Chachic's Book Nook

My Imaginary Ex by Mina V. Esguerra

16 Comments

I read and loved Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra a couple of days ago and after reading it, I knew I was going to pick up her other book, My Imaginary Ex. I’m glad I found a copy yesterday in one of the local bookstores so I bought it, started and finished it in one sitting. Boy, I’m really enjoying this unexpected chick lit week.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

When Zack asks Jasmine to pretend to be his ex-girlfriend, she gamely agrees, thinking it would be fun. A few years later, she still has to keep convincing people that they were never together! Then one day, she finds out he’s getting married — to someone she’d just met once! All of a sudden, things aren’t so clear-cut anymore. Can Jasmine sort out her feelings (sometimes, she can’t even tell real from pretend when it comes to her and Zack) before it’s too late?

Zack and Jasmine went to the same high school but they were never that close. They reconnect when they bump into each other in college and they become good friends. Zack then asks Jasmine to pretend to be his ex because he’s never had a girlfriend before and the girl that he likes doesn’t want to be with someone who’s never been in a relationship. Jasmine agrees, not knowing the consequences of that little lie. Fast forward to the present day, Zack is about to get married to a girl that none of his friends and family really know. It’s up to Jasmine to confront Zack but before she can do that, she has to sort through her own feelings first. My Imaginary Ex was pretty easy to read even though the story is interspersed with flashbacks to fully flesh out Jasmine and Zack’s friendship. The story sort of reminded me of My Best Friend’s Wedding because it has a similar theme with the movie.

I’m not a fan of best friend love stories probably because my high school boyfriend was my best friend and we didn’t really get our Happily Ever After together. Don’t get me wrong, we’re still good friends but now I feel like I have a certain fondness for love-hate relationships more than best friend love stories. In any case, I’m sure there are more people who will appreciate the friendship that is the foundation of Jasmine and Zack’s relationship. While I didn’t get to connect with the characters in this one as much as I did with the characters of Fairy Tale Fail, it’s still quite an enjoyable, light read. The characters are believable and the author does a good job of describing the life of a young professional in her mid-twenties, living in Manila. Mina mentioned over Twitter that Summit is going to release another book of hers any day soon. I’m looking forward to that!

To international readers out there, sorry but My Imaginary Ex is only available locally. I just have to say that I’m enjoying reading local chick lit. I just have a minor complaint – they’re all so thin! Small paperbacks less than 150 pages long. I’d be glad to read something meatier if the authors come up with something like that.

Other reviews: (manually generated)
One More Page
Bookmarked
Bookish!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

16 thoughts on “My Imaginary Ex by Mina V. Esguerra

  1. Pingback: Filipino Friday 16 « Filipino Book Bloggers

  2. Oh that’s took bad it’s not available internationally! I’m excited to read Fairy Tale Fail though. Only $.89 for the Kindle. Not that I have one but I love having short books to read on my phone while I’m out and about.

    • I know, Holly, it really is sad that it’s not available internationally. Maybe Filipino authors should make ebook editions of all their works so it’ll be easier to promote it internationally. Yay, I’m glad you’re planning to get Fairy Tale Fail, it really is an easy read. :)

  3. Oh I forgot to say I love the cover for this one. Vintage caricature fun. :)

  4. Pingback: Love Your Frenemies by Mina V. Esguerra « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Interview with Mina V. Esguerra and Giveaway « Chachic's Book Nook

  6. .. i super wanna read it ..

  7. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Mina V. Esguerra Fangirl « Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Snippets of an Interview with Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: My Imaginary Ex by Mina V. Esguerra « Off The Wall

  10. Pingback: Meeting Mina in Singapore | Chachic's Book Nook

  11. you could of add more

  12. Pingback: Welcome to Envy Park by Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers