Chachic's Book Nook

Waiting on Wednesday: Mistwood and Forget You

25 Comments

It’s a sunny Wednesday morning here and I thought I’d participate in a weekly meme called Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. WoW posts are about books that you can’t wait to get your hands on. I have two books for this week.

The first one is Mistwood by Leah Cypess, which is a debut novel. I’ve seen reviews of this around the blogosphere and I can’t wait to get it because it’s being recommended to fans of Megan Whalen Turner, Kristin Cashore and Tamora Pierce and I’m a fan of the three authors. Plus the premise is really interesting. I don’t think I’ve read a book with a shapeshifter main character. Mistwood’s release date is April 27 but I don’t know when the bookstores here will get copies. I already have a reservation with Fully Booked.

Here’s the summary from Leah Cypess’ website:

Everyone tells Isabel that she is the Shifter – the ancient shape-shifting creature who has protected the kings of Samorna for centuries. They need her to be the Shifter. Prince Rokan risked everything when he rode into the Mistwood to summon her to his side; Ven, the magician’s apprentice, has devoted his life to studying her legend; and even Princess Clarisse, who fears and hates her, depends on Isabel’s powers to further her own plans.

But Isabel doesn’t feel like the Shifter. She feels like a lonely human girl, beset by flashes of memory that do more to confuse than to help her. If she is the Shifter, why can’t she change her shape? Why doesn’t she remember what made her flee the castle so many years ago? As she is drawn deeper into a web of magic and assassination, Isabel will have no choice but to look for answers. But her search will lead her to the one question the Shifter hasn’t faced in a thousand years: where does she come from, and what does she really want?

Doesn’t that make you want to check out Mistwood? The second book that I’m waiting for is Forget You by Jennifer Echols. I loved Going Too Far and I can’t wait to read Jennifer Echols’ next book! I was reminded of how much I wanted this book by Adele of Persnickety Snark’s recent vlog about her first impressions of the book. Forget You is due out July 20.

Here’s the summary from Jennifer Echols’ website:

There’s a lot Zoey would like to forget. Like how her father has knocked up his twenty-four-year old girlfriend. Like Zoey’s fear that the whole town will find out about her mom’s nervous breakdown. Like darkly handsome bad boy Doug taunting her at school. With her life about to become a complete mess, Zoey fights back the only way she knows how, using her famous attention to detail to make sure she’s the perfect daughter, the perfect student, and the perfect girlfriend to ultra-popular football player Brandon.

But then Zoey is in a car crash, and the next day there’s one thing she can’t remember at all—the entire night before. Did she go parking with Brandon, like she planned? And if so, why does it seem like Brandon is avoiding her? And why is Doug—of all people—suddenly acting as if something significant happened between the two of them? Zoey dimly remembers Doug pulling her from the wreck, but he keeps referring to what happened that night as if it was more, and it terrifies Zoey to admit how much is a blank to her. Controlled, meticulous Zoey is quickly losing her grip on the all-important details of her life—a life that seems strangely empty of Brandon, and strangely full of Doug.

How about you, what are the books that you’re waiting for?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

25 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Mistwood and Forget You

  1. Started reading Mistwood this morning and I am so glad I do not have to wait any longer, it is already fantastic.

    Forget you also sounds very interesting and one I have not heard about yet.

    • You already have Mistwood? I’m jealous! Let me know what you think of it when you’re done reading.

      If you haven’t read Going Too Far, you should definitely check it out.

  2. Great picks! I’m waiting for Mistwood, too & I’ll add Forget You ’cause sounds interesting :)

    • Yay, another one waiting for Mistwood. I think it’s nice to share the waiting with other people. Check out Going Too Far if you think you’ll like Forget You. :)

  3. Forget you appeals to me more than Mistwood but they are both good picks!

  4. I hope you get to read them soon!

  5. Love the cover of Mistwood!

  6. Forget You sounds so…great. I can’t wait to read it.

  7. Gah. I CANNOT wait to read both these books too. They both just sound soo dang good.

  8. Great WoW choices! I just started reading Mistwood & it is excellent so far. I had not heard of Forget You, but after reading the summary you shared I am adding it to my TBR list. :)

    My WoW is here.

    • I’m jealous that you’re already reading Mistwood! Good for you! Please let me know what you think when you’re done reading it. You should check out Going Too Far as well because it my appeal to you. No need to wait for that one because it’s already out.

  9. My pick this week was Forget You also. Doesn’t it look amazing? I absolutely adored Going Too Far, and cannot wait to read this book by Echols!

    • Oooh another Jennifer Echols fan! The cover does look amazing. I also liked the cover of Going Too Far. Have you read any of her romantic comedies? I’m curious about them.

  10. Both of these books look so good!

  11. Great choices! They both sound really interesting and I’m going to add these to my TBR list on goodreads

  12. Pingback: Mistwood by Leah Cypess « Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,387 other followers