Chachic's Book Nook

Julie James

20 Comments

Since I mentioned in a recent post that I like chick lit books, I realized that I’ve never reviewed Julie James’ work. I thought I’d remedy the situation since I recommend her books all of the time so here are mini-reviews of all three. Summaries are from Julie James’ website.

SOMETHING ABOUT YOU

FATE HAS THROWN TWO SWORN ENEMIES. . .

Of all the hotel rooms rented by all the adulterous politicians in Chicago, female Assistant U.S. Attorney Cameron Lynde had to choose the one next to 1308, where some hot-and-heavy lovemaking ends in bloodshed. And of all the FBI agents in Illinois, it had to be Special Agent Jack Pallas who gets assigned to this high-profile homicide. The same Jack Pallas who still blames Cameron for a botched crackdown three years ago—and nearly ruining his career…

. . .INTO EACH OTHER’S ARMS

Work with Cameron Lynde? Are they kidding? Maybe, Jack thinks, this is some kind of welcome-back prank after his stint away from Chicago. But it’s no joke: the pair is going to have to put their rocky past behind them and focus on the case at hand. That is, if they can cut back on the razor-sharp jibes—and smother the flame of their sizzling-hot sexual tension…

Review: I’ve re-read this book several times and certain scenes can still make me laugh. What I really like about Julie James’ books is that we get glimpses inside the heads of the heroes and not just the heroines. So even if Jack is the strong, silent type, we still know how Cameron wreaks havoc on his concentration. I really enjoyed seeing both of them get on each other’s nerves while trying to work together on the case. The secondary characters in this one were a riot! I loved both Colin, Cameron’s gay best friend, and Wilkins, Jack’s partner. Because of the nature of Jack’s work, there’s more suspense and action in this one compared to the other two. Another great thing about this book? The cover shows a scene in the book. We all know how rarely this happens.

PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT

WHEN IT COMES TO THE LAWS OF ATTRACTION…

Payton Kendall and J.D. Jameson are lawyers who know the meaning of objection. A feminist to the bone, Payton has fought hard to succeed in a profession dominated by men. Born wealthy, privileged, and cocky, J.D. has fought hard to ignore her. Face to face, they’re perfectly civil. They have to be. For eight years they’ve kept a safe distance and tolerated each other as co-workers for one reason only: to make partner at the firm.

. . . THERE ARE NO RULES.

But all bets are off when they’re asked to join forces on a major case. At first apprehensive, they begin to appreciate each other’s dedication to the law — and the sparks between them quickly turn into attraction. But the increasingly hot connection doesn’t last long when they discover that only one of them will be named partner. Now it’s an all out war. And the battle between the sexes is bound to make these lawyers hot under the collar . . .

Review: This is a classic story of a love-hate relationship. Payton and J.D. work in the same law firm. They’ve always competed against each other but more so when they find out that only one of them can be partner. I have to say, I think J.D. is the Julie James hero that I like the least because of something that he did to Payton in the past (sorry for being vague, I don’t want to mention spoilers). As a whole, it was still a lot of fun to see both of them battle it out through arguments and pranks. There’s a lot of background information about lawyers in this one because both protagonists are in that profession and I believe Julie James was also a lawyer before. There’s not a lot in terms of action in this one but what makes it enjoyable is the dialogue between the two witty and intelligent protagonists.

JUST THE SEXIEST MAN ALIVE

COOL. CALM. COLLECTED.

Nothing fazes Taylor Donovan. In the courtroom she never lets the opposition see her sweat. In her personal life, she never lets any man rattle her – not even her cheating ex-fiancé. So when she’s assigned to coach People’s “Sexiest Man Alive” for his role in his next big legal thriller, she refuses to fall for the Hollywood heartthrob’s charms. Even if he is the Jason Andrews.

CONFIDENT. FAMOUS. IRRESISTIBLE.

Jason Andrews is used to having women fall at his feet. When Taylor Donovan gives him the cold shoulder, he’s thrown for a loop. She’s unlike any other woman he’s ever met: uninterested in the limelight, seemingly immune to his advances, and shockingly capable of saying no to him. She’s the perfect challenge. And the more she rejects him, the more he begins to realize that she may just be his perfect match. . .

Review: Jason is not just confident, he’s extremely arrogant. He’s gotten used to his Hollywood lifestyle and how he always gets his way because he’s famous. So when he meets Taylor and she doesn’t bow down to him, he’s intrigued. While Taylor recognizes that Jason is attractive, she’s annoyed that he gets special treatment just because he’s a celebrity. The whole book is all about the two of them circling each other, trying to gauge the attraction between them. As always, the witty repartee in this book is what makes it special. The sarcastic remarks in their arguments are bound to make you chuckle (or at the very least, smile). Just like in Something About You, Taylor and Jason’s best friends play important roles in the story.

 

So there you have it, folks. Julie James’ novels are really a lot of fun and they are my favorite chick lit books along with Jennifer Crusie’s books. I can’t wait for A Lot Like Love to come out. For a change, the heroine isn’t a lawyer in that one, something different to look forward to.

Other reviews: (manually generated)
Angieville reviews Something About You
See Michelle Read reviews Something About You
The Book Smugglers review Something About You
Janicu’s Book Blog reviews Practice Makes Perfect
Ramblings on Romance reviews Practice Makes Perfect
Angieville reviews Practice Makes Perfect and Just the Sexiest Man Alive
Janicu’s Book Blog reviews Just the Sexiest Man Alive
Dear Author reviews Just the Sexiest Man Alive

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

20 thoughts on “Julie James

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Julie James « Chachic's Book Nook -- Topsy.com

  2. Oh Chick Lit. I have a hard time reading it. But, if I twist it and call it romance, then it’s ok, HAHA. But now you have me interested and I must find both Jason and Jacks stories! And I’ve only seen it once where the cover shows a scene from the book (Simone Elkeles) – now I have to get these. I’m wondering what the scene is because her dress looks kind of ill fitting in the back :P

    • Peep, you’re funny! I know there are people out there who would rather read chick lit than romance but you’re the other way around. I hope you get to read Julie James’ books. All three are hilarious and I could read them over and over again.

      I know what you mean, Simone Elkeles’ Rules of Attraction, right? The back part of the dress does look a little loose, I kind of feel like you could look down her dress but still, it’s nice that the dress is part of the story. :)

      • Yes, that’s the book!

        I went through a harlequin phase and then a chick lit phase, but that was a while ago. I wonder how I will like it now? I’ve got to run to the library today, I think I’ll pick her books while I’m there. Judging from the comments, she seems to be popular and I feel out of the loop. :P

      • I hope you still enjoy reading chick lit when you do decide to come back to it! Yes, Julie James is quite popular in the blogosphere. I found out about her books from fellow bloggers. :)

      • Picked up the first one and will try to get to it soon! And nope, I won’t turn my back on chick lit… just be a little selective. Ah! I totally had a Jennifer Crusie and SEP phase too. Hahaha.

      • Yay, let me know what you think when you’re done reading. Although you’ll probably post a review on your blog. I love Jennifer Crusie! SEP as in Susan Elizabeth Phillips? What are her books that you really liked?

      • Oh Chachic, it’s been a while since I’ve read those and I’ve read a ton of books since then (and it was before I started using GR and my blog). I’m pretty sure I liked:

        Lady Be Good
        Natural Born Charmer
        March Me if you Can
        This Heart of Mine

        But it’s been a while. I remember liking a golfer. And I liked Molly, I think.

      • All right, thanks for the tip! :) She has so many books and I wouldn’t know where to start but at least you gave me a couple of titles.

  3. She is by far my favorite in terms of contemporary romance. Hmm, my personal differentiation between chick lit and contemporary romance is that I think in chick lit the story may have romance in it but there’s also a lot of focus on the heroine and her job/life/place in life/ questioning what she wants to do with her life/ etc. In contemporary romance the hero is a bigger part of the story and you feel like he’s a larger part of the book than you do in a chick lit. Though now the term is “women’s fiction” over chick lit I think – although I still sort of call the bubbly, not really serious version chick lit and the more serious, literary stuff, women’s fiction in my mind.

    Mm, I think you may also like Susan Elizabeth Phillips. I liked a couple of her books and thought they were funny contemporary romances. There are a lot out there though and I’ve only read a couple.

    • Oh wow, thanks for giving a definition of the difference between chick lit and contemporary romance! I never thought of it that way but you do have a point. In that case, I think I like chick lit (or women’s fiction) more than contemporary romance. I feel like I could relate to the character’s situation more.

      I’ll look up Susan Elizabeth Phillips’ stuff! I’ve added a lot of chick lit/contemporary romance books in my wishlist this week because of recommendations. What are the Susan Elizabeth Phillips books that you liked?

      • I read 2. Heh. Although I may have read more but I can’t really remember. I read MATCH ME IF YOU CAN, which was cute, and WHAT I DID FOR LOVE which I really liked but I didn’t like the ending (a bit over the top, plus annoying epilogue with too many characters obviously from past books popping in).

      • Thanks for those titles! I’ll look them up next time I feel like reading something light. :)

  4. Love Julie James as well. Still need to try Jennifer Crusie. I wonder if A Lot Like Love will be a romantic comedy or more of a suspense like Something About You? I haven’t read that one because I thought I wouldn’t like it as much.

    • Holly, I hope you get to try Jennifer Crusie soon! My favorites of hers are Bet Me and Welcome to Temptation.

      I have a feeling A Lot Like Love will be similar to Something About You in terms of suspense because the male protagonist is also an FBI agent. I hope you still pick up Something About You, it has more suspense and more smexy bits than the other two but the humor is still there and that’s what I love about Julie James’ books. :)

  5. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples II « Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: A Lot Like Love by Julie James « Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: About That Night by Julie James | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Books When You Need Something Light and Fun | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Chocolate Book Meme | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers