything from the free pile but then I saw Lovestruck Summer and remembered that it’s on my wishlist so yay. :D

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,337 other followers