Chachic's Book Nook

Seeing Me Naked by Liza Palmer

17 Comments

Seeing Me Naked by Liza Palmer was a book recommended by Angie of Angieville and my copy was sent as a gift by Nomes of Inkcrush when I won her giveaway. I was craving for some contemporary romance reads along the lines of Unsticky by Sarra Manning and What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty so I asked Angie for suggestions and this was one of the titles that she mentioned.

Here’s the summary from Liza Palmer’s website:

Elisabeth Page has big shoes to fill. She’s the daughter of living legend novelist Ben Page, and the sister of literary wunderkind Rascal Page, and her career as a pastry chef is decidedly not up to her family’s snooty standards-even if she works at the hottest restaurant in L.A. Elisabeth hopes no one will notice that her five-year plan to run her own patisserie has morphed into an eleven-year plan to nowhere. Her personal life is also frozen in time: she’s still involved with her family-approved childhood sweetheart, a journalist whose constant jaunts leave her lonely. Enter an exciting career opportunity and even more terrifying, Daniel Sullivan, a beer-drinking basketball coach who is everything her family is not. Addicted to control and bred to criticize, can Elisabeth finally embrace happiness? Only if she has the guts to let others see her naked and let them love her, warts and all.

I was pleasantly surprised when I discovered that Seeing Me Naked is so much more than its flirty title and cover. I have the UK edition with the white cover but I think I like the US edition with the yellow cover more because it’s understated and less smexy. I was expecting a light and fun book crack that will go down just as easily as the milk tea drinks that I’m currently addicted to. What I got was something more complicated. Elisabeth’s story deals with some weighty issues tied to her relationships with the people around her – her unusual family, her inconsistent childhood sweetheart and a guy that she just met named Daniel. Added to all that are her problems balancing her hectic schedule as the pastry chef in L.A.’s hottest restaurant. I have a cousin who’s a pastry chef in L.A. and I know hard that kind of job is – staying on your feet the whole day while cooking delicious treats, not having holidays because those are actually the busiest days for restaurants and thriving in a highly competitive industry. Elisabeth’s situation is no exception. She chose this career path because she wanted to stay away from her father’s literary shadow. I’m a huge fan of pastries and desserts in general so that’s one of the reasons why I was curious about this book.

I love that while Elisabeth’s romance with Daniel is an essential part of the story, it doesn’t necessarily take center stage. It’s actually more subtle than the other relationships in Elisabeth’s life. What she has with Daniel is what keeps Elisabeth calm and steady in an otherwise turbulent existence. It doesn’t mean that their relationship is easy because they still had to resolve some issues but it was nice to know that Elisabeth could rely on Daniel. Even though Elisabeth tried to stay away from her father’s profession, her whole family still has a huge influence over her. She craves for her dad’s approval, she finds comfort in her mother’s love and her brother Rascal is actually her closest friend. My favorite scene in the book is actually a pivotal moment for their family. I’m not going to spoil it but let me just say that it was the banquet towards the end of the book and that particular scene had me in tears. Like I said, I didn’t expect to get emotional over Seeing Me Naked but I’m glad that it surprised me. For me, the mark of a good book is when it can make you feel like you’re right there with the characters. I think it’s great when you get to laugh and cry with them. After finishing this, my first thought was that I want to read more books like this. I’m going to look for Liza Palmer’s other novels and I’m hoping that they will be just as good as this one. If you have similar suggestions, please let me know. Highly recommended for contemporary romance or women’s fiction readers.

Other reviews:
Angieville
Smart Bitches, Trashy Books
4 Girls and a Book

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

17 thoughts on “Seeing Me Naked by Liza Palmer

  1. Recs from you and Angie both is enough to convince me, I’ll have to check this out!

    • Allison, I hope you get to read it! When I did a search for other reviews, it looks like only a handful of people have read this book and that’s a shame because I really enjoyed it.

  2. I have been waiting for your review of this ever since I saw you add it on goodreads and read the synopsis. I am even more interested now.

    • Sorry it took so long for me to post the review! I’m behind on my reviews nowadays. There’s something about the rainy weather over here that makes me so lazy. Let me know what you think when you get around to reading this.

  3. (replying to above comments) you’re behind on reviews (!) LOL, you should see all the books i have read this year and not even said a word about (!)

    and also ones i kind of reviewed on goodreads after reading but never made a blog post about (i have a fair few of them…)

    anyways, glad you loved this and i am thinking i would love it too. it’s on my wishlist and next time i splurge i’ll have to include it in the batch :)

    • Nomes, you read much faster than I do! I try to review all of the books that I read on the blog because I want other blog friends to know what I thought of the book but I may not be able to do that now? Not sure, we’ll find out in the next few days LOL.

      All of my reviews are cross-posted on Goodreads but maybe if I don’t have much to say about a book, I can post short reviews there.

      I hope you get to read this! I really enjoyed it and think that more people should know about it.

  4. Oh, lovely review! I really want to read this now. I still have books that I bought on my latest splurge that I need to read. It’s at my local library when I have a chance to pick it up though. I must agree that I love the US cover. The yellow is very striking and it has an overall more sophisticated look.

    I think I’m going to be forever behind on reviews now since I can’t seem to catch up so I’ve stopped looking at it that way. I may start doing mini-reviews every once in awhile. We’ll see. As long as I can review the books I really liked or have a lot to say about than it’s all good. :D

    • Yay, I’m glad you’re interested in reading this! I’m trying to finish off the latest batch of books that I got and I’ve already made a dent on it. I think I have one more to go? And then I have to work on the galleys. Good thing this one is available in your library, no need to purchase it. :)

      Yep, exactly. The ones that you NEED to recommend to other people are the ones worth reviewing. If you had a lukewarm reaction to the book, it’s more like warning others about it.

  5. Gag. I don’t like either of those covers! It doesn’t help that the title involves nudity. =) But it sounds like a great read — I’m a fan of contemp romance so I may need to give this one a try!

    • Why am I not surprised that you’re picky when it comes to covers? :P I know, the title doesn’t do the book justice although naked there means letting others see the real you, rather than physical nudity. Hope your library has a copy of this and you’d have better luck borrowing it than Alice Moriarty’s book. :D

  6. I just finished this one too and absolutely loved it. Like you I cried at that party scene and laughed myself silly with Elisabeth and Rascal’s conversations. And yes, it was a great change of pace to not see the love interest take center stage (even though I’ll admit to wanting to read more about Elisabeth and Daniel). Loved this book – it just hit the right contrast of family dynamics and romance and friendship. So happy to see that you enjoyed it too!

    • I know, I loved Elisabeth and Rascal’s relationship, I really enjoyed reading their scenes together. Yep, would have to agree that I wouldn’t have minded reading more about the romance. It felt like it was subtly developed and not as dramatic as the family problems that Elisabeth experienced.

      Hey, just saw that you reviewed it! I’m headed over to your blog to check it out. More people should really read this book. :D

  7. Pingback: Seeing Me Naked by Liza Palmer | Janicu's Book Blog

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Books At The Top Of My Summer TBR List | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Want Books: Elizabeth the First Wife | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Nowhere But Home by Liza Palmer | Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Pingback: Foodie Reads | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,341 other followers