Chachic's Book Nook

Love Your Frenemies by Mina V. Esguerra

18 Comments

Wow, Mina writes fast! I knew she was planning to set Love Your Frenemies out in the wild soon but I didn’t expect it to come out this week. The main character in this book is the antagonist in one of her other books, My Imaginary Ex. I admire Mina for writing something like this because it must have been challenging to write about a character who was very easy to hate.

Here’s the summary from Mina’s blog:

Kimmy Domingo was the kind of girl everyone hated and envied – until her fiancé dumped her a week before their wedding. Soon after, she quit her job, hopped on a plane, and just hid from everyone who knew her. A year later and she’s back in Manila to be maid of honor at a wedding she can’t miss.

Kimmy’s home because she’s ready to start over, but she also knows that some people at that wedding were responsible for the mess her life turned out to be. The first step to recovery? Cutting off the ones who caused her troubles to begin with: her best friend and her first love.

First off, I want to say that I love how simple yet appropriate the cover for this and Mina’s other ebook, Fairy Tale Fail, are. I like them much better than the covers of My Imaginary Ex and No Strings Attached. I also find it convenient that Mina decided to go with an ebook for this one because it’s much easier (and cheaper) to obtain a copy. You can buy it from either Amazon or Smashwords. I know it’s a sequel of sorts to one of her other books but I believe it stands well on its own and there’s no need to read that one first. It would be a good idea though because you’d get a picture of how other people see Kimmy instead of just being inside her head. Love Your Frenemies is told from alternating past and present situations so you get an idea of what Kimmy was going through during the events of My Imaginary Ex. Kimmy got dumped by her fiancé days before their supposed wedding. He suddenly realized that he’s still in love with someone else and that he couldn’t go through with the wedding. Harsh, right? But a lot of people believe that Kimmy deserved what she got because she’s such a bitch.

I was surprised by how much I liked this book more than My Imaginary Ex. You know the saying that goes, “there’s always two sides to every story”? This is Kimmy’s side. I can understand why other people find her rude, manipulative and heartless. Kimmy is smart, beautiful and she knows it. She admits that she tends to be overconfident. She doesn’t go out of her way to hurt and manipulate other people, it’s just that she can’t be bothered to be nice. Kimmy has a turbulent relationship with her best gal pal, Chesca, because they’re the epitome of mean girls. Kimmy and Chesca ruled their high school – they got to decide who would become members of their clique based on how useful their classmates were. Both girls understand how the other person thinks and that’s why they’re such good friends and why they also have the worst fights. They know what to say to get the other person riled up. Another person who is one of the major reasons why Kimmy’s so messed up is her first love, Manolo. Handsome, charming and witty Manolo. Can I just say that I can’t get over his name because it’s such an old school Filipino name? I feel like if I knew someone named Manolo, he’d be nicknamed something shorter and more modern like Manny or Nollie. Ever since they were teenagers, Manolo has been blowing hot and cold and Kimmy knows it’s stupid to hope for a steady relationship but she can’t help it. Kimmy’s story isn’t centered on the romance but instead focuses on her relationships with the Country Club set of people that she grew up with. It’s not surprising that she’s not a nice person because of all the drama in her life – it’s like a constant soap opera.

What I love about Mina’s books is how believable they all are. I may not love all of her books but I can believe that her stories actually happen to other people. It’s everything about her work – the familiar places, the situations that you can relate to, the characters that feel like they could be your friends. Maybe it’s also because I feel like I’m the target audience of her books – a twenty-something Filipina. This is another enjoyable read from Mina V. Esguerra and as always, I look forward to reading her next one.

Other reviews: (manually generated)
One More Page
From Page One

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “Love Your Frenemies by Mina V. Esguerra

  1. I’ve read My Imaginary Ex and I loved it! I’ll read this one too. I’ll get both Fairy Tale Fail and this later.

    I should thank you for reviewing Mina’s works, Chachic! I’ve just found my favorite Filipino author. :)

    • Veronica, oh you’re in for a treat if you’ve read My Imaginary Ex! Fairy Tale Fail is still my favorite Mina V. Esguerra book but this comes in second. Stay tuned because I’m planning to post an interview with Mina soon. :)

      • Hi, this is still me. I am so excited that I’m speed-reading the one I’m currently holding just to have time for the two books.

        I’ll watch out for that! :) I exchanged emails with Mina when I first planned to buy a printed copy of Fairy Tale Fail and I really find her friendly and generally nice.

      • I did the same thing! And I posted a review of this as soon as I was finished, I bypassed the other book that I was reading.

        I love that Mina has such a strong online presence and that she reaches out to her readers. That’s one of the reasons why I wanted to do an interview. I’m also going to do a giveaway together with the interview.

  2. A giveaway! That just made me more excited on the interview. Great thing that I check your blog everyday (actually, almost 5 times a day).

  3. Hmm, this story and the prequel scenario remind me of SOMETHING BORROWED (bk 1) and SOMETHING BLUE (bk 2) by Emily Giffin. Have you read them? Very good and feels very believable and true to life.

    • I haven’t read any of Emily Giffin’s books but those were recommended when I asked for chick lit recommendations. Maybe I should read the book before the movie comes out? I’ve seen the trailer of the movie and it looks interesting.

  4. Pingback: Interview with Mina V. Esguerra and Giveaway « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. I want my own Manolo! :))

  6. Thank you for the review, Chachic!

    I love working on the covers for the ebooks. Helps that I’m friends with talented people who really work on it. (In this case, was married to the guy — ha!)

  7. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Mina V. Esguerra Fangirl « Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Snippets of an Interview with Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Meeting Mina in Singapore | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Book: Love Your Frenemies | taking a break

  11. Pingback: Welcome to Envy Park by Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,389 other followers