Chachic's Book Nook

The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder

11 Comments

The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder is only the second novel in verse that I’ve read. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell a few months ago and thought it would be a good idea to read more books like it. Good thing The Day Before became available through Simon and Schuster’s Galley Grab. I’m usually not a fan of reading ebooks on the computer but since this was a quick and light read, I didn’t mind.

Here’s the summary from Lisa Schroeder’s website:

Amber’s life is spinning out of control. All she wants is to turn up the volume on her iPod until all of the demands of her family and friends fade away. So she sneaks off to the beach to spend a day by herself.

Then Amber meets Cade. Their attraction is instant, and Amber can tell that he’s also looking for an escape. Together they decide to share a perfect day: no pasts, no fears, no regrets.

The more time that Amber spends with Cade, the more she’s drawn to him. And the more she’s troubled by his darkness. Because Cade’s not just living in the now – he’s living like each moment is his last.

Amber wanted just one day of peace at the beach before her whole life changes. She’s surprised when she meets Cade there and it looks like he wants the same thing. So they spend a wonderful day together, doing all the things that they love and trying not to think of what tomorrow will bring. I’m usually not a fan of instant love in YA novels because there’s not much character development in that kind of thing and it’s becoming the norm. But I think it worked with this book, partly because of the verse format. I feel like the author was able to pack more substance into fewer words by using this lyrical format. Here’s a sample of the writing, which I think every book lover will be able to relate to:

Oftentimes
when I read a book,
I want to savor
each word,
each phrase,
each page,
loving the prose
so much,
I don’t want it
to end.

Other times
the story pulls me in,
and I can hardly
read fast enough,
the details flying by,
some of them lost
because all that matters
is making sure
the character
is all right
when it’s over.

The pages flew by (or should I say rolled up the screen quickly?) while I was reading this and I finished it in one sitting. At the start of the book, the reader has no idea why Amber and Cade are there – I liked the pacing and how these mysteries were slowly revealed as these two characters get to know each other better. The Day Before brings to mind other YA novels that occur in the span of a day or a night like Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist and Graffiti Moon so fans of those two other books will probably enjoy this one as well. It’s funny because even Amber said that her day with Cade is similar to what happened in Nick and Norah and she also mentioned that the book is better than the movie. You got that right, Amber. The Day Before made me more curious about novels in verse and Lisa Schroeder’s books in particular. I’m glad I already have copies of Far From You and Chasing Brooklyn sitting on my shelves. I will be picking them up when I feel like reading something comforting. Recommended for fans of novels in verse or those who enjoy contemporary YA. The Day Before will be released on June 28, 2011.

Other reviews:
Attack of the Book
Chick Loves Lit
Confessions of a Book Addict
The Reading Date

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

11 thoughts on “The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder

  1. I liked this one too. :) I like how verse novels are so easy and quick to read. Plus the references to pop culture (other than Nick and Norah, there was Matt Nathanson and Lifehouse) were really fun to read. :D

    • Yep, I like how easy these verse novels are to read. They’re the perfect books to pick up when you’re in a reading slump. I was tempted to get What My Mother Doesn’t Know from Fully Booked yesterday.

  2. This is a special book, and the first book I read in verse. I’m definitely curious to read more books like this. Looking forward to hearing what you think of Chasing Brooklyn and Far From You.
    I thought this was a heart warming book and I loved learning about the characters through their day together.
    Glad you liked it too. There are some good books on Galley Grab!

    • I think that a reader’s first novel in verse will always be special. More so if it’s a really good book. That’s how I felt with Song of the Sparrow. I’ll let you know what I think of Lisa Schroeder’s other books when I get around to reading them. :)

      There really are some great books on Galley Grab! I’ve enjoyed the ones that I’ve read so far and I’m so glad that they’re available over there.

  3. I couldn’t decide whether to get this one or not, now I wish I had. Lovely review. I have Chasing Brooklyn waiting patiently on my kindle for me :)
    PS. very cute blog!!

    • Hi Teddyree, thanks for dropping by! I think you can still get it from the Galley Grab? In any case, I hope you’re able to find a copy or if you can’t get one, you can always read the author’s other novels in verse. :)

  4. love this review chachic

    i always enjoy verse novels

    i think they are awesome for ppl who like lyrical writing and sentences and ideas that just come together to succinctly

    • I think I’m going to enjoy reading more novels in verse in the future. I’m starting to become a fan of the lyrical writing and they’re really easy to fall into. I hope you get to read this one, Nomes. :)

  5. I see you only gave this three stars on GR but I’m glad to see you don’t have any major complaints. I wouldn’t exactly call Chasing Brooklyn a comfort read because there’s some weightier stuff in it but it’s definitely comforting to read a quick, easy verse novel sometimes. Plus I love the cover of this one-gorgeous. Can’t wait to read it! Thanks for the review. I think I’m going to really need this soon. :)

    • I think I gave it three stars on Goodreads because even though I enjoyed reading it, I don’t think I’ll buy a copy when the hardcover becomes available? LOL sorry if that doesn’t make sense, I have a hard time giving star ratings. There were some weighty issues in this book but overall, the two characters had such a great day together that my impression of the book was that it’s a light read.

  6. Pingback: The Day Before | One More Page

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,370 other followers