Chachic's Book Nook

Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

10 Comments

I’ve been waiting to read Incarceron ever since I first saw it mentioned in Sounis, the LJ community for Megan Whalen Turner fans. I’ve gotten a lot of great recommendations from members of Sounis and the premise of this was really interesting. I’m glad my friend Moses, who lives in Australia, agreed to get the UK paperback editions for me because I like this edition better and at least the sequel, Sapphique, is already out in the UK edition. He read it before passing it on to me and when I asked what he thought of it, he said that it seems like my kind of book.

Here’s the summary from Catherine Fisher’s website, click on the link to see her inspiration for the book:

Imagine a living prison so vast that it contains corridors and forests, cities and seas. Imagine a prisoner with no memory, who is sure he came from Outside, even though the prison has been sealed for centuries and only one man, half real, half legend, has ever escaped.

Imagine a girl in a manor house in a society where time has been forbidden, where everyone is held in a seventeenth century world run by computers, doomed to an arranged marriage that appalls her, tangled in an assassination plot she both dreads and desires.

One inside, one outside

But both imprisoned.

Imagine a war that has hollowed the moon, seven skullrings that contain souls, a flying ship and a wall at the world’s end.

Imagine the unimaginable.

Imagine Incarceron.

After reading the book, I’m still considering how I feel about it. Don’t get me wrong, I really liked it but I’m not sure if it falls under my favorites list. I might give the sequel a try before I decide. Anyway, the premise of Incarceron is interesting. I admit, I’ve already seen a similar premise back when I read The City of Ember so it’s not new but I have to say that Incarceron is much better. I can’t even remember the details of The City of Ember. Plus Incarceron (the prison) is a sentient being and not just a structure built underground with walls to keep people in.

The start of the book is a little confusing because it dives right into the story but give it a couple of chapters and you’ll be properly engaged. The points of view switch from Finn, the boy inside Incarceron who’s convinced he’s from Outside even if he has no memory of it, and Claudia, the Warden of Incarceron’s daughter. I love the world that Catherine Fisher created. Incarceron was created with the goal of letting people live in a contained, perfect world but it backfired. And while there are problems inside the prison, people outside are trapped in a different way – the law requires that they give up modern conveniences and pretend that they’re stuck in the seventeenth century. Both Claudia and Finn think that the other has it better and they both want to know more about the other person’s environment. But the book isn’t just about Claudia and Finn and how they unravel the mysteries of each other’s worlds. As with all the books that I enjoy reading, a huge aspect of my enjoyment rests on the characters and Incarceron doesn’t disappoint. There’s a cold-blooded queen, a spoiled prince, a wise but sickly tutor, a mysterious oathbrother, a slave turned loyal follower and an inmate consumed with the dream to get out.

Incarceron is an action-packed book filled with political intrigue, plot twists and turns, fascinating characters and a unique setting. It can be read on its own but it will leave you wanting more as there are still some plot threads that need to be resolved. I’m glad I have the sequel on hand because I’m interested to see where the story goes.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

10 thoughts on “Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

  1. I think truly the biggest thing to recommend this book is the awesome cover(s). So purty. I haven’t picked it up yet, but you’ve reminded me how intriguing the premise is. I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on the sequel.

    • I know! Both the US and UK editions have great covers. I’ll post a review when I’m done reading the sequel. :) I hope you read this soon because I’m interested in what you’ll think of it.

  2. I like it, but it didn’t make it into my Favorites–there was just so much happpening, and I was so busy trying to keep track of things that I never relaxed into it….and I never even finished reading the sequel. It just wasn’t for me. Maybe when I’m older :)

    • Hmm you have a point there – there were a lot of things happening that you never have time to just immerse yourself in the book. Maybe that’s one of the reasons why I can’t decide if I like it well enough to put under my favorites. Oh that’s too bad about the sequel. Yes, maybe you can go back to it later on. :)

  3. action-packed!! wished it was a movie though haha. glad you liked it!

    • I have a feeling it will translate well into a movie! I’m excited to read Knife and Rebel since you said they’re better than Incarceron.

  4. I am so jealous that you have a copy of Sapphique already. I need to order it from the UK since it won’t be released here in the US until very late this year and I’m not sure I can wait that long. I really enjoyed Incarceron and need to write up an full review to share my thoughts in more detail. I loved the imaginative world (both inside and outside Incarceron) and thought the characters were all well-crafted. I especially liked Claudia’s relationship with Jared as well as her complex & somewhat adversarial relationship with her father. I am so curious to see where this story will go.

    • Yes, you should order it from the UK if you can’t wait until the end of the year to read the sequel. :) I wonder why it’s taking so long for the US edition to be released? I liked the book for the same reasons that you mentioned. I liked the worldbuilding and the characters. Claudia really is an interesting person with complex relationships with the people around her. I’m in the middle of Sapphique and I want more time to read because I want to know how the story ends!

  5. Pingback: Sapphique by Catherine Fisher « Chachic's Book Nook

  6. It seems pretty cool and, surprisingly, made ​​the request, the movie comes out in 2013. I can barely see the time! I always wanted to read but my mom does not let me buy! if you can send me a synopsis and detailed in my e – mail “Amalove20@hotmail.com” thank you, and sends the two books.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,370 other followers