Chachic's Book Nook

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

15 Comments

I’ve been reading a lot of YA lately based on the great reviews that I’ve seen around the blogosphere. I was excited to read Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. I was all set to buy the hardcover at the Fully Booked sale and was delighted to find that the paperback version was already available.

Here’s the summary from Melina Marchetta’s website:

“What do you want from me?” he asks.
What I want from every person in my life, I want to tell him.
More.”

Taylor Markham is not a popular choice. She is erratic, has no people skills and never turns up to meetings. Not to mention the incident when she ran off in search of her mother and only got halfway there. But she’s lived at Jellicoe School most of her life and as leader of the boarders that’s her greatest asset. Especially now the cadets, led by the infamous Jonah Griggs, have arrived. The territory wars between the boarders, townies and cadets are about to recommence.

But Taylor has other things on her mind: a prayer tree, the hermit who whispered in her ear, and a vaguely familiar drawing in the local police station. Taylor wants to understand the mystery of her own past. But Hannah, the woman who found her, has suddenly disappeared, leaving nothing but an unfinished manuscript about five kids whose lives entwined twenty years ago on the Jellicoe Road.

I have one word to describe this book: intense. Everything about this book, from the characters to how they relate to each other to the emotions, is intense. I finished reading this a couple of days ago and I still can’t stop thinking about it. Book hangover alert! This is such a beautiful book about love, friendship and family. The characters went through so much that you can’t help but empathize and feel for them.

Taylor was abandoned in a 7-eleven store by her mom when she was 11. One of her boarding school’s house mothers, Hannah, picked her up and watched out for her ever since. When Hannah suddenly disappears without an explanation, Taylor realizes that her past is somewhat tied to Hannah’s and she has to uncover mysteries to learn more about herself.

I admit that I was lost and confused by the first few chapters of the book. Taylor narrates but interspersed in her story are pages from Hannah’s manuscript about the incredible friendship of five kids who used to live in that area. Hannah’s story occured more than twenty years ago so basically you’re following two story arcs as you read. I think this is also the first time that I’ve read a novel set in Australia so some of the terms used and the school structure were a bit confusing for me. Just keep reading and by the time you get to the middle, I’m sure you won’t be able to stop. Each revelation will make you want to know more. I love the characters in this book – Taylor, Jonah, Raffy, Chaz and also the kids in the manuscript: Narnie, Webb, Tate, Jude and Fitz. They’re all a part of this amazing story. And the sizzling connection between Taylor and Jonah has fed my YA romance hunger.

I highly recommend this to fellow YA fans or even those who aren’t into YA. I wonder if Melina Marchetta’s other books are just as good? I’d love to read them if they are but I haven’t seen them around.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

15 thoughts on “Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

  1. Love your review and yes Melina Marchetta is an amazing writer, her other books are different but still wonderful. I love her writing.

  2. Pingback: The Ex Games by Jennifer Echols « Chachic's Book Nook

  3. Pingback: Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta « Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: Five Most Anticipated 2011 Titles « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Friendship in Fiction « Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples II « Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta « Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Jellicoe Road | One More Page

  9. This is one of my absolute favorite books of all time. It was my first Marchetta and it’s one of those books that just gets up inside you. It makes it hard to read anything else, because it’s just that amazing! I need to reread this one soon! :)

    • It’s funny because I was thinking of giving this as a gift to someone so I cracked it open at a random page and I ended up reading a couple of chapters. I really want to reread all of my Marchettas soon. :)

  10. Pingback: Review: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta « Guy Gone Geek

  11. Pingback: “Whatever is now covered up will be uncovered and every secret will be made known.” ― Melina Marchetta, Jellicoe Road | In Lesbians with Books

  12. Pingback: On the Jellicoe Road | Aelia Reads

  13. Pingback: Code Name: Blue

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,240 other followers