Chachic's Book Nook

New Meme: Want Books?

18 Comments

Included in my Bloggiesta to-do list is a new meme for the blog so here goes. I know I have mentioned availability of books here in the Philippines as one of my major frustrations, I’m sorry if I keep on going on and on about it. As I said, we don’t have public libraries over here and while we do have decent bookstores, stocks aren’t that consistent. Learn more about in my post here. Instead of always whining, I thought I’d come up with a meme to be more productive. :) Introducing my first ever meme:

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

If I have several participants, I’ll stick a Mr. Linky in there. I know it’s similar to Waiting on Wednesday hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. However, this meme is for books that have been RELEASED already. They’re just not available in your area. I think this is a great meme for international bloggers. Basically, it’s a meme for books that are in your wishlist. I’ll post every Saturday but feel free to post any day of the week, just comment with a link to your post. I’ll start this meme with a series of books that I’ve been wanting for the longest time – the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews.

These books have been recommended several times by a lot of people (Book Pushers, you know who you are) and because Magic Bleeds came out recently, this series has gotten a lot of buzz in the blogosphere. I’ve asked several bookstores though and they’re out of stock everywhere! Although I talked to Fully Booked yesterday (after repeatedly bugging them through the phone, through e-mail and even through their Facebook page) and yay they have copies of Magic Burns and Magic Bleeds! I had them transferred to the branch near me. Only a couple of days until I own half of the set. But then again, I still can’t start reading because I don’t have the first book in the series. I’m hoping it’ll get here soon!

How about you, what’s your Want Books? pick? :)

Want Books? roundup:
Celina – Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder
Kristin – Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert and Mastering your Metabolism by Jillian Michaels.

_________________________________________________________________________
Edited on June 16:

I have great news! One of my friends is on vacation in the States right now and I asked her to get Magic Bites for me and she did! I am so happy. :) I’ll be meeting with her before the month ends and I’m so excited to get started on this series. I’ll probably read the books one right after the other. I also got Magic Strikes from Book Basket. Yay, I’ll have the complete series soon.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “New Meme: Want Books?

  1. Here’s mine (I’ll just post it here while I don’t have a blog yet):

    The Study Series by Maria Snyder

    I’ve checked everywhere! So far the only one I saw was Poison Study at Fully Booked High Street, but it cost almost P1k for a paperback.

    • Yay, thanks for participating. I know, I’ve seen that copy of Poison Study. It’s the one with the green cover, right? That’s the only copy I’ve seen around here. :( Maybe you can just order it online later on?

      • Yup, I plan to just order it either from Book Depository (and have it sent to my hubby) or from other online sellers.:) I think even with the shipping cost, it will turn out cheaper than buying it from Fully Booked.

      • Yep, I think you’ll still save money even if you do that. I really hope the Book Depository starts shipping to the Philippines soon. It would make buying hard-to-find books so much easier.

  2. Your meme is a great idea. I have a great public library but I often have to wait for months to get the popular titles. Right now I am waiting for Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert and Mastering your Metabolism by Jillian Michaels.

  3. I can’t imagine not having a library – I rely on mine so much.
    Great idea for a meme as there always seems to be some book everyone’s reading but I can’t find here in NZ.

  4. Pingback: Bloggiesta Finish Line « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. I am seriously rooting for you to get the first Kate book. Oh the torture of having the last 3 but not being able to start yet!! Wonderful new meme!

    • I have good news! One of my friends is on vacation in Maryland right now and I asked her to get me a copy of Magic Bites and she did. :) Yay! I’ll have my copy by the end of the month. So excited!

  6. Strangely, I never found it difficult to get copies of the Kate Daniel Series, purchased at Fully Booked.

    Many of my books, I found at Booksale and Books for Less branches. You cannot believe the amount of treasure hiding amidst the junk at Booksale. Excellent hardbound copies of Fantasy or Historical Mysteries selling only at 100+ (which would cost over 1K at Powerbooks or Fully Booked)!

    You should also check out Bookay-Ukay, located at #55 Maginhawa St., UP Village, Diliman, Quezon City.

    http://bookay.multiply.com or http://www.facebook.com/pages/Quezon-City/Bookay-Ukay-Pilipinas/261249906951?v=wall&__a=26

    Bookay Ukay also accepts book orders. It calls upon a bunch of book pushers crawling over thrift shops all over Manila and overseas to get the books you want.

    Finally, for hard-to-find titles, Bookmooch.com has been a Godsend. With the site, you can trade or barter books with other moochers across the globe. I was able to complete NUMEROUS series because of bookmooch.

    • Really? Maybe because I found out about the series late so they ran out of copies by the time I realized that I wanted the books.

      I’d love to check out Booksale and Books for Less if there was a branch near my office or my house. I work near Robinson’s Pioneer and I take the MRT home so I always pass by Trinoma as well. They don’t have used bookstores there.

      Bookay Ukay is a contact of mine in Multiply but so far, I haven’t bought anything from them. I didn’t know that you could order books from them, maybe I should give it a try some time.

      With Bookmooch, you have to send books before you can receive them, right? I’m not sure if I have books that I could pass on or if anyone else will want the books that I have. Plus, you cover the shipping when you send the books, right? Isn’t that expensive?

      Thanks for all of the info! :)

      • You would pass by Megamall and Starmall then. Booksale at both Megamall and Starmall. Starmall has another 2nd-hand bookstore on the ground floor and Books for Less on the 2nd or 3rd floor.

        Edsa Central has Booksale and another bookshop.

        SM North has booksale.

        Re bookmooch – i find it cheaper to send overseas via seamail than locally. Cost of sending a book is only around 70+. Will email you the rates…. Wait, please email me first so I can reply with the rates attached.

        And you don’t have to send from your collection. What I do, and some other Pinoy moochers do also, is to buy 10-20-peso books from Booksale bins or from Recto and list those for giveaways on bookmooch.com.

        Junk here is coveted titles abroad, believe me.

      • Wow, you know where all the bargain books are! I should check out those shops but too bad they’re not directly on my way home. :(

        Oh so that’s what you guys do with Book Mooch pala. I’ll send you an email with questions if I ever decide to give it a try. :)

  7. Pingback: Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews « Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: June 2010 Update « Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: #Bloggiesta Want Books: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,387 other followers