Chachic's Book Nook

Retro Friday: At First Sight by Elizabeth Chandler

10 Comments

Retro Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Angie over at Angieville and focuses on reviewing books from the past. This can be an old favorite, an under-the-radar book you think deserves more attention, something woefully out of print, etc.

What better book to post about this Christmas Eve than a favorite holiday read? At First Sight and I Do by Elizabeth Chandler are my favorites in the Love Stories series published by Bantam Books. I loved them when I was a teenager and I’ve reread them so many times that I know the story by heart. My copies of both books are already yellowed with age. If only these books were readily available, I’d get new copies.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Allie Parker is dreading Christmas break. She’s leaving boarding school to go home to watch her twin sisters and their superficial friends. So when Allie meets Ben Harrington on the way there, things are looking up – until she discovers that he’s a basketball star and one of her sisters’ crowd. Allie writes him off. How could he be interested in a serious girl like her. But the more she sees of Ben, the less he seems like the jock type. Is there more to Ben than meets the eye?

I love rereading this book during the holidays because it’s a fun read and it’s set at Christmastime. Allie has spent most of her school years at Fields School, a boarding school exclusively for girls in Maryland. Her parents travel all over the world for her dad’s job so the kids were sent to boarding school for some stability. Once Allie’s parents decided to settle in one place for good, her twin sisters, blond and beautiful Sandra and Julia opt to leave Fields to study at a regular high school. Allie isn’t looking forward to going to their new home for Christmas. All her friends are in Fields and she always feels self-conscious around her sisters. She knows she looks nothing like them, she’s not popular and she doesn’t spend hours fixing her hair or choosing her outfits.

At 208 pages, this book is a lightweight but I really like how well-developed Allie and Ben were as characters. As Allie learns more about Ben, she realizes that he isn’t like the rest of the popular crowd, he’s not superficial and is actually very sweet, especially when it comes to his younger brother, Tim. I loved all of their scenes together because you can really feel the tension between them. All throughout the holiday break, they keep dancing around each other, unsure of the other’s feelings and not willing to risk their new-found friendship. And it all leads to a satisfying New Year’s Eve conclusion. The entire Love Stories series is already out of print. Most of my copies have already been passed on to a younger cousin (and I hope she enjoyed reading them as much as I did) but I kept a couple because I just couldn’t let go of them. At First Sight made an impression when I was young so it will always have a special place in my heart. If you get a chance to read this, I’d love to know what you think.

That’s it for today, I hope you’re all enjoying the holidays. :) Merry Christmas, everyone!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

10 thoughts on “Retro Friday: At First Sight by Elizabeth Chandler

  1. maybe her books are at better world books?

    i read a book of her this year: love at fist click (i think that was the title?) i really enjoyed it :)

    x

    • Nomes, I checked Better World Books and they do have copies of this one but it’s kind of expensive for a small mass market paperback.

      Oh I’ve read Love at First Click and I’ve reviewed it here. I like At First Sight and I Do a lot more than that one though. :)

  2. I have to get this one since I loved I DO. Would never have run across these OOPs if it werent’ for you. :)

    • Yay, I’m so glad you loved I Do. I was worried that you might get disappointed with it. Good to know that it’s still a good read even if it’s a little outdated. I hope you get to read this one as well. :)

  3. Pingback: Hot Summer Nights by Elizabeth Chandler « Chachic's Book Nook

  4. do you have any idea where i might be able to buy this book from!?

  5. Pingback: Maligayang Pasko! Merry Christmas, Everyone! | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Books When You Need Something Light and Fun | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,244 other followers